Portland VA Medical Center Employee Reviews in United States

Found 11 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like it here, need more hours part-time
CT RADIOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGIST (Current Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 20, 2015
No raise 5 years. Washington Politics.
Good system, otherwise.
Love the patients, and the staff I work with.
No raise 5 years. Washington Politics.
Room to learn other modalities.
Pros
Retirement plan
Cons
Raises few, and far between.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 hour shift at VA 5-5
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 12, 2015
Typical day at work is coming in at 0500am.....as a Certiftied IV Therapist, I draw blood for entire hospital and place IVs. There is always something new to learn and a lot of autonomy with the job. The hardest part is having to return time and time again for blood draw or IV placement; patients get very tired and sensitive to constant blood draws. I am a wife of a retired Veteran and my 4 sons have served in the Marines and Airforce. My job is to give back to those Veterans who have served our country and to keep our freedom, free. I have learned to be flexible, listen, be unhurried, and personable and professional within my workplace and towards my patients. As well as being a facilitator for their needs and concerns.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working at the VA. I've been at The VA for many years. I learn so much here.
LEAD MEDICAL SUPPORT ASSISTANT GS-7 (Current Employee) –  Portland VA Medical CenterDecember 28, 2014
I feel like I literally grew up here. I have many friends that I also consider family. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to say where I work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good ONe
Srterile Processing tech II (Former Employee) –  Sterile ProcessingOctober 14, 2014
Good place to work.. Learned alot. ANd the people there are very nice to work with and for.
Pros
free time offf
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Certified Pharmacy Technician -Part Time (Former Employee) –  oregonApril 3, 2014
this is a fun place to be. very fast paced. please here are nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working place
Clackamas County Community Health Nurse (Former Employee) –  CBOC EastMarch 29, 2014
Well organized
Excellent doctors
Pleasant co-workers
Working with the patients
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Portland VA tried to help the patients and Employees as much as possable.
Volunteer/Physical Therapy (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 28, 2013
The Portland VA always tried to give as much training to their new employees as was needed to do the best at their jobs. Management was very helpful and friendly. My co-worked was also friendly and very helpful.
Pros
free lunches, free healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to help deserving Veterans and make a Living
Human Resources Asst (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 24, 2013
The VA was a wonderful place to work not only do you get amazing benefits but you are also helping Veterans. I was not there very long do to transportation issues. I would work for the VA in a heart beat again if given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with wonderful veteran population
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  PVMCNovember 5, 2013
Worked on busy cardiac/telemetry floor treating acutely ill patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I have ever had!
Diagnostic Medical Sonographer/ Radiographer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 11, 2012
I loved working at the Portland VA. The best patients, the best staff, fair management and advancement options for those that deserved it. I only have good things to say about my experience at the Portland VA and left only to return to the area where I am from to be closer to family.
Pros
awesome staff, challenging and rewarding environment.
Cons
older equipment, which has since been replaced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Portland VA Medical Center reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2

Portland VA Medical Center Reviews by Location