POLK MECHANICAL Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work invirerment
Plumbing foreman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 29, 2017
tell you one thing then turn it around on you later. never do what they tell you. safety first tell it slow down the job then it is back to what ever gets the job done
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Intern Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXFebruary 22, 2017
Great Experience. Provided me with great management experience and great hands on experience. They want to put you where you work best and they will do what they can to make it happen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probuctive, And professinol work inviernment
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXDecember 6, 2016
Working for polk was a great experience. It taught me great work skills and gave me a great since of professionalism. Managment was great to staff and took very good care off each one of us.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Work enviornment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with.
Construction Plumber (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXNovember 6, 2016
Not a very hard job at all, lots of different people to work with, and always something different to do day in and day out.
but very bad communication with employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work Environment
PLUMBER APPRENTICE (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 22, 2016
It was a great job that I learned multiple good skills at. I had a great time learning and enjoying my time spent with the company along side an immaculate team of employees by my side.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJuly 28, 2016
The company itself is good for the most part but the management needs work. some managers are a little to laid back and seem to not like to talk to those who are managers below them and have no idea what they are doing and are extremely partial only to certain employees. The pay is ok but you never get a raise and some are overpaid as they cannot do their job on their own without managements help. There is also not a lot of room to move up the ladder of success. Management also says they are going to do something and never follow through.
Pros
Large company
Cons
Never get raises, No room for advancement, things never get accomplished.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average company to work for.
HVAC Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2016
Some productive, working days ok, some good coworkers, hard to get along with management. Sometimes difficult to communicate with management. Helping customers solving problems with equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the job the enviornment was productive and friendly
Pipefitter Helper (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 7, 2015
I liked what i did, I akso learned how to weld and pipefit, the job was great the pay was awesome managemnent was stern , down to earth, it was hard to do our job because at times people would seal our supplies out the storage box.
Pros
free lunches, overtime good pay, reasonable work schedule
Cons
It would be crowded and smelly at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company No Questions
Service Operations / Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 16, 2015
Polk is a great company, prior to me leaving we were Encompass which filed chapter 11. because of Sept. 11th and mistakes Encompass made they laid off hundreds of people. I left due to many people being let go and I was recruited for a better opportunity and money.
Pros
Class A Owner and Managers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction Jobsite
Apprentice Plumber (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 17, 2014
A typical day at my old job would consist of a safety meeting every morning before work. I use to work in the construction field so there would be alot of other trades working around me so safety was very important. Read blueprints and did most of the plumbing at the Methodist hospital.
Pros
Breaks. Cafeteria, alot of overtime
Cons
Working around alot of sick people in hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great lace to work with excellent benifits
commercial plumber / special projects manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 31, 2014
great company, owner is pro employee, the benefit's for the service end are to be fantastic
Pros
excellent bennifits
Cons
dont promote service plumbing, a/c based
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Service Dispatcher/CSR (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXNovember 7, 2013
If you want to work in a place where you will be bullied, expect to be vastly overworked, have no support, and be taken advantage of at every opportunity, then this is the place for you. they pay well, and the benefits were good, but it is not worth it. I have never worked for management this out of control before, and it is acceptable in the culture for them to be that way. under no circumstances should you ever work for someone like this. They do not value their employees, and they will use you until they no longer need you, then spit you out.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Every other thing is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits where good
Service plumber (Former Employee) –  Grand Prarie, TxMarch 14, 2013
Former Grand Prarie service plumber, plumbing service management
lacked leadership and management skills at one time we had a stellar group of tech's, but the lack of management imploded that group! Wich was a real shame!
Pros
good pay and bonus
Cons
poor management, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Med Gas Installer/Lead (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXFebruary 26, 2013
Setting up for medical gas piping installation. Small group of "gas runners/installers". Typical hospital work.
Pros
fed the cows
Cons
friends of friends in leadership positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
NE houston (Former Employee) –  PlumberNovember 6, 2011
Emplyees are friendly and everyone works together.
Pros
starting pay is good, flexible schedules, they even pay time and a half.
Cons
you will have to travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at POLK MECHANICAL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2