PORTFOLIO RECOVERY ASSOC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some fun but stressful
Debt Collector (Former Employee) –  Hampton, VAJanuary 3, 2018
Trying to get customers to pay old outstanding accounts, I learn hat that when a customer have a 5 or 10 year account they will give a lot of excuses on why they won't pay their account.
Pros
Training class
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic work place
Account Representative (Current Employee) –  North Richland Hills, TXOctober 30, 2017
I honestly like being at portfolio because of my coworkers and the environment is really upbeating. The coworkers and mangers brings life into the company. Its a really fun and sometimes funny place im glad i started working there.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work for and productive
Bilingual Account Manager (Former Employee) –  North Richland Hills, TXOctober 18, 2017
Made calls or got inbound calls, note everything that we spoke with the customers on the computer.

I learned how to work on a call center, and how to help people handle their collections.

Management was ok.

We were a lot of Hispanic employees, American and Africa American too.

The hardest part of my was hearing the difficulties people had to pay their bills.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the bonuses, and the people I met.
Pros
Bonus every month
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and productive
Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 16, 2017
there isn't much free time; its a fast paced job , must remain professional at all times . The manager are very helpful and always there when you need them, the music at the jobs keeps you motivated .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Account Executive debt collector (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 5, 2017
Enjoyed working there with the great people that employed. Enjoyed my monthly commission on top of my salary. Worked there for 13 years but decided to move to a different state.
Pros
Salary & Commission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 11, 2017
The work was productive and it was fun especially when someone got a good payment and it was broadcast and everyone applause, and at the end of the month you receive a bonus and meal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 18, 2017
I enjoyed working with different classes of people. A typical day at work was leading my team to be successful in the production for the company in collections and dispute entry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide opportunities as long as you provide the base
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNApril 4, 2017
Saturday and Sunday's rotate every week. Work 3 days and 3 nights or 4 days and 2 nights. 1 weekday and weekend shifts are only 4 hours. Get 40 hours per week. Have a set hourly rate plus commission bases compensation based on how much collect over set goal. Work in a team environment in cubicles.
Pros
Provide family oriented offsite activities and free lunches monthly
Cons
Goals get too high if not able to build your base
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too noisy. Too many changes
Account Manager collector (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 22, 2017
I loved this job and giving people opportunties to pay off their debt with options they could afford. However the work environment is loud and customers often thought we were having a party because it was so loud and people screaming and yelling. They changed schedules and bonus structure often and didn't value what we thought. If we didn't like it we could find the door.
Pros
Free lunch at end of month
Cons
Noise level too high
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast Pace
Disputes Specialist (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 14, 2017
Very fast pace in the Birmingham office. I have learned a lot about how credit disputes work, and how hard it can be to investigate the dispute. Most enjoyable part of the job is the team that I'm on. Hardest part is they are doing away with the Disputes Department and my team that has been my team for the past year, (we all started together and have become somewhat of a family) will be going our separate ways.
Pros
Free end of the month lunch
Cons
Benefits package could be a little better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work with lots of incentives
legal debt collector (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 28, 2017
When i first started working at PRA the job was so fun....we would have monthly awards. The environment was so live and festive, but remained professional. The hardest part of the job to me was to get someone that was not ready to pay their debt to change their mind.
Pros
free end of month lunch, monthly awards and bonuses
Cons
rules started changing everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is very unpredictable career.
Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Homewood, ALFebruary 22, 2017
I would recommend to others. Easy job to learn but could be better managed. The systems being used should be updated as well as a more professional work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a long term suggestion
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNFebruary 3, 2017
Compensation is not what it should be. Many rules and regulations from state and federal government that are always changing. Very high stress job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn over ratio
Debt Collector (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNJanuary 30, 2017
I feel this company has the worse turn over rate that any company could have they have no direction or ethical skills on how to treat an take care of there employee for long jevity...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere to work in.
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNJanuary 24, 2017
The job was difficult, but the atmosphere was what made the business great. They offered incentives for people who were ambitious. I benefited from,the incentives month after month.
Pros
Incentives
Cons
Difficult objections to overcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company always provided lunch.
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 22, 2017
a typical work days was a very busy day, making sure that all company producers are meet... making sure goals are meet also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALDecember 27, 2016
It's a job. Ok work environment, upper management can use a little more trying when it comes to how to treat other workers. Can make good money, minimum advancement opportunities.
Pros
Monthly lunches
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere is positive team environment
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 24, 2016
My experience with PRA has been a challenge you will learn the right way to handle situations with Collections and doing what's right...
Pros
Great way to earn bonus
Cons
Challenging environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure filled and unpredictable
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Hampton Roads, VAOctober 13, 2016
Many accounts are very old and many people have no desire to settle these accounts. The monetary goal increases every month. This creates pressure and puts job security at risk especially when few are willing settle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place with great break room
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAAugust 15, 2016
this is a great job the hardest part about the job is getting people on the phone to talk to them about debt they owe. great co workers and i also learned how to keep up with my own debt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PORTFOLIO RECOVERY ASSOC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7