Find companies:
Porter and Chester Institute
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Porter and Chester Institute Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Nursing Instructor (Former Employee), Rocky Hill CtMay 7, 2014
Cons: would not recommend
I actually worked as the instructor in Rocky Hill and did not write the below review. Question is who did? and why?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Educational
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Westborough, MAMay 5, 2014
Pros: assisting students, parents, and coworkers
Cons: health care
Seeing students everyday striving to meet their goals to become a trained professional, makes you feel good going to work everyday to assist them in what ever way you can. I loved working with my team members, and learning new things. While in my position I had a variety of responsibilities. I would say the hardest part of the job was to see students – more... withdrawal for personal issues they had no control over. Interacting with potential new students was very interesting. One of my responsibilities was to administer a Wonderlic Test, part of the Admission process, and it was very enjoyable getting to know the students, and being excited for them when they past the test. Another thing I loved to do at Porter and Chester was assisting in Financial Aid. I seemed to have a natural ability to explain the process in an understandable way, so it didn't sound like another language to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raises don't exist.
Assistant Director (Current Employee), MAApril 28, 2014
Pros: good people on the campus level
Cons: corporate doesn't care about you, no raises, terrible benefits
I work in one of the MA campuses, i truly like most of the people i work with, that can be said about every job, however corporate is trying to build this I love PCI attitude with all employees and all you need to do is give us raises. 4 or 5 years with no increases? And the revolving door of employees does not seem to concern them, i mean you get one – more... or two years out of someone then they find somewhere that will pay them better and they are gone. So if you are looking to soak up some experience then move on, not a bad stop, but don't consider long term unless you are ok never getting a raise...oh make sure you have health insurance through your spouse if possible, the benefits here are AWFUL and are expensive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Instructor (Former Employee), CtApril 2, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: back stabbers, underpaid
School only wants to make money.
They accept students that can barely
read, let alone speak English.
All of these "career schools" are the same.
Credits are not transferable , although
Admissions will lie & say they are.
They are not.
Get your education at one of the Community
Colleges.
Good luck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work place
LPN Instructor (Former Employee), Rocky Hill, CTMarch 1, 2014
A typical day at work in the classroom consisted of proctoring, grading, and reviewing a test. Depending on the test result, student advisement may be necessary. The remainder of the day was spent preparing lessons for upcoming classes. Management kept an open door policy ad communication was mostly via electronic media. Co-workers were supportive and – more... we all assisted each other whenever necessary.
The hardest part of the job was having students leave the program without achieving their goals.
The most enjoyable part of the job was to see the students finally grasping difficult concepts, especially those with no health care background. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn a new career
Network Apprentice (Former Employee), Branford, CTFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: great learning
Excellent teaching and great place to learn a great career,troubleshooting school computers and servers,Malware removal and workstation application installations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place fun and interesting
Automotive Technician (Tranning) (Former Employee), Woburn, MAAugust 27, 2013
Go to shop see if their any cars to work on work on cars

learned different system of the car

very friendly co workers

the hardest part was when their where no cars to work on

Taking apart the cars and fixing what was broken in them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instructors and staff
Medical Assisting (Former Employee), Westborough, MAAugust 18, 2013
Pros: great hours
Cons: was to short
Loved it instructors are very knowledgeable. This is a School.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great college
Student (Former Employee), Branford, CTJune 3, 2013
I love going school every day .We usually have theory till first break then after that we work in the shop the rest of the day of varies of projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and exciting learning environment great staff, and great teachers. Learning never stops
Networking Apprentice (Current Employee), Stratford, CTApril 1, 2013
Pros: uniforms, and computers provided by campus, and teachers are experience in the field
Cons: doesn't have a cafeteria
Great place to be for a great learning experience. Great staff. Classrooms are small so teachers will make sure all of the students understand the material before going to the next class topic, or lesson.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is awful & they lie
ma instructor (Former Employee), Chicopee, maOctober 19, 2012
Horrible place to work, back stabbing, jealous directors who would rather fire an employee then do things legally, if you have morals and values, NOT a place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no a fun play to work .. staff member are very cool
Assistant Director of Financial Aid (Current Employee), Woburn, MAOctober 3, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
the worse company to work for .... under paid and over work.... will not recommend any one to work for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New trade school offering extended education
Career Program Specialist (Former Employee), Westborough, MAJuly 5, 2012
Pros: selling what i believe in - education
Cons: extremly big turn-over position
Set appointments for students and guide them thru academic explorations. I learned the needs of others for long term financial stability in career making decisions. If a student was interesred in another career field I was more than happy to lead them to another co-worker to meet their needs. Cold calling was included to recruit students, getting hung – more... up on was hard but it was part of the job. The most enjoyable was career day, going to high schools and introducing Porter and Chester Institute. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great education and hands-on experience in a work setting
General IT Support (Former Employee), Chicopee, MAJune 5, 2012
Pros: certifications in various it fields, great at-work experience and real life scenarios
Cons: business software training
Porter and Chester gave me great informative and real-life experience working in the IT field. It has helped me establish a footprint into my industry i'm passionate about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
instructors dont care
Instructor (Former Employee), rocky hill ctApril 11, 2012
Cons: bad benefits
they will cut your hours without notice, auto supervisor is never around, students will get passed just so a bonus is given to the auto supervisor...

Jimbo – July 27, 2012

I wouldn't recommend it unless you want to be surrounded by children re-living their last year of high school. Also, the instructors have a bad habit of discussing personal issues about students and their work habits in front of the class when those student are not in class. Not cool.

AlexA – August 17, 2012

Not a good place to work or go to school