Find companies:
Pollo Tropical
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
82 reviews

Pollo Tropical Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
•a typical day at work
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Davie ,FLNovember 12, 2014
Pros: good food
Cons: no breakes
I love it! I could eat the plaintains here everyday. Reasonably priced food. I wish they would sell their sauces in the superstore (especially the garlic cilantro).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Miami, FLNovember 6, 2014
I love the jo, it's a great place to be. Just the pay is not so great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fast environment
Cook, Line Cook, Grill Cook, Prep, Dishwasher (Former Employee), Fort MyersOctober 28, 2014
Pros: fun, fast work environment, can work multiple positions
Cons: low pay rate
is a fun place to work and you can have good chances to grow, all the manager are very profecional
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
few hours, underpaid, unfair decisions
Cashier (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLOctober 15, 2014
Pros: located close, schedule works around school hours.
Cons: management, environment, lack of pay, lack of hours
When i first started working there the management made me feel very welcomed. As the weeks went on i noticed the sudden change of attitude of the management as well as the employees. I learned very basic things to just get started and if i would like to move up in the company it would be extremely difficult. The worst part of the job is the unfair decisions – more... management makes such as making promises they simply can not keep, cutting the few hours i have, and saying that you will be working a double shift that same day with about 2 hours before your current shift ends. Although this job may have its cons, the only enjoyable part of this job is working with people who happen to be nicer than my fellow coworkers as well as my managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it
Cashier (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLOctober 3, 2014
Pros: discounts on the food.
Cons: nasty customers, not getting paid enough for the work done
I liked Pollo tropical but the customers there are so rude. But I didn't let that affect my job, because whether you like it or not you have to give one hundred and ten percent everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work..Its like family
Asst. Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: no breaks
Working here is like working with family.
You learn to speak different words you may learn by working with people from different places.
The hardest part of the job is when your off feels like you missing a part of something.
The most enjoyable part is making people smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice work place a lot of team work ,
General Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: working with and getting to know people
Cons: having to work with all the different employee requests
A typical day would consist of 10 hours worked everything from inventory to hiring new employees to maintain food cost and the cleanliness of the restaurant to get ready for the different inspections that we have I had 45-50 employees that worked there that I was managing . I believe the challenge of running the restaurant was to hire the right people – more... to make sure the store ran the way it was suppose to .The best part of each day was meeting all the customers and getting to know them . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Cashier (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: not really at time.
Cons: no break sometimes
I didn't work real long in pollo tropical the pay was bad . no help you got move fast and they really didn't care if you came to work or not that why i left for short hours no break
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Cook (Former Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 10, 2014
i don't really have nothing much to say. loved working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 19, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
cleaning the bathroom lobby dishes and prepare the food for the next day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, non-stop food service
Cashier (Current Employee), Coral Springs, FLAugust 11, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: few to no breaks, 40 hour weeks as a part-timer. little pay.
Working for Pollo Tropical,
On the average day i would deal with hundreds of clients, countless orders, handled cash and credit card transactions, ensured quality and accuracy of food order, and maintained a fully stocked and clean work station.

I learned that the job isn't difficult if you apply yourself, carry a can do attitude and handle customers – more... professionally. I also learned how to manage under a time restraint with accuracy and efficiency.

Management can be both strict and lenient, they strive for employee synchronization. Look for leaders.

The hardest part would definitely be working around fellow co-workers. Working mostly nights, i dealt with not having enough food to serve to customers. This is a frequent occurrence in almost every Pollo. Specific to the grill. As drive-thru cashier i would do my best to work around it, offering what we do have or what is a short wait but it is very stressful when an upset customer drives up disappointed we dont have what they came for ready. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
GRILL PERSON (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 16, 2014
ability to work independently
great company to work for
great to work with people that care about their company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FOOD INDUSTRY
Customer Service (Former Employee), palm beach gardens ,flJuly 13, 2014
Its great working in food u meet new and all sorts of people moving in a timely order fashion to get orders prepare food and have it out for the people to go as planned
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food was amazing
Cook (Former Employee), Smyrna, TNJuly 11, 2014
Pros: cards that if saved you received rewards
Cons: minimum wage pay part time hours
Enjoyed cooking foreign food. Co-workers were nice and helpful. Management was considerate and always, always jumped in to help all day throughout the day. Hardest part of job was when I would have to wash 100's of dishes by hand within an hour if the dishwasher called out. Enjoyed the atmosphere the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun,and hard at at the same time
CASHIER (Former Employee), North Lauderdale, FLJuly 4, 2014
Pros: i love my co-workers we get along get and work is always fun
Pollo can be a hard place to work at if your mind set is weak,but over all pollo is a great organization and the people there are awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enough to not feel like fast food
Line worker (Former Employee), Plant City, FLJuly 1, 2014
Pros: free food, drive thru speed, good hours
Cons: not so good management, sometimes depending on others
They had rotating postitions so I worked everywhere (good for experience): Drive thru, cash register, Line 1/2, Dish, Prep
Making food for customers according to company standards. I learned how to clean fryers here, just real fun if you like to be around food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always a different experience coming to work
Cashier/line server/stock/ train new employees (Current Employee), orlando,flJune 9, 2014
Pros: w.o.w cards
Cons: no breaks
this place is always busy, great co-workers, I have train new employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lied about raises. no hours.,
Cashier (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 2, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: made me work outside
it was a nightmare. made me stand outside in the heat or cold .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO LEARN AND WORK
Costumer Service (Former Employee), Yauco PRJune 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: in some cases you have to break personal liabilities
YOU CAN LEARN HOW TO COOK, ROAST, MARINADE, CHICKEN, CHICKEN BREAST, CHURRASCO, FISH, COMUNICATE WITH MANAGERS AND OTHER EMPLEOYES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back atmosphere but when it gets down to getting the work done, it gets done.
Supervisor, HR Admin. & Information (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 31, 2014
Pros: the culture in this company is like no other, once you join the team you will feel like family and you feel embraced.
Cons: too much gossip
Pollo Tropical is a great company to work for, good benefits, and lots of growth potential.

1 2 3 4 5

About Pollo Tropical

These cluckers have soaked in the flavor of the islands. Pollo Operations, a subsidiary of quick-service restaurateur Fiesta Restaurant – Read more

Pollo Tropical Photos