Find companies:
Poly-America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Poly-America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Machine Operator and Packager Trainer (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: very hot
I enjoyed working there. A lots of turned over since the environment is very hot, but great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job security
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: schedule
Cons: language barrier between employees
Working here has taught me a lot about manufacturing and more so about the Hispanic cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Buyer (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXNovember 14, 2013
Poly-America was a good a place to start a professional career and I learned a lot during my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you hire on at is what you stay at..
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXSeptember 26, 2013
A typical day at Poly consists of clocking in and waiting until 5pm to punch out. Very boring. l learned a little bit from one of my co-workers but thats it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you are of a ceratin race/ethnicity or you dont have an opinion
packager (Former Employee), grand praire, txSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: employee badge could be used as debit card at vending machines
Cons: long hours. hard labor. hot environment
I believe in putting in hard work but I totally disagree with the training process its impossible to have some one who barely knows english to train someone who only speaks english. management shows favortism and is overly affectionate to emoloyees. Basically its a company full of clicks. Managers do not communicate and basically treatment is based – more... off of looks. long hours hot conditions. if you are willing to break your back for $11.75 thats the job for you – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced work environment great for looking to challenge yourself
Packager (Current Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJuly 31, 2013
Pros: 4 day work week
Cons: pay schedule
Poly America is a big company with many great workers. Fast paced work environment that will challenge anybody's mind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I laugh everytime I see a job posting here
Lead Operator (Former Employee), Mont Belvieu TxMay 7, 2013
Pros: 401k
Cons: health care, pay and environment
Y'all better off working fast food,management is very selfish and mostly rude.No open doors here,and the pay really sucks....for the exposure to poly dust and noise.The summers are steamy and the winters are freezing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always busy and long hours
Lab technician (Current Employee), Grand Prairie, TXApril 9, 2013
Cons: 12 hour shifts
me and my co-worker have a number of line the test. data input at the end of shift have to work with supervisor and machine operators with the results, emails all personnel with results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont feel bad, its wasnt any better back in the early 1980s
Mechanic - Production support (Former Employee), Grand Praire TxFebruary 20, 2013
I see by the reviews that things havnt gotten any better than when I was employed there. It gives the true meaning of sweat shop, both figurely and facturally. Back in the early days was nothing uncommon to put in 60-70 hours a week for low pay and with lousy management.
I spent 3 of the longest years there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hard days but overall a fulfilling job.
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: my off days, breaks so that my body want get over overexerted
Cons: the heat
A typical day at work for me is repairing machines that has malfunction.
I learned how to change out air lines, bearings, gears, belts, motors, rollers, cylinders, and repaired upper and lower seal heads, as well as rollers on the bag machines.
Management gave me an opportunity to learn various things.
The hardest part of the job was working in the – more... heat of the summary while the machine was operating at 300 degrees.
The most enjoyable part of the job was doing what i loved, working with my hands. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, must get in cliques real fast or you are a goner.
electrician (Former Employee), Grand PrairieNovember 29, 2012
Pros: insurance and 401k
Cons: management and pay
I thought this was the job I would retire from. I didn't mind the low pay or horrible working conditions. I enjoyed my coworkers and remain friends with most today. But the management team was a bunch of good ole boys. I was by far the most knowledgeable electrician in the plant. I was bullied out the door. I have my own electrical contracting business – more... now and make 100x the money I was really hurt by thr way I was treated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place with opportunities to grow
Trainer (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJuly 26, 2012
I will say it's a good place to work. Co-workers work well with each others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No layoffs for 35 years
Maintenance Lead (Current Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJune 28, 2012
Pros: steady employment, four day weekends
Cons: rotating shift, no family/worklife balance
Poly has not had lay offs for their entire time in business. I can say that if you want to find a place to retire, this could be it. Unfortunately the pay scale is about 3 to 6 dollars too low and if you don't have friends in the management circle, you will not get promoted. The managers do not tend to lead, but to bully their subordinates. The rotating – more... shift schedule will not allow time for school or family activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poly-America cares more about production than employees ability to do quality work.
Section Coordinator (Current Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJune 20, 2012
Pros: you don't have to clock out for lunch, 4 days on 4 days off
Cons: 4 weeks of 48 hr checks and 4 weeks of 36 hr checks
They have an extremely high turnover rate which causes me and my co-workers to constantly train new employees and keeps me from ensuring that a quality product is getting made. We are constantly running shorthanded which in turn puts more of a workload on everyone else which makes it hard to keep up with quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked hear for short while too company offers good traing
Packaging and organisation (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXMay 30, 2012
had some fun working hear but there working invironment wasn``t too good because of air condtioning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company with unstable management
Office Personnel (Current Employee), Grand Prairie, TxFebruary 24, 2012
Pros: gas pumps on site for use after 6 months on job, deducted from paycheck
Cons: healthcare benefits expensive, no days off for one year after start date
Management is a 'good ole boys' club. If you don't fit you are sure to be booted. Warehouse personnel is worked to death and office personnel is treated even worse. Managers are clueless and leave their office workers to do all the work while they boast about how great their department is. Warehouse workers complaints are not heard. Anyone who doesn't – more... 'fall into place' will find themselves kicked to the curb for lame reasons. – less