Find companies:
Pomeroy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

Pomeroy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insight Global Was A Great Experience
Linux/Windows Systems Engineer II (Former Employee), Mason, OhioAugust 29, 2014
I am working for Insight Global as a contract to hire for another company. IG was able to find a job perfect for my personality/qualifications quick! The staff (Tyler/Libby) were very helpful, professional, and easy to work with. I would recommend working with Insight Global either full time, or as a contractor employee. The culture is layed back, yet – more... professional, and compensation is great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Their was opportunity for advancement
Help Desk Specialist/Acting Team Lead (Current Employee), Dayton, OHAugust 21, 2014
Pros: holiday lunches and free meals if there was bad weather
Cons: healthcare offer after 1 year- alot could happen in a year
The most enjoyable part was the people who were super friendly and the hardest had to be those who needed it Yesterday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT company that needs people that like to travel extensively.
IT Technician II (Former Employee), Dunbar, WVAugust 20, 2014
Pros: great employees and benefits
Cons: extensive travel
Pomeroy is a company that is a great place to learn some of the basics of the IT industry. My days were mostly spent installing SMART boards in public schools throughout West Virginia. Unfortunately, there is not a lot of room for advancement within this company. The hardest part of the job was the amount of travel involved in the job. I would be out – more... of town for weeks at a time. The other employees were the best part of the job for me. You become close when you stay out of town together for as much time as we had to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Management Ever
PC Technician (Former Employee), Hershey, PAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: working for hershey medical center
Cons: being employed by incompetent people
I used to wake up every morning bright-eyed and happy heading into work, that is, until i developed a debilitating disease that first took me off work for 4 months. Upon returning, they hired a new manager (Richard Sontag) and he gutted the contract slowly and surely. Everyone knew that the laziness behind the sales team was the reason for the Hershey – more... contract not making any money, but instead, he decided that it would be better to not rock the boat and completely alienate the employees, instead of telling sales team to renegotiate the contract. I was personally fired because the manager completely disregarded two customers I had work scheduled with in the afternoon and decided I needed to attend a mandatory meeting. I was given 40 minutes notice to attend the meeting, which the focus of my duties there was supposed to be on the customers of the contract (and I won't even mention that I wasn't even the same building as the guy, so that also means travel time would've needed to be considered. Oops, looks like I mentioned it anyways.)

Now, i'm not normally one who puts consideration into conspiracy theories, but I also have no problem admitting that what happened when the customer feedback cards were introduced was called out by 3 of the 4 employees that were working there at the time. The feedback cards were ultimately used as a device that allowed a bogus reason to have a meeting with another employee. In that meeting, a plan was hatched to eliminate people and free up salary space so that they could start firing people under false pretenses and that they may lose all their benefits and the contract could further save more money (again, I feel I should mention the complete and utter laziness from Pomeroy's "sales" team by never renegotiating the contract despite that Hershey had already expanded 3 times and the workload was severely increased). I probably shouldn't also mention that the manager's bonus at the end of the year is tied in to how much he can gut and save on the contract.

Long story short, this is not a company that cherishes the employees who do not suck up to incompetent managers. Pomeroy is a company that manipulates you and if they are not able to, they will fire you with bogus claims while trying to deny you any temporary unemployment benefits while you search for a new job. If you're a newcomer to the IT field, this is one entry-level position you should definitely skip over. If you are a veteran IT personnel, again, I would recommend skipping over Pomeroy as you are already overqualified to deal with such incompetence. Basically, just skip over Pomeroy if you're any type of human being, farm animal or even an alien from outer space. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Notch !!!!
Deployment Technician (Former Employee), Hebron, KYAugust 11, 2014
Very professional, great pay, and respected within the community. Whenever I would mention that I was on a project with Pomeroy people would respond "I've always wanted to work for them" or " I got my start in IT with them".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
independent contractor
Consultant (Former Employee), kentucky usaAugust 6, 2014
- plan out work day in the office

-pick up parts from warehouse

-install pin pad machines at 7/11 store in the san Francisco bay area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very indepent
Consultant (Current Employee), san francisco bay areaAugust 6, 2014
Pros: good communication
Cons: no free lunch
-gather work orders for the day
-review and prioritize the work day
-execute work orders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
IT Consultant/Contractor (Former Employee), Fairlawn, OHAugust 5, 2014
The company was great as far as contracting companies go. the work was easy and the pay was fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a decent company to work for
Computer Operator (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 5, 2014
Working for Pomeroy is great, but job security is something that started to worry me. The managers were great but sometimes I felt like they knew about things regarding contracts and kept it secret. Very understandable, I wouldn't want all my employees to jump ship when they were still needed for a few more months. This was my situation. It may be a – more... completely different story for you depending on what your job title is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM Contract
Network/Communications Engineer (Contractor) (Former Employee), Englewood, COJuly 29, 2014
Pros: all the hardware you could want to train on.
Cons: no budget for training
An eye opening experience to work for a large scale company who supported a very large travel agency and rental car business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harmony of Chaos
PC Technician (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 24, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: low per diem, team consistency, management
Project mangers and team members were changing on a daily basis. There was a very high turnover rate. Lots of travel with little or no notice at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor with IBM
Tape Librarian/PSM Site Supervisor (Former Employee), Research Triangle Park, NCJuly 19, 2014
Pros: great company to work with for it related positions
Cons: only 1 manager that needs to retrained
i really enjoyed working with IBM as a contractor. PSM work was a great stepping stone for bigger & better jobs, but would need to retrain the current Manager at the Durham site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers!
Tape Librarian (Former Employee), Englewood, COJuly 12, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks were on the clock
Cons: they didn't give out raises
it was a pretty laid back working atmosphere working with just a handful of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Tier 2 NOC Technician (Former Employee), Hebron, KYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: high pay (due to no benefits)
Cons: bad communication, no holiday pay, condescending
I worked a job at Fifth Third Bank for Pomeroy that was supposed to last 3 month but due to budgeting issues with the client, only lasted one month.

The job arrangement was totally online - I never met with anyone from Pomeroy until the job was over. There was so much paper work to be done to secure the posting that I often wondered if it was all worth – more... it. The I-9 verification form that I filled out had to be verified by a non-family member which was difficult to find.

Two weeks after I started work I was finally sent the information to log my time and the employee handbook info. The instructions are not only confusing and difficult to follow, but indicate they were supposed to be issued on the date of hire.

Pomeroy also sent me a requirement to call a phone number to apply for a "WOTC' tax credit". I assume for the company, No company I've ever worked for has required anything like this.

I was employed over the July 4th holiday. When I inquired about holiday pay I was promptly told contractors don't get holiday pay and my Pomeroy rep sent me my signature on the forms I had signed to take the job to show me that I understood that at the time of hire. I simply had asked a question and got the 'book thrown at me'. Geez.

I don't think my resource rep at Pomeroy was very bright as evidenced from some of her communications via email.

The first person at Pomeroy who snagged me into the job assured me that Pomeroy would be able to place me on another job as soon as this one at Fifth Third was ended but after it has now ended they aren't so sure.

I had wanted to work for Pomeroy since 1996 but I see now that it is a very different company that what it once was.

Friends had told me that both Pomeroy and Fifth Third were poor companies to work for who treat their employees less than favorably.

I will have to agree. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Configuration Analyst (Current Employee), Hebron, KYJuly 8, 2014
Pros: 1 hr break
*configuration of switches routers laptops, rf scanners, thin clients and touch screen advertisement (stratacache)
*Good working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Help Desk Analyst I (Current Employee), Hebron, KYJune 30, 2014
Provide costumer assistance via the phone and remote desktop to resolve or escalate ongoing issues. On average I handle between 40 to 50 calls a day. The calls range from password resets to network printer issues and include software application troubleshooting. My co-workers and extremely knowledgeable and always willing to help each other out with – more... issues. The hardest part of the job is getting a response from third party resolvers to fix an issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pomeroy
Engineer 1 - Network (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 24, 2014
Pros: not required to over work
Cons: job advancement, benefits, job security
Pomeroy is a great place to start in the IT industry when it comes to the field. You can learn a little more than what you come in with, however advancement is the concern here as its very difficult to gain more experience after you learn your typical job role. The benefits aren't outstanding by any means but you do receive some decent benefits with – more... the company. Roles can vary within the company as they have many contracts with various other companies. The downside is you would generally always be in a contracted role and your position could go away at any moment. I enjoy the co-workers I have come to know throughout the company as well as some of the management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Manager (Former Employee), Hebron, KYJune 16, 2014
Pros: some great people work there
Cons: management can be out of touch
A fast paced growing place to start out.
Co-workers are a pleasure to work with.
Can be stressful but rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pomeroy IT Solutions
PC Technician (Current Employee), Hebron, KYJune 10, 2014
The first day I started to work for Pomeroy I was so happy to do a job with them, I learnt a lot of deferent programs that they use for this special program, they have the best management ever, my co-workers are good. the hardest part of the job is when they have some hold programs for example when they are unsure or working on that program and they – more... can't still install into the PC's. the most enjoyable part of the job is when we are imaging or adding apps into the PC's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful opportunity at a good time
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Akron, OHJune 4, 2014
While my position with Pomeroy IT Solutions was only temporary, it was a wonderful opportunity and came at a great time. I loved that it was very fast paced at times, and when the work load was slow I was allowed opportunities to perform other tasks. Overall a great work environment.

1 2 3 4 5

About Pomeroy

Many a PC passes through the hands of Pomeroy IT Solutions. The company resells and services computers, networking equipment, – Read more