Find companies:
POLICE ATHLETIC LEAGUE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
68 reviews

POLICE ATHLETIC LEAGUE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Seasonal Site Director/Supervisor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYFebruary 25, 2014
I loved working here. Amazing staff. The part I enjoyed most was seeing the children at my site learning and playing sports. Loved it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The typical day at PAL
Group Leader (Part-Time) (Current Employee), Bronx, NYFebruary 18, 2014
A typical work day is full of academic lessons for the participants, coworkers are great company to work with which make the day easier. The hardest part of the job is when participants have a rough day at work and their moods conflict with the fun activities I try to prepare for a group of 20-25 students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Police Athletic League
Site Director (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: positive work atmosphere
Cons: seasonal employment
The PAL was a summer job that taught me a lot about group activities, organizational responsibilities and child safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive atheletic center for kids
Janitor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: swimming pool, gym
Cons: extremely noisy
working here was great , knowing the children have a safe haven here was the most enjoyable part of the day

recieving full access of the center ,, gym , swimming pool, great experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun work enviorment
Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 3, 2014
PAL provides children areound the new york area with a safe places to grow and develope team work skills as well as indivudual leadership skills while partcipating in fun and exciting activities managed and run by staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed fun place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Saint Albans, NYDecember 28, 2013
Pros: relaxed atmosphere, helpful employees
Cons: no sick days, holiday or vacation pay or medical benefits for part time employees
Prepare and review reports to make sure the kids are attending the afterschool program on a regular basis. Taking attendance and entering it into the system. Copying, faxing, and filing documents.
Telephone outreach to recruit students to the program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Head Counselor (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYDecember 11, 2013
Pros: motivating and fun
Cons: part time, no benefits
A typical day at work involved preparing for a group of 20 -25 children as they entered their after school program. After preparing, the children are escorted to various sessions where they engage in sports and, Art and Craft among other activities. I learned to interact with children of various age groups and stress management. Management and co- workers – more... created a fun filled and relaxing environment for staff to excel. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the children you have worked with develop and being acknowledged by their parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Office Assistant/Helper (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 5, 2013
Pros: free trips and food
Cons: no cons
I work with kids , I learned how to become a better mom , I loved my co workers , I loved the work place, we went on trips and had great food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you love children
Mentor (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 9, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: no advancement
This position was great if you love working with children. It is how ever a mainly part time position and there is really no room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive youth environment
Head Counselor (Current Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 3, 2013
not the most professional environment however teens have a place where they can get counseling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer coaching
Volunteer Coach (Former Employee), Upper Darby, PANovember 3, 2013
Pros: learning to build team chemistry, winning
Cons: losing games
it was a fun experience. i learned how to deal with children and their parents, coaching them through sports and bringing them together for an enjoyable experience. co-workers were supporting coaches. the management was the head police officer in charge. the hardest part was consoling the team after a loss but the enjoyable part was growing together – more... and winning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DR
Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 16, 2013
Duane Reade was my first Job. While working here i learned how to improve my communication skills in a professional environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This park was a fun place to work in.
Play Streets (Former Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 6, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work is I would come in the morning sign in and just sit down and talk until the kids come to the park and play. I've learned that in PAL (Police Athletic League) is a place where kids learn how to do lanyards for example, the chinese stair case, twister cobra and etc. During the summer the kids actually has something to do. There wasn't – more... any hard park of the job because it was easy. Also the most enjoyable part of the job was when it was the last day of work. Me, the employees, the kids, and my supervisor went to a park where there was a lot of activity to do. There was a lot of stuff. For example, there would be a contest to see who wins any games they had. Like, climbing the wall and hockey board game. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good seasonal job
Assistant Director (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYOctober 1, 2013
great seasonal job to have to keep the children busy for the summer and to plan trips
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary Of Qualifications
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 22, 2013
Dog handler for only a few month’s answer questions from the customers, schedule appointments and recording owners information, experience in dog cosmetology, maintain store equipment, and pervading customers regarding pet walks. Camp counselor/ Counseling intern for 3 years pervading students individually with help in groups with their lesson assignment – more... supervised and chaperoned youth during camp activities, maintained classroom equipment and student files/records and attendance records. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
Program Director (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLAugust 11, 2013
Not a bad place to work if you don't mind being micromanaged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun.
Counselor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 10, 2013
Pros: free lunches, days off, interacting with the children and staff.
Cons: none comes to mind.
A typical day at work included playing board games with the children, arts and crafts and often going to a nearby park for some exercise. Management was easygoing, yet stern. My co-workers were friendly and also did their jobs well. The hardest part of the job was when everyone was dismissed from work after the summer, knowing that most likely we'll – more... never work with each other again. The most enjoyable part of the job was playing games with the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
PREVENTIVE CASE PLANNER (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 10, 2013
Pros: supportive and friendly co-workers.
Cons: low pay
This company took over a company I was working for so in some way they inherited me. I did not have a positive experience with the agency- possibly because I did not receive the supervision and mentorship I needed to grow in this field of work. My coworkers however were very supportive and the directors from other programs within the company were also – more... very supportive. I was not at the company for a long time so my overall assessment might not be as concise as others who worked there longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security officer trainee (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLJune 17, 2013
You can go to the recreation hall and lounge around or play some pool. The "rec hall", as my Job Corps center called it, may also offer video games, air hockey, movies, and contests. Every Job Corps center is different so you'll have to explore to find out. If you're not feeling particularly social, you can hang out in your dorm room for a nap after – more... the long day.you new things everyday.the management part of the job everyday inputs things depending on the pace.the co-workers are easy going through out the time being here.there's no hard part of the day unless you make it a hard time.The most enjoyable part of the job is working around the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Police Athletic League was a great start to my office working career.
Office Worker (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 27, 2013
I enjoyed the time I spent at PAL. Initially, I was given a job tutoring children and helping with homework. I began helping with office work one day when I wasn't busy and I loved it. I got a chance to try filing and uploading information from documents to Microsoft Excel. The people working in the office were very kind and helped me whenever I needed – more... it. – less

1 2 3 4

About POLICE ATHLETIC LEAGUE

The Police Athletic League (PAL) is New York City's largest, nonprofit, independent youth organization. Founded in 1914, PAL serves – Read more

POLICE ATHLETIC LEAGUE Photos