Pollo Tropical Employee Reviews

Found 315 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uhh
Cahsier (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXSeptember 2, 2017
This is a terrible place do not eat here and the management was terrible I wouldn't recommend anyone's family to come here and customers aren't aloud to tip
Pros
Speaking to customers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fullfillingt
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami Lakes, FLSeptember 1, 2017
It's a good place to work. It's very fast paced and highly stressful.. the benefits are great. The hours could be better, but if you work hard you can do it.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An organized and productive place to eat with your family
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  311 South State Road hollywood, FL 33021September 1, 2017
It has been a journey working at Pollo Tropical it showed me how to be disciplined , active , focused and responsible. This was my first job and the employees and managers treated me fairly.
Pros
Discounts as an employee, traveling benefits
Cons
you cant be a slow learner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at work
Team member (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 29, 2017
A typical day at work can be stressful if your basically working by your self and you have to do everything by yourself and also trying to train someone at the same time.
Pros
good people
Cons
benfits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management that led to poor employee morale.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 28, 2017
The management claimed to work with college schedules and give flexible hours, but when it came to scheduling they continually scheduled students during exam times and threatened termination should the employee miss their shift. While working employees were often forced to stay and do double shifts because of other employees missing their shifts, but were not compensated for their overtime hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst
Cashier (Former Employee) –  FloridaAugust 28, 2017
If you are all about that 'no-life-type-of-work', this is your one. They abuse of your free time, they make you work double shift if there's "no staff", never give you breaks, days off barely, "teamwork" means you have to do everything if there's no one to do it even though that never was part of your side jobs (doing the dishes, cleaning the whole kitchen, packing all leftovers, etc)
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Prep Person (Former Employee) –  Florida City, FLAugust 27, 2017
It is fast pace and they put a lot on your plate. A lot if times it was understaffed. Some managers are pretty chill and help out, others just freak out when it gets packed and stay in the office not helping. If you're a prep, ask for more than 8.15.
Pros
discount on the food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced
pollo tropical (Former Employee) –  Sawgrass, FLAugust 24, 2017
A typical day working at pollo tropical would be taking care of the customers making sure they received their food on time, I also worked on the cash register and by doing so I had to make sure i was giving back the correct change. I learned how to move quickly and efficiently. The hardest part about the job would have to be standing over the hot grill, and the most enjoyable part of the job would be the fact that i was already at lunch when it was time for lunch.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Not enough working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo muy a gusto
Front of House (Current Employee) –  Puerto RicoAugust 23, 2017
Cada día aprendes algo nuevo, los compañeros se convierten en familia en un ambiente muy agradable para trabajar
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience!!
Lead opener (Former Employee) –  Cumming, GAAugust 23, 2017
I loved working with the crew that was at the Market Place Blvd location in Cumming Georgia - too bad it closed!! i loved how i was able to learn and have hands on action with the open flame grill.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Needed better management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo emotivo con un poco de presión
Servicio al Cliente, Cajera (Current Employee) –  Orange Blossom, FLAugust 23, 2017
Me gusta mucho el equipo de trabajo. Es un trabajo para aprender a tener rapidez y dar buen servicio a la vez.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 21, 2017
Good place to work at great environment great amount of hours to work, flexible schedule, great customer service experience. Gets a little busy, a lot of multi tasking
Pros
Discount food
Cons
Break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pollo Tropical
Restaurant General Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 21, 2017
I been Working at Pollo Topical Over 6 year now. It's has been fun and hard work. I Learned a lot career and personal as well. I grown from serve to a General Manager in the 6 year I work in the company.
Pros
free food
Cons
no break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has good products.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXAugust 18, 2017
The company started out good, but do to bad management it failed and all the restaurants that opened in Texas have shut down. The food was great, but not the people that worked there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hallandale Beach, FLAugust 17, 2017
a typical day at work is to make sure that every customer leave the store happy. the workplace culture was great every bobby did their job. the most enjoyable part of my job is dealing with different races and culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had working with the staff
Expeditor (Former Employee) –  FloridaAugust 17, 2017
It was ok to work there but they like to give employee money you only get a quarter raise every year but you do get they pay vacation they don't like to listen to some of the employees when they be talking to managers
Pros
50 % off your food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ight
Grill Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLAugust 15, 2017
Never got paid for training, didn't get a break till 2 weeks into the job, pay was terrible for being on the grill, one of the managers was really rude and never really seemed to take my complaints seriously, but the people were great, it's a pretty good job, just wasn't worth minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enviroment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 12, 2017
Work here can be very stressful but at the time you can learn a lot , great discount and manageable schedules accommodation, great olace to work if you a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Came in at a bad time.
Catering Specialist (Current Employee) –  TexasAugust 10, 2017
Came in a month before 30 stores were closed - including many in my state and area. I was lucky to be able to keep my job during the downsizing, but forced to take on a sales area 3 hours away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so sure
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Pinellas Park, FLAugust 10, 2017
Great growth opportunities but very unorganized. Ask for a lot of your free time and can't enjoy a full day off! Very stressful and have to work full shifts covering employees position.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pollo Tropical. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 318 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6