Ponderosa Steakhouse Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great bosses
Waitress/Cashier/Cook/Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Crown Point, INJanuary 21, 2018
This was my 1st job. It was hard labor, but my boss was great. She was hard, but I have learned so much from her. Fun place to work with great co-workers. I was sad to see it close down.
Pros
great people
Cons
it closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen Ambiente de trabajo
Cajera y servicio al cliente (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRJanuary 18, 2018
Trabajo Dinamico Y Muy activo Tienes que tener muchos animos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salad barmaid
Barmaid (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, NYJanuary 15, 2018
stock and fill salad bar with hot and cold food. Had to bake fresh rolls . A lot of walking around. It was my first experience with the public. was a good environment for a first job. Learned how restaurants work.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to work
DISHWASHER/COOK (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYJanuary 15, 2018
Its a good place to work if your a college student and just need a little bit of money to help pay for college. however not a good place to work if your trying to have your own place and live on your own and have bills to pay.
Pros
free lunch, flexible hours nice if your a college student
Cons
lack of hours during the winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for a first job
Server (Former Employee) –  Rochester, INJanuary 15, 2018
This job includes busing tables, pre-busing, getting drinks, taking out orders, and cleaning your area. It is a great first job and fits multiple schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Cortland, NYJanuary 11, 2018
was a great place to work until it closed down. Learned many of my working skills and advancements from working here. made many great friends while I worked here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor work place
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJanuary 8, 2018
very poor management no benefits and most managers are very rude and poor communication. most of there cameras in the back of the house don't work . Good food though.
Pros
discounts
Cons
no healthcare nor benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitress
WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  West Branch, MIJanuary 7, 2018
Friendly people
diligent bosses
clean restaurant
great hours
I have enjoyed my time there and have walked away from this experience with learning how to work with the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot while working.
Cook/Manager (Former Employee) –  Coldwater, MIJanuary 4, 2018
Started when I was 15 progressed very fast into multiple positions. Trained in an became a manager. Was able to make changes to the work place before new management took over.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Franchise I have worked for
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Madison, INJanuary 3, 2018
The company itself doesn't check up on brand standards, and allows owners to do their own thing. Owner treated us like we were just means to an end, rather than a part of the company together.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great co-workers
Cashier/Server (Current Employee) –  Greenfield, INJanuary 1, 2018
Ponderosa is a great workplace. You learn how to take care of customers and you get to help them have a great experience. Managers are wonderful, very helpful to costumers and employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing good to say
Operating Manager (Former Employee) –  Ashtabula, OHDecember 29, 2017
After entering into a management agreement and following all the rules, relocating my family the only thing we got was all of our money taken by 1 person. Sadly we were not the only ones that this happened to.
Pros
none
Cons
lost everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Cook (Former Employee) –  Potsdam, NYDecember 26, 2017
For a part-time job, Ponderosa was okay. The store operator is a great man, but his underling supervisors are not okay. Do not expect to balance life responsibilities and work here at the same time.
Pros
Great owner
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a restaurant job, what else do you expect?
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Owosso, MIDecember 21, 2017
The managers were unprofessional. The atmosphere was unprofessional. I've never worked for a company that had so many high school children working. I wouldn't work for this restaurant again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Plaza las Americas, San Juan, Puerto RicoDecember 20, 2017
what to say. it was a long time ago. It was fun working there. It was a good job enviroment. The hardest part was balancing school with the hours but I manage. It was a great expirience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Management (Former Employee) –  Benton, KYDecember 20, 2017
Being a server is a good beginning job for any high school student as the hours are flexible and getting time off is not hard. The owner is very kind and compassionate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ponderosa steakhouse is a family restaurant that's self serviced
Dish Washer (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIDecember 18, 2017
I worked at Ponderosa as a cook, until the business was sold and turned into a Chinese restaurant. While I worked there I enjoyed the work staff and the quality of the food overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work
Waitress/host (Former Employee) –  Dearborn Heights, MIDecember 12, 2017
My work experiance was OK with them it took a minute to get use to everything the manager was nice I had a problem sometimes sometimes it could be overwhelming because there were only on staff or two so we had to make it work I work the floor and cash register and make the dessert and the other man down there station
Pros
Discount on lunce and dinner
Cons
Lost of customer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work but, not enough for me.
Cook, Supervisor, Manager (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRDecember 10, 2017
I started working in the dishwasher area, then cook, then supervisor, finally a manager. It was fun but, it was steesfull at times. You have to know and do everything there , anytime.
Pros
free food
Cons
not enough money and time off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a stressful but fun job.
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NYDecember 9, 2017
It is a stressful but fun job. I truly enjoyed going to work everyday. Although the pay was not the best. The upper management was awesome to the stores but their tactics on the way they close stores was not on the up and up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ponderosa Steakhouse. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 476 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.5