Find companies:
Portfolio Recovery Associates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
136 reviews

Portfolio Recovery Associates Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Account Representative (Former Employee), Hampton, VAApril 12, 2014
Cons: poor management, poor communication, employee bias
Being that this company works as a collection agency it was the responsibility of the reps to get as much money from the customer as possible, this I did not agree with. I completely understood that the accounts that we had were very old and customers had not been paying on them; however, the method that management taught to retrieve the money from – more... the customers were very daunting and not professional at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation
Account Representative (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALApril 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches, bonus
Cons: shifts
Portfolio Recovery Associates has very good benefits and compensation plans, but the work life balance is horrible if you have small kids or a family you might as well give up your life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Account Representative (Former Employee), Newport News, VAApril 9, 2014
Free lunch at the end of every month. Not good job security and issues with code of ethics. Opportunity to make a lot of money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRA is a good overall company and I am thankful for the job
Account Representative (Current Employee), 700 beacon parkwayApril 8, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: qualifiers for bonuses and many violations that you can get fined for
I appreciate the monthly free lunches, annual banquet and
monthly contests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Debt Collector (Former Employee), Hampton, VAApril 8, 2014
• confer with customers by telephone or in person to provide information about products and services
• received and entered orders, cancel accounts
• obtain details of complaints,
• Keep records of customer interactions and transactions recorded details of inquiries, complaints, and comments, as well as actions taken.
• Check to ensure that appropriate – more... changes were made to resolve customers' problems, referred unresolved customer grievances to designated departments for further investigation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Account Representative (Former Employee), Birmingham,AlApril 5, 2014
Pros: bonus checks
Cons: unprofessional atmosphere
A typical day at Portfolio Recovery Associates is very stressful, In my experience I did not learn anything but to keep to myself and also keep quiet about any adversity I was faced with at the job. The hardest part about working at Portfolio Recovery Associates was dealing with unprofessional people who are suppose to be higher-ups. The most enjoyable – more... thing about this job is lunch! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRA IS THE WORST PLACE TO WORK
Account Representative (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMarch 25, 2014
THIS PLACE IS NOT FOR PEOPLE TO WORK IF YOU HAVE A FMAILY. WILL FIND ANY WAY TO FIRE PEOPLE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience Customer Service Rep that was "Too Customer Serivce"
Account Representative (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: one free lunch at the end of the month
Cons: other reps had the ability to take off payments the customer had already again with you on
My mamanger was always in my face yeling, screaming, talking loud that is I called her and used the tone, which, I was well mannered and respected, that hse wouldnt have paid me either. I dont agree. It's almost like if you weren't the teacher's pet I wouldn't get in either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It just wasn't for me
Account Representative (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: benefits & incentives
Cons: not having job security
PRA is a energetic place to work in.. managers know how to inspire their employees. You can make as much money as you want;however, resolving debt is not for everyone and it did not come easy to me. I struggled month after month trying to reach my goal, or to even reach past my goal, so I could have more money on my check. It was just not working my – more... manager was cool, she helped me out, groomed me as much as she could and so did other people on my team. Then, I realized looking at my manager she had passion for her job thats how she became the best at her job and that inspired me to follow my passion for fashion and finish college. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work but co-workers were very nice
Account Representative (Former Employee), Hutchinson, KSFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: decent pay and hours
Cons: stressful environment
Started work day with a group meeting then we would go to our cubicles and start making calls to our assigned accounts. Then after about an hour we would spend the rest of the day making cold calls to various potential customers. Co-workers were very nice but management was less then helpful at times. The hardest part of the job for me was the stress – more... involved. There was a lot of pressure on the employees to meet their goals. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I actually was able to negotiate settlement agreements with customers to help pay off their debt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I MADE GREAT FRIENDS AT THIS JOB BUT MANAGEMENT WASNT UP TO PAR
Account Representative (Former Employee), BIRMINGHAM,ALFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: great bonus checks
Cons: managment
I LEARNED HOW DIFFICULT IT WAS FOR THE DEBT COLLECTORS OUT THERE!! MANAGEMENT NEVER MADE YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE. I ALWAYS FELT LIKE MY JOB WAS ON THE LINE IF I MADE ONE SINGLE MISTAKE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talent Development is what I enjoy
TALENT DEVELOPMENT SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Hampton VirginiaFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: schedule, 8am-5pm monday through friday
Cons: balancing demands from individuals who do not train and dont understand the culture.
Objective is to successfully train new hires to ensure they are able to collect debt from customers by obeying the laws, policies, and procedures. In doing so, I also must keep track of employee hours and maintain classroom order. I am also responsible for administering corrective actions for lack of performance and attendance issues. The hardest part – more... of the job is balancing my job functions with the demands of operations. Facilitating is the most enjoyable part of my job. I enjoy training. I also enjoy meeting new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great environment at all
Operations Manager (Current Employee), norfolk, vaFebruary 17, 2014
worst place to work, the management staff is crooks and is only worried about firing reps for no reason. a lot of bs with this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and exciting profession
Auto Recovery Agent (Former Employee), San Jose, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: independent job
Cons: could be dangerous due to the nature of the job.
Vehicle location services. Find and recover Stolen and Repossessed vehicles for lenders. Knowledge of License Plate Recognition software. Covered all of Bay Area from San Jose to San Francisco, Richmond to Milpitas areas.

I learned that timing is everything.

Management was very trusting. They would leave it up to us to be responsible for the vehicle – more... and our job site.

Hardest part of the job was making sure that we were able to locate our vehicles.

Meeting our quota and knowing that we fulfilled our duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the environment
Account Representative (Former Employee), Hampton, VAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: the work environment
Cons: high stress
I called clients to collect on past due accounts. The part that made it fun was the team that I worked with as well as the teams on either side of the spine or bulkhead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collecting debt
Debt Collector (Current Employee), Hampton, VAJanuary 27, 2014
The hardest part about my job is try to collect monies from people who really don't have the ability to pay. I still give it a 100% so that I can meet my goal every month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Create your own business atmosphere
Collections Representative (Current Employee), Jackson, TNJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: free monthly lunches, very good insurance
I love having a bonus check based on my own personal production.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused and on the phone with debtor
Account Rep (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJanuary 23, 2014
On the phone with debtors to collect on their charged off debt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very strict and demanding job.
Account Representative (Collections) (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch once a month, prizes ad awrds monthly
Cons: strict on time every second counts
Typical work days consist of making 40-50 calls an hour on millions of accounts to gather information and collect debt. The things I learned were how to manage money and keep inventory. I also learned how to use effective ways of salesmanship along with customer service techniques. I’m the type of employee that gets along with everybody even management – more... on higher levels. The most challenging part about the job was simply getting the customer to pay on old debt. Some customers just think that everyone who collects debt are bad people so you must build rapport with them. The fun part about the job was to know that you’re helping a person lift the weight of debt off their shoulders, and just to interact with different types of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job to make some money at if you really want it
Account Manager (Current Employee), hampton vaJanuary 11, 2014
not a bad place to work however you will spend most of your time there because they way the schedules change is the worst part of the whole job

1 2 3 4 5

About Portfolio Recovery Associates

Portfolio Recovery Associates, Inc. is a full-service provider of outsourced receivables management and related services. The – Read more