Portland State University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity To Learn
Business Strategy Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 12, 2018
I was a business major at Portland State with a focus in Advertising. All the jobs I took were mandatory for several classes but they allowed us to deal with real life clients. I was unpaid but it was an amazing experience that allowed me to add to my resume.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 8, 2018
Teaching assistant for an ECE-411- Industry Design Processes. Class strength: 60+.
Responsibilities include handling students in designing real-world projects and grading homework.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to be a graduate student
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 3, 2018
Indeed is making me write a review about my time as a graduate student. Stupid robots will fall for anything. Obviously I wasnt paid well as a student teacher, hence the poor review.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Enough
Dental Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 18, 2017
Friendly staff, nothing particularly bad or good. There are a lot of things to remember, so it takes time to get good at the job. Pay is fair, work isn't too difficult once you have a hold on it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace with a wonderful boss
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 16, 2017
Work starts later in the morning, around 9-10am which was so great because I have a newborn son and it's hard to get out of the house early. My boss, Dr.Strongin, is incredibly kind, compassionate and flexible with scheduling. If things came up, he was always understanding and would let me come in at a different time or a different day. The workplace culture was fun, easy going but also serious because the work we were doing was no joke. I always looked forward to coming into work and more than willing to stay late to finish my work because I enjoyed it so much.
Cons
Far from my house
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Job
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 29, 2017
Working at PSU is pretty boring. I did clerical work for a department, and the tasks were never super engaging or stressful. I did like interacting and working with professors. The culture of the office was a bit funny, people aren't super self sufficient and often need help with simple tasks. But a lot of them have PhDs...
Pros
Good hours, kind employees
Cons
pretentious, not enough PTO
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thank you for taking my previous credits.
Clerical Work (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 20, 2017
I only wish that I could live closer to the university to take advantage of alumni activities. That would be fun. The cultural and educational activities sound good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and competetive team.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 31, 2017
I loved this internship. I got to work with great people and professors. I learned what it takes to create a project and implement resources to better advance the teams goal. I had a lot of resources to reach out to, which made it easier to adjust and solve problems rather quickly.
Pros
Hours worked great with school schedule, transportation, great staff
Cons
short project
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible scheduling for students and wonderful staff to learn from
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 25, 2017
As a research assistant I would help with the nitty gritty source finding, copying scanning filing etc. I learned a great deal about time management and prioritizing tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Graduate
Basketball Player (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 19, 2017
Weight lifting, Going to class, practicing going to study hall. I learned to take care of my business, determination and handwork will make everything ok. Great enviornment. Culture and workplace was positive and had to work hard. Hardest part was the early morning and long nights. Doing what i loved to do.
Pros
Free lunches, University Diploma
Cons
Workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and Fun
ISP- Program Assistant- INTL (Current Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 3, 2017
Id recommend the ISP program with PSU to anyone! Truly amazing experience!
Although the program is only a few short weeks, the experience with the students is really amazing!
Pros
Making lifetime friends
Cons
Temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Computer Lab Attendant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 30, 2017
Not a "real" job. Sat in a computer lab watching YouTube most of the time in exchange for a few bucks off tuition. Not a bad deal really, since college tuition in the USA is literally extortion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Astmosphere, Good people
Research Lab staff (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 28, 2017
Working at Portland state University offers a relaxed atmosphere in a professional environment with a staff who were all kind, knowledgeable, and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary seasonal employment
Resident Assistant (RA) (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 21, 2017
For what it was, working for PSU was great. Don't kid yourself: seasonal jobs aren't careers, but during the summer the job is one of the best season gigs available in the city.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK for a student I guess
Teacher Assistant/Grader (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 20, 2017
It's fine, not much expected as a student. It helps keeping up to date with knowledge. It was convenient because I could work on it anywhere anytime because it was online.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work
Director (Former Employee) –  Portland OregonSeptember 9, 2017
I wouldn't recommend Portland State University as a place to work. The management is poor and growth is reserved for a select few. Not an experience I would repeat.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 2, 2017
I was a mentor for a great group of college students. I enjoyed tackling new tasks and discussing with intellectual beings. I never felt like my job was a job. I was always learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid work for a college student.
Computer Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 19, 2017
My job at Portland State allowed me to earn money while attending classes. The hours were very late. but I learned how to help fellow students with computer issues.
Pros
Money in my pocket
Cons
Graveyard shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrators
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 13, 2017
Administrators are out of touch with managers, coordinators, students, staff and community. I learned about the importance of needing to be in a work environment where non-violent communication is a priority and training for top supervisors(administrators).
Pros
Great community, faculty, staff and students.
Cons
Administrators and unhealthy power dynamics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent contractor
Adjunct faculty (Former Employee) –  Ashland, ORAugust 2, 2017
Difficult to assess the institution given the position was a satellite skill providing educational opportunities for employed pt-time graduate students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Portland State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 127 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

Portland State University Reviews by Location