PORT OF OAKLAND Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest job ive ever had
Environmental Health and Safety Intern (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 22, 2017
Working at the Port of Oakland was an incredible opportunity and was truly one of the most memorable experiences i've ever had. I loved every second there, I made a ton of friends and was able to learn a lot by just being an intern.
Pros
I felt welcomed and everyone was amazing
Cons
was a temporary intern role
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, productive organization
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 17, 2017
Working for the Port of Oakland as a first job helped me to develop my current work ethics and some of the skills I current use today. The Port of Oakland is an excellent organization to work for, they definitely take care of their employees.
Pros
Outside work, holiday, vacation and sick pay allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Operator (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 31, 2017
The port of Oakland is is a good company to work for. I would recommend the port of Oakland as a good place to work. While work for the port I accumulated a lot of skill operating the forklift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 22, 2016
Unloading and loading trailers
We learned how to load a 53' trailer to the tilt
Management was excellent
All my co-workers were funny characters, made working easy
The hardest part of the job was maintaining each trailer on the dock
The most enjoyable part of the job were my co-workers
Pros
free lunches every friday
Cons
short breaks and hot trailers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment meeting new people
Ground Transportation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJune 28, 2016
Fun quick environment meeting a lot of new people in and out of the airport. Fun pace ensuring customers have reliable transportation to get to where they need to be and have a great experience and want to come back and fly Oakland.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and informative
Technical Communications Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oakland International AirportJanuary 22, 2016
Fast paced, ever changing environment. Strong networking ability. Teamwork was a must. 24 hour, 7 day rotating work schedules was the hardest part. Most enjoyable part was people watching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working by loading Cranes
Civil Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 23, 2015
Working with expert engineers, that allows you to learn more about the Engineering industry. Overall, it was a great experience to work with the Engineers that they already had tons of experiences in the field of Engineering.
Pros
Complementry coffee
Cons
No candy with the coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security intensive atmosphere
Sr. Buyer Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 17, 2015
As a contract worker I experienced the requirements of Public Purchasing and Public Bidding Process.
The process is centralized although the duties are fractionalized by the divisions of the Port's functions, i.e. aviation, shipping and rail.
Pros
Intense security environment
Cons
Supportive employee atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with a very diverse demographic of people
Desktop Support and Help Desk (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 13, 2015
There was no such thing as a typical day on this job.

My direct supervisors and managers were really good to work with and honestly made it worth it. My co-workers as well made it all possible.

This was a challenging role and a challenging situation for anybody. I took the job as a challenge. We had to do the work of an entire army with very few people and resources and we pulled it off so well that we wrapped up the deployments early.

The hardest part was being in the lead role while things changed and processes were interrupted at every turn. It was stressful but, also the most rewarding part of the entire gig.
Pros
short commute. good people. good work.
Cons
low pay. temp contract. no opportunity for advancment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
geart job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 13, 2015
wake up going too work feeling good cause i know i was going too work with some good co-workers the most enjoyable job...would love too go back and work for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for with excellent salary
Administrative Asst (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 13, 2015
Typical day start with opening emails, retrieving messages, and going to meeting for updated information on today's agenda. Return calls, updated database, and set up conference rooms for seminars and corporate meetings.
Pros
Lot of free food, comes in on a regular basis
Cons
Demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment
Insurance Technician (Former Employee) –  Oakland AirportApril 8, 2014
Port of Oakland, Oakland Airport was a job in training for me. At that time (present-time), Port is not hiring ! I was able to enhance my job skills in the administrative positions; but could not get into the port as a permanent worker...
Pros
Excellent training opportunities
Cons
Port of Oakland is not hiring...
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp job
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  West Oakland, CASeptember 23, 2013
loading trucks
how to work under pressure
fair
helpful
not being late on loading
exsercise
Pros
work out
Cons
over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Landside Operations (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 1, 2013
A typical day at work would be for me to take the lost and found messages from the day before, then try to find the customers items and if we have it in the lost and found then I would call them and let them know. I would either mail their item out to them or have them come in and pick it up, which ever is better for the customer. Then I would start on renewing parking permits and for new employees with the Oakland Airport I would get them started on a new application for their parking permit. After that I would take a break and after my break I would work on filing papers while answering the phone for the lost and found.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship opprotunity
Media & Public Relations (Intern) (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJuly 14, 2013
The Port of Oakland offers a great internship opportunity for students in college and high school. Make sure you take advantage of it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work with very nice and helpful people
Ground Transportation Coordinator assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJune 4, 2013
A typical day at work was made of phone calls and answers,meeting,meeting report writing, spreadsheet setting, problem solving,payment handling,files updating.but also talking with colleagues at break time from whom I learned a lot professionally and personally.
The manager, very professional and passionate with his job,very helpful.the co-workers, helpful as well and fun.
The hardest part of the job was to explain the same thing many times to customers who were not cooperative.and have to enforce the rules and regulations;
most enjoyable when customers are happy and we received positive feedback.And the feeling of a job well done at the end of the day.
Pros
Nice working environment, free lunches sometime, Nice people
Cons
office not opened to day light.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy my job. The work requirement was involved but at the end of the day I felt fulfeeled knowing I did my best.
Warehouse Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 22, 2013
I found my job to be very rewarding. I was there ahead of my work schedule every morning. When I arrived, I began preparing the work to start the day before the supervisor arrived.
Pros
i worked around great people.
Cons
the comute was sometimes challenging but i still made sure i was there on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and consistant work.
Processor (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 4, 2013
Verify each item number and separate based on location.
Safely wrap each shipment and take them to shoppers, and
Keep documents on each truck that has come through my processing team. My team was hard workers and came to work everyday on time ready to work. The hardest part was working near the water on docks in the rain. Making the most of our day was the best part!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace and environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 9, 2013
I enjoyed working at the Port of Oakland, the projects were challenging and the people that work there are very professional and committed to realizing the goals of the Strategic Plan.
Pros
people, projects
Cons
bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the people and the company
Staff Chex (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 24, 2012
well frist of all i enjoyed it so much i wish i was able to go back!
Pros
they treated us to lunch every friday.
Cons
i had a hour for my lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PORT OF OAKLAND. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

PORT OF OAKLAND Reviews by Location