Polk County Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an eye opening experience
Case Worker (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLOctober 12, 2017
This was my first job as a social worker and on day 1 I was given over 100 cases of abused children and very little help from my supervisor. I know that the job has to be done but they are not able to keep any helpdue tooverload of cases and the little pay.
Pros
I really dont see any
Cons
Very stressful job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Clerk of Circuit Court (Former Employee) –  Balsam Lake, WIAugust 28, 2017
They really focus on the wellfair of their employees. They have some great programs and events that all of the employees of the County are invited to. They care what their employees have to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and decent benefits
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Dallas, ORAugust 27, 2017
Overall its a good place to work. friendly people, decent benefits and overall satisfactory work if you like to move around. The people are good to work with and for and are understanding of time needed off and of emergencies if any were to arise.
Pros
Good people, hard work, decent benefits
Cons
overtime is limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, busy, rewarding place to work.
Site Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lakeland, FLAugust 20, 2017
My typical day consists of greeting the congregation, setting up for mealtime, serving, and clean up. Transporting clients to and from the center, Site counsel meeting, education training and providing outreach services to help clients access needed food supplies and equipment. Its very difficult when a congregate member passes. The most rewarding part of this position is feeding our seniors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if a few people in management left
Legal Description Specialist (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJune 22, 2017
I like my job and am pretty good at it---with that said the management in my department is not very friendly with workers. Advancement is also limited since there is low turn-over. Its hard to get a job or advance with this employer without knowing someone---nepotism and political connections are rampant. If my boss retired I would probably stay here for a much longer time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meal site coordinator
Elderly Services (Former Employee) –  Eagle Lake, FLJune 7, 2017
Work with senior clients was rewarding, This was a part time job. I was off by 1:30 pm every day.I enjoyed making my clients lives meaningful. I accomplished this by developing a schedule of activities
and preparing their meals daily.
Pros
part time
Cons
drive time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast work place computer skill and customer service
Scale attendent (Current Employee) –  Columbus, NCApril 24, 2017
Scale attendant at Polk county solid waste department. Fast work place great customer service and working with customer all day computer skills and knowledge handle money and daily deposit Have to multitask sometimes and able to keep claim with a great additude I have the ability to speak Spanish and English as well as write and read
Pros
Great customer
Cons
Great coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Recycling Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 17, 2016
Good place to work. Work changes every day. Employees work with minimum supervision. Allowed to make their own work decisions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with and clean atmosphere.
Painter/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Bartow, FLJune 26, 2016
I enjoy working for Polk County and I like all the people I work with.
My typical day starts at 7am and ends at 5pm. I enjoy my job but am looking for a more challenging position so that I may be more challenged and feel more satisfied after a long day.
Pros
Nice hours w two breaks and a half-hour lunch
Cons
The work is not challenging enough for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traffic Data Technician (Transportation/Traffic)
Traffic Data Technician (Former Employee) –  Polk County, FloridaOctober 1, 2015
I have to say it was a fun and an easy job the pay was really bad but the problem is you are Temp out by source 2 and you have work form them for about a year. Then the state will hire you if you good employee this job great for someone just out of high school but for someone who is older with a family I would say pass. The pay was the main reason I quit for it being a County job you think they would pay a lot better nope. I even look at other jobs they have posted some even lower than 11.58 an hour crazy anyways was fun but getting pay weekly you get like 400.00 a week no one can life off of that.
Pros
3 days weekends
Cons
Pay weekly very sad..
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report

Want to know more about Polk County?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there is like working with family
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FloridaAugust 17, 2015
Great and friendly environment. Lots of benefits and the pay is fair. The company provided lots of paid training to prepare for the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place with nice people and environment
service worker 2 (Current Employee) –  simmers young parkJuly 16, 2015
I enjoyed working there, i learned a lot from some very nice people. they taught me all the things i needed to know to do my job right and efficiently.
Pros
benefits, opportunities, environment, working under no supervision
Cons
work schedule, pay, layoff, managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a contract worker in the community but the agency provided great support.
Therapist, Florida Mentor (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJune 1, 2015
It was a great experience; flexible and rewarding. There was good support from management and a great meeting fellow contractors in monthly meetings for file review.
Pros
Contractor, flexibility
Cons
No compensation for mileage and had to have a large caseload to have decent compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace was fun somebody on the radio making my day
transit driver (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 10, 2014
my typical day with pre tripping bus
I have learned how to have patients and timing
I learn how to manage time
me and my co workers were team players
the hardest part of the job was learning the route
the most enjoyable part of day the was making it back safe
Pros
pay cheack everyweek
Cons
didnt get health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small School
INSTRUCTOR, MATH FOR COLLEGE READINESS (Former Employee) –  Fort Meade High SchoolNovember 16, 2014
High School Teaching.
management is new
Three Preps
Students complain frequently
Administration unsupportive of teachers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMT/First Responders
Ambulance and rescue driver/operator (Current Employee) –  All over Polk County, changes dailyNovember 9, 2014
Constantly busy saving lives. 24 hour shifts, working around the clock wherever the immediate dispatchers tells us to report.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great bunch of people. no discrimination .
vehicle maintenance coordinator assistant (Current Employee) –  plok county transitNovember 4, 2014
I was promoted even though I was pregnant. Great place to work.
Pros
great atmosphere. good people.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant atmosphere
retired teacher (Former Employee) –  Lake Alfred, FLSeptember 3, 2014
A typical day was filled with energy, and most of the time great anticipation. We had fun learning together as a group (classroom).
Pros
Great kids and caring staff.
Cons
short lunch, not enough P.E. for the students to unwind and exercise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Floyd County Superior Court
ABD Economic Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cedartown, GAJune 11, 2014
Great place to work and the leadership within the office is wonderful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Utility Laborer & Employee Services (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAMay 21, 2014
I learned a lot over the years that I worked for Polk County and it gave me a lot of experience for future jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Polk County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5