Port Huron Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
ENG (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIMay 15, 2017
Woderful place to work, felt like a family! Co-workers always willing to work together as a team to get the job done. Nice and relaxing environment not a stressful place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
300+ bed medical laboratory
Supervisor, Department of Hematology (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIApril 17, 2017
I managed the sections of Hematology and Coagulation.
Taught Hematology and Coagulation in the hospital's School of Medical Technology. I was the Laboratory's Quality Assurance Coordinator. Participated in "Hello Hospital", a program for elementary school students. Set up fine needle biopsies in conjunction with the Department of Radiology.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as above
Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIDecember 4, 2016
the drive was just to far away or I would have stayed the hospital is part of McLaren so there beliefs and there core system are the same
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoied my job
Diagnostic service associate (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MINovember 16, 2016
All I can say is that I liked my job. If you are offered a position decide on your own needs and if this position will fulfill them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting real first job.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIMay 29, 2016
I was a customer service associate in the Emergency Department. I assisted patients with either checking into the ER, visiting loved ones, or getting to procedures they may had scheduled.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIMarch 30, 2016
I volunteered at port huron hospital, and waited for different floors to call the phone they gave me, and then i would go to that floor and get a patient and take them to the front door with a wheelchair..
Pros
Free lunch vouchers
Cons
the vouchers were only 3.50$
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIJanuary 5, 2016
just a volunteer job but everything was great people and environment was a wonderful experience for me. I would recommend volunteering here'
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rn
Registered Nurse-Traveler (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIAugust 28, 2015
Conscientious, integrity driven Registered Nurse with a strong clinical background in an acute care setting, providing attentive care to patients with health challenges and medical emergencies. I possess a proven ability to work under pressure in fast-pacedemergency rooms, dedicated to ensure stabilization and successful patient outcomes to diverse patient populations. I am skilled in maintaining proper lines of communication to the health care team, patients and families for the delivery of safe effective patient care.
Pros
great staff support
Cons
no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided great educational and learning experiences
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIJuly 4, 2015
I learned more in nursing here than in all of my other nursing experiences combined. I grew as a person and as a Nurse here. I had a great charge nurse and floor manager.
Pros
constant availability for work, support from management
Cons
low staffing numbers when I left
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIMarch 19, 2015
You were on your own for most of the day, basically in an office with little contact with patients, unless on the phone. Once in a while I was needed to do an injection of a medication or to help take someone to the hospital for an impatient stay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registration - Emergency Department
PAA II (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIOctober 13, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed my first year of employment with PHH as an Emergency Department Registration Rep, I learned a lot and felt respected by the entire team. There were some changes made to the process of registration during my second year of employment instead of registering patients primarily in the triage area we went into each patient room to register them. This was not always an ideal situation as some people were intoxicated/under the influence of narcotics and could be unpredictable in so far as the safety of the registrar. That aside I did still enjoy mutual respect from my ED co-workers. I also had support from a very caring manager.
Pros
Good Co-workers, flexible scheduling options
Cons
Interactions with patients/patient families without support of other co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital Receptionist
Hospital Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Port HuronSeptember 2, 2014
Answer all phone calls. Transfer phone calls to Dr. or to a patients room. Answered any questions that a patient might have concerning a doctor schedule or offering a website to better educate the patient or loved ones.
Pros
Meet a lot of versitile of people
Cons
Many sick patients that look ill
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Nurse Aid (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIJuly 11, 2014
it was a great place to work. the only problem was the ever changing mamagement and the patient load on the floors for nurse aids. having a even flow of management in and out made the job hard to do accuratly and to the new managements standards.
Pros
great benefits, 3 day a week 12 hr shifts
Cons
patient load and responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had fun working at Port Huon Hospital liked most of the people that worked in my departement
Customer Service/Insurance Verification (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIApril 4, 2014
It was great working at the hospital. I felt that if you supervisor did like you the found a way to get rid of you. That their was like a "pet" and those people could make mistake after mistake and are still there. I learned a lot in my 16 year that I was there. I enjoyed working with most of my co-works we all worked as one and most days went smoothly.(I know everyone don't get along), I found that someone made a mistake over and over again and would say they never did or do that it hard to work with some one like that. Some days were busier then others but I like that the fast pace most days.
Pros
got free lunches some time thur out the year
Cons
Some people took more breaks then they should have would take one with out telling others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At least I had a job
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Port Huron, MIFebruary 21, 2014
The orientation process for new nurses is unorganized and has a sink or swim approach. I regretted that I did not hold out for a stronger health system for my first year of RN experience. I think I would have been better supported at Beaumont or Henry Ford. Hospital is not a teaching hospital and is behind in many aspects of practice. There are better hospitals to work at, but it's a job if you need one.
Pros
Good food
Cons
poor staffing ratio and support
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phh
Technician (Current Employee) –  Port Huron MIFebruary 11, 2014
Monitoring surveillance cameras and preforming quarterly safety checks, Evaluating and assessing mental health statuses and clinical changes in patients, Coaching and precepting new staff , Assessing Patient needs, Evaluating and documenting Mental Health status/changes, Assessing Vital Signs, Facilitating group therapy and assessing behavior/medical changes during discussions, Assisting Doctors in therapy sessions with patients, Facilitating and encouraging ADL’s of patients, Providing comfort and care as needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not some where I would work again
Registered Nurse (Critical Care) (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIFebruary 6, 2014
My manager did not listen to what you had to say, and was very bias. Some co-workers were very helpful while others brought your spirit down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job and people I worked with.
Secretary II (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIFebruary 6, 2014
Loved the job, the hours, the pay was good. I was basically my own boss. Was very productive and did my job well. I chose to quit to stay home with my kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No nonsense but personally rewarding
Cardiac Selective Care RN (Former Employee) –  Port Huron, MIFebruary 6, 2014
Everyone there is pretty nice and they all work as a team to help get things completed. Management is really nice and understanding if you are upfront and open with them. This is a hard floor and definitely needs you to be on your A game. They have a wonderful orientation period with terrific educators who are always there when you need them to answer questions or just be an ear to listen.
Pros
Great pay and excellent benefits
Cons
Nurse to patient ratio
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small town atmosphere with big city advantages
RN (Current Employee) –  Port Huron, MIJanuary 30, 2014
great place to work. people are friendly and have positive attitudes
Pros
beautiful town, close to the water
Cons
can not think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Port Huron Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Port Huron Hospital Reviews by Location