Find companies:
Popular Community Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Popular Community Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bank for beginning bankers.
Licensed Banker (Current Employee), Commerce, C.A.June 15, 2014
The bank is a great place to work and the pay is decent. They recognize hard work with employee recognition and are very involved in the community. If you're new to banking, this is the perfect place to start. If you're looking for growth opportunity, you'll have to wait in line. Even if you exceed goal, there's still a line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to Work For
Technology Assistance Center Technician (Current Employee), Rosemont, ILJune 2, 2014
Popular has given me the opportunity to handle all sorts of issues and how to fix them on my own with very little guidance. This is a great place to work for moderately experienced employees looking for room to learn on there own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most horrible experience
Anonymous (Former Employee), New YorkMay 1, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: everything else
Very disorganized, toxic atmosphere. You have to fit in the puzzle to be accepted
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete my task in a timely manner.
Loan Operations Rep (Current Employee), Rosemont, ILApril 30, 2014
My co-workers are great. The most enjoyable part of the job is resolving problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer facing some challenges
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Anaheim, CAApril 26, 2014
Pros: decent vacation hours, friendly co-workers
Cons: poorly managed, no growth
Decent vacation hours, friendly co-workers

Poorly managed, no growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company bad management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 31, 2014
good company , bad management , bad pay overworked , good people as in the coworker very little opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
allot of work, not enough
Teller Banking Representative (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: its a professional environment that helps you develop necessary skills, to preform accurately, and officiant, great for developing professional skills and experience
Cons: poor income for the amount of work your expected to preform.
its a bitter sweet experience, that's how i would summarize it, there are allot of great and beautiful people in this company, as well as not so beautiful, but over all it was a growing experience for me till i acknowledged that my income was simply not enough ,so i guess if you need experience and not so much the money than go for it.The work environment – more... is good and pleasant on most days and of course you have good and bad customers but that's just reality when it comes to people.Work is challenging and you can bet to learn something new every day how ever it doesn't mean it will be relevant two weeks from now, the company is still in process of expansion and growth so policies change from time to time which leads to angry frustrated costumers hew discharge there explosive anger and feelings of dislike towered hum they consider responsible,tellers are usually the main victims because hey are the first personals that deal with the customers up front and the very last to be informed regarding any detailed if any relevant to toughs types of changes.My conclusion- there are pros and cons to ever thing like light and contrast its everywhere that's just the bottom line,it an inescapable truth you have to weigh the good and the bad and for me the money was just not good enough to consider staying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service/Collections
Collections Agent (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 22, 2013
Pros: spanish & engilsh spoken
Cons: exellent customer service
Obtaining a position in which my drive and perseverance to providing exemplary service will help me grow individually as well as professionally.

a typical day at work for me is when i provide excellence customer service.

I have learned that when i provide excellent customer service that my goal has been met.

Managers are comprehending and motivating.

CO-workers – more... apply the best teamwork possible.

The hardest part of my job is when a client is not willing to receive help.

The most enjoyable part of my job is the MONEY! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Commercial Credit Analyst (US Credit) (Current Employee), Rosemont, ILSeptember 9, 2013
I have worked at Popular Community Bank (formally Banco Popular) since 2007. A lot of changes have occurred throughout the years. Most recently my manager retired which caused a lot of stress. Therefore, our approval process has slowed down. The people I work with make everything enjoyable. We do have some work functions, which is always a good time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very attentive to customer service
Intern (Former Employee), Montebello, CAAugust 15, 2013
The tellers are were especially attentive to the needs of the customers and many have established relationships with the customers. Management was always overviewing what was being done, though never micromanaged. I learned the value in customer relations as well as basic teller and cash handling skills. Both employees and management were nice and kept – more... a professional demeanor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Players
Teller (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 15, 2013
Popular Community Bank is great company to work for they accomodate your schedule fairly and to benefit you in your personal life and at work productively. Management relate to you are very helpful into showing you new products and regulation we work as a team The hardest part of the job would be the location is a slow branch for us to get refferals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Customer Service Representative Level II (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 12, 2013
My typical day at work consist on assisting customer with their balance and any inquiries they might have regarding their bank accounts.

I work on multiple queues: Business online banking, Personal online banking, Account opening department, Deposit and E-loan queue.

I enjoy helping people any way possible, even if its buy helping them navigate on – more... the bank website.

My co-workers are all team players and get along with one another.

The hardest part about my job is when I have to deny a customer request to refund and overdraft fee they received. Sometimes there has been a courtesy refunds given and and they are asking for another one. WE are only allowed to give m courtesy refund for the life of the account.

My management team like to make a lot of changes . There is nothing wrong with changes, however, the employees never have a say in these changes. I sometimes feel like they are unfair at times, in the other hand it makes me work harder. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Polite and flexible
Customer Service Tech Support (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 26, 2013
The work is easy and everyone is polite and they are flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five stars
Sales and Service Associate (Former Employee), Garden Grove, CAJuly 1, 2013
Pros: new products every day.
Cons: the air conditioning in that building was not that good.
I have learned so much about how to do a good cross-sell one on one ore on the phone. Always busy at work but the manager and co-worker always work together not as a team but as a small family, always looked out for each others and supported each others. The hardest part of the job is to sell the bank products to a difficult customers but that also – more... the most enjoyable part of the job because it motivated me to do sell better each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Human Resources Coordinator/HR Rep (Current Employee), New York, New YorkMay 23, 2013
Pros: culture & values
Cons: advancement
I would rated a C. *****************************************************************
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 21, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: n/a
Learned to work as a team, create new sales strategies. Positive, calm work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profesional workplace with a lot of training opportunities.
Online Banking Specialist (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 3, 2013
Good and profesional environment. While waiting for calls there was a lot of training oportunities you could do in the meantime that helps in your career development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST PLACE TO WORK
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLApril 11, 2013
Cons: everything
This place is filled with people who do not know how to manage. A typical day at this job is answering calls (if working at the call center) without breaks. You have to let management know when you go to the bathroom and if you take too long they send someone to check up on you. If your absent 3 times you will get fired instantly no matter how many – more... years you have been with this company. DONOT work here!!!! Find something else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn as you GO!
Bank Teller (Current Employee), Queens, NYApril 8, 2013
Pros: off on sunday
Cons: schedules are done on saturday
busy fast pace environment you will definitely learn how to troubleshoot as you learn, It could be fun at times but stressful at others. Managers and co-worker are willing to help you when the can. The hardest part of the job is when help delays and the most enjoyable part of the job is the small talks with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Teller (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 22, 2013
Pros: vacation and sick days
Cons: average salary rates
Although a regular day could be very stressful I have learned a lot at this company. It is a very friendly environment, very good coworkers, and flexible managers.