Find companies:
Portneuf Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Portneuf Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Nursing assistant (Former Employee), pocatello idahoJune 5, 2014
I really enjoyed working at the hospital. I love taking care of people. It was a good place to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Peopls
Radiation Therapist Locum (Former Employee), Pocatello, IDMay 22, 2014
Great place to work. Wasn't permanent so don't kmow about benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but rewarding job...
Certified Nurse's Aide (Former Employee), Pocatello, IDDecember 23, 2013
Pros: furthering my health care knowledge while working alongside other professionals, modern equipment, helping others.
Cons: saying goodbye to friends, lower salaries
My days were often busy. I enjoyed being busy and would much rather stay busy all day rather than not. I enjoyed taking care of patients, as care giving is a very rewarding way of life. I typically saw people at their most vulnerable and treated folks with as much dignity and respect as is possible. I learned many medical procedures, team work and the – more... value of diligence in the workplace. My managers were very nice caring people who were very capable of giving information and direction when I needed it. The hardest part of the job was losing patients we had come to know as friends. The most enjoyable part of the job was an atmosphere of family, and furthering my health care knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work environment
SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee), Pocatello, IDNovember 11, 2013
Pros: you can get somebody work for you on sick days easily
Cons: sometimes you have to work beyong your scheduled hours
my co-workers where very warm and team work was our central virtue. My boss was caring and treated me with respect
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers. Not so good management
PACU, Same Day Surgery Full Time RN (Former Employee), Pocatello, IDOctober 1, 2013
I worked same day surgery/Pacu. Sure did enjoy working evening shift with my coworkers, although I felt we managed ourselves, which was okay... just makes things difficult when delegating tasks/responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
housekeeping (Current Employee), idahoAugust 28, 2013
Pros: pay for grave yard shift is good, get time & a half if you're called in on a day you're not scheduled to work
Cons: no heathcare for part time, some of the nurses are very unfriendly
I enjoyed working here when i first had first started, now it seems its the same old thing every night. When I do change areas some of the nurses are very unfriendly. Hardest part of my job is having to see all the ill & badly injured people coming thru especially the little ones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work area where I grew
Cardiac Cath lab Secretary/ I S Operator (Former Employee), Pocatello, IDJuly 27, 2013
Pros: learning opportunities
Cons: co worker drama and managements inability to be trusted at times
I worked for this facility for 28 years. started as temporary in the housekeeping department then moved into the surgical operating room department and then onto the cardiac department. with each transition, I learned more and more about the workings. along the way I attended numerous seminars pertaining to the duties I held at that time, such as floor – more... maintenances, computer skills, terminology, new system updates. It was a great learning and growing experience for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy place.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Pocatello, IDJuly 6, 2013
Pros: met some nice people.
Cons: unreasonable expectations. low job security.
Very unstable work environment. No permanent CEO or CNO. Frequent lay-offs and firings. Frequent low-census. Unreasonable expectations of staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and fast paced environment.
Student Practical Nurse 2013/ C.N.A 2009-2010 (Former Employee), Pocatello, IDJune 27, 2013
Pros: paid time and a half if you were called in short notice, working 3 days a week, having an opportunity to pick up more shifts and float to other floors
Cons: it's hard to gain a personable relationship with management, not a family oriented work environment, it appeared as if everything was about cost and not quality
A typical work day on the Surgical floor at Portneuf Medical Center included: morning vital signs and blood sugars, assisting patients with activities of daily living, assisting nurses with interventions such as insertion of NG tubes, foley catheters, ect. Passing and picking up food trays. Obtaining and documenting intakes and outputs, vital signs, – more... and other cares provided throughout the shift. I learned how to manage my time wisely so I could care for each patient and maintain my efficiency and complete expected or delegated tasks. The hardest part of my job was witnessing poor patient outcomes. However, the most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with and enjoying a diverse amount of patients, nurses, and physicians. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible floor to work.
CNA (Current Employee), Pocatell, IDApril 18, 2013
Terrible management. If your looking for a steady place to work this is NOT the place. Patient to staff ratios are outrageous and definitely a penny pinching company ( putting all patients in danger). Stay away from med/surg
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICER (Former Employee), pocatelloJanuary 22, 2013
Policies are fair.
like benefits and pay
lot of politics and didnt nesscerry agree with decisions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Pocatello, IDDecember 5, 2012
I got great experience in the types of surgeries. Great teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
Video Network Engineer - Information Technology (Former Employee), PocatelloAugust 23, 2012
Pros: decent atmosphere
Cons: sold out to outsourcing companies
Portneuf Medical center is a decent place to work if you can get hired as a Portneuf employee and not LHP.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
REGISTERED NURSE (Current Employee), pocatello, idJuly 16, 2012
Cons: poor pay, poor management
Not a good place to work. Horrible staffing ratios and for profit mentality.