Poly America Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gives you experience to work under pressure
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXFebruary 24, 2016
I had a good 10 years with the company. The pressure made me a better worker. The pay was good. The working days were you because I worked 4 days and I was off 4 days.
Pros
lunch hour was paid, good health benefits, and 41k
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment
Packer (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJuly 25, 2016
a good day at work has to do with comumunication .getting along with the co-workers.just due what the job requires and we should be ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and intense wor enviroment
Packer (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXOctober 30, 2014
great place to work and nice work schedule good coworkers and great management team will lead its employee into the right derction
Pros
401k
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJuly 14, 2015
Very hot environment during the summer. Great career advancement.The hardest part of the job is staying on your feet for 12 hours.The most enjoyable part of the job would be getting payed every week.
Pros
Lots of overtime available
Cons
Breaks are very short
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good place to work, with many friendly and hard working people
maintenance mechanic (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXSeptember 26, 2012
typical day at work was to communicate with upper management for various assigments
i learned alot about industrial maintenance from hands on experience
management was great with not alot of constant pressure as long as job was done within a certain time frame
co-workers were very hard working people
hardest part of the job was the long drive for me there
the most enjoyable part of the job was getting my assigments done and getting production started back again
Pros
great job
Cons
long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packing products
Forklift driver (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXSeptember 6, 2015
Im work in packing products, forklift drive, mechanics assitance.
The work provides the space and the security for do the job comfortable.
I learned many areas in the company like packing, drives forklift and do mechanics jobs.
Pros
Medical plan, breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are 24-7-364 day year production plant.
Primary duties are (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXMarch 24, 2012
They do imploy mass prodouction point of view where they manage thousand or more a shift. The end of day production for the team area is the measure of production. They do have safety and production procedure that are easy to stay within. They work for most production 12 hour shifts on 4-3 schedual rotating on monthly basis, 8 hour shifts go to non production or senior poly employees. the work is in team area and team machines. I found the work demanding but enjoyable and the soap opra life styles entertaining. They make trash bags and when we run out of trash, they will have work slow down.
Pros
job stability, id card is to make purchase for snack machines, non smoking plant, insurance, overtime.
Cons
12 hour shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot long humid and sometimes dangerous workplace
Package Handler/Sorter (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXNovember 5, 2014
a typical day at work consist of standing for 12 hrs working.i learned how to operate forklift management sometimes doesnt comply with OSHA. my co-workers were great. the hardest part of the job is not looking at the clock provided to see when the shifts over. the most enjoyable part of the job was the overtime.
Pros
lots of overtime and paid breaks
Cons
12 hr shifts 6 hours sometimes without a break
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drove shuttle wagon, ran machine that extruded plastic bags, worked in lab
Rail Car Driver, Lead person, Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXApril 30, 2012
Not a very good company to work at, poor management, bad pay, terrible work schedule.
Pros
shuttle wagon
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with improved infrastructural facilities
Packer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 6, 2014
working with poly America has been beneficial to my ability to work under pressure as well as meeting up deadlines.my co-workers and I adopt fast and reliable methods to package products. The most enjoyable aspect of the job is being able to go on short breaks
and the most challenging is to meet deadline in very difficult time limit and at the shortest possible time.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poly America is a big company with great people to work with Liked this job
Lubricator tech (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXFebruary 12, 2015
Start out make sure all parts needed are ordered or have that day to complete job. Complete job requirements for that day. on a down day their was always plenty of perventive maintenance work orders to complete, a lot of up down stairs walking to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial electrical servicing and produduction machine repair
Industrial Electrician (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJuly 3, 2012
Industrial wiring and machine servicing with several hundred different machines was the norm on this job. Changing 3 different shifts and 4 days working and 3 days off while rotating weeks was more than enough.
Pros
lots of different equipment to work with.
Cons
no set shifts and no set days to work while adjusting to work enviroment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
electrician
Poly-America (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXMarch 15, 2012
Great place to work. Long hours and lots of over time. It's a plastic bag and not rocket surgery.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't like working for this company
Lead FCM Operator (Current Employee) –  Mont Belvieu, TXMay 4, 2013
I have nothing good to say about this company.They are sexist,discriminate, only men advance in to higher positions.Management doesn't care about the workers just about the production.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team environment
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJune 20, 2012
We had to work within groups of three or more to complete tasks. Everyone was very helpful and willing to do their share. I was the lead machine operator as well as driving forklifts and coordinating new employees in my section. I was also responsible for pulling my own products and moving them from one place to another within the factory. I enjoyed this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days but nice four days off
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXMay 27, 2014
A good job but not the best of hours. Included a friendly work environment with hard tasks that joined us together. Although the work days were each twelve hours and very hot, the pay was nice.
Pros
good incurance
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive atmosphere with some hard-working employees
Forklift/ Stocker (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJune 30, 2013
I would utilize the forklift to unload various truck trailers, train new employees, and scan in inventory to proper destination.

Hardest part of the job was being on the forklift if it was not functioning properly.

I enjoyed the productivity of the position and the flow of the daily jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okey place to work
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJuly 8, 2014
not a bad company to work for
well managed
always had good tools to work with
good blue prints to do work.
Pros
lots of OT
Cons
low wages, high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and active environment.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXFebruary 5, 2015
Working hard in a fast pace environment is an opportunity for a chance to improve in skills and advance with the company's demands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hard job to do
Package Handler/Sorter (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJanuary 22, 2015
The job was to pack boxes with plastic which was a hard task lifting 150 lbs alone and it was very hot and sweaty working there but the pay was great and the scheduling was great also
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.4