PORTSMOUTH POLICE DEPARTMENT Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Records Clerk (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VASeptember 11, 2017
Fast Paced. Great People. Great Opportunity. I would recommend this to anyone who would like to work in an environment as such. Good luck to whoever is applying!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced always changing environment
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VASeptember 1, 2017
Fast paced ever changing environment. The benefits are excellent and the pay is getting better. The equipment is being addressed. The atmosphere is what you make it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to do policing
Lieutenant (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJune 8, 2017
The employees and diversity of the knowledge based shared amongst employees was excellent. Training opportunities and level of training was outstanding.
Pros
great employees
Cons
poor communication among various teams
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and productive.
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VA 23704May 15, 2017
Answer calls for service, do reports, go to court, enforce all traffic and criminal laws. Conduct investigations and surveillances of criminals and other related crimes.
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn a great deal of police work in a short amount of time.
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAFebruary 26, 2017
Officers work 12 hour shifts after completing their Academy and training program. This department is a good department to learn every aspect of police work in a condensed amount of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No day was the same
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAFebruary 17, 2017
It was an environment where I was constantly busy and always learning something new. No day seemed the same, which was a major plus. You become friends with great people who want to serve the better good for the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun job however could be extremely stressfull at time
Records Tech I / Emergency Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJanuary 12, 2017
Typical day would be assisting police officers with issuing equipment and also as a dispatcher you would be multitasking for the requests per officers. The team is great because they are doing the same as you.
Pros
Helping People
Cons
Breaks, very busy hard to take a break at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great department with great people.
Police Officer-Auxiliary (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJanuary 10, 2017
I serve as a volunteer police officer and subsequently sergeant for the auxiliary officers. I received the same training and opportunities as full time police officers. I am certified to the same standards as regular officers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sfbqbbcybcuy
fbbdbbbdd (Current Employee) –  foirnvononervMay 29, 2015
fsdjcnuvjnw WEJCNinIN JsdnVIb SDHBChsbdvifv JSDBHVSHBVISbv SJHBVsihdbvISDV ShbdvihsbvibSDI isdhbvabvkjfvhijnwifnqiufqifuqii hbrfiwbfibii fhfhvhfmdkidvkmed wefnfnviwfn sdvjnnvvknfvjnq dvnakjvnadfv
Pros
rvip
Cons
wfi
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Quartermaster (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJuly 8, 2014
I come to work and I am always busy. I have learned that life is precious.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAOctober 28, 2013
People being hurt and not getting attached to the situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Police Detective (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJuly 30, 2013
The Portsmouth Police Department is a great place for people who want to be police officers. Portsmouth offers several options of career choice as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overbearing Management, good co-workers
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAMay 27, 2013
Fun job/ career. Administration is not supportitive of the officers. Terrible environment to want to be in or grow with. Recommend another city to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced, always challenging, thought provoking.
Emergency Communications Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJanuary 15, 2012
If there was a way that I would've been guaranteed a day shift, I would've never resigned. I would recommend this job to anyone who loves the variety of no day ever being the same and pure adrenaline rushes on a consistent basis.
Pros
sense of purpose and helpfulness
Cons
mandatory overtime, understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PORTSMOUTH POLICE DEPARTMENT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8

PORTSMOUTH POLICE DEPARTMENT Reviews by Location