Find companies:
Post University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Post University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall culture
Military Field Representative/ Partnership Liaison (Current Employee), Waterbury, CTOctober 29, 2014
This is a great place to work, a true pioneer in education. The culture is open and the benefits are good, even family friendly. Management is very approachable and open to ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and serious environment.
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great hours, good compenstion, great people
I loved this occupation. Being able to be the first person people hear when they call the office. You have the ability to be the great first impression about the company. You get to make calls to prospective students which test how good you are at persuading individuals. I learned how to manage my time and to get as much calls in as possible. I learned – more... how to speak to people over the phone in a way th at they are wanting to listen and not want to just hang up.I learned how to properly send out mail. My coworkers were great as well as the management am, Always made sure that you were ok and was always there to answer any questions. I learned data entry into a computer. The most enjoyable part of the job was making phone calls to the soon to be students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful mission, excellent culture, smart people
Communications (Current Employee), ConnecticutSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: culture
Cons: so much to do everyday!
I have worked at Post University for more than five years, and it has been a wonderful experience. The collaborative culture makes going to work each day a joy. I also really appreciate the genuine focus on supporting students. In nearly every meeting, there is some discussion about what we're doing to ensure students have the support they need to progress – more... toward graduation. I would highly recommend Post as a place to work if you're looking to make a difference in the lives of others and in your own life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will Ruin Your Resume
Admissions Representative (Current Employee), Middlebury, CTJuly 16, 2014
Pros: the company picnic has watermalone and the veggie burgers contain little meat
Cons: you won't get another job in higher education nor respect on a daily basis
Every college and university in New England knows that Post University has questionable ethics, a "sales over student consideration" focus, and is not respected as work that translates well into another higher education field. Upper management is not honest with employees and freezing salaries and promotions after a very successful budget year is common. – more... It is also a negative environment for people who hope hard work will pay off. AD's (Assistant Directors) and the Director herself should think more about investing in employees' happiness rather than blatantly playing favorites, since we pay their salaries. How does a "university" value education so little that it permits managers with only high school diplomas to get promoted?
You will have a difficult time getting another job in higher education after working here or will need to restart your career unfortunately. I encourage you to reflect on this review if you decide to work here and make it through 6 months, you will see for yourself... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Post University Security Secretary
Security Secretary (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTJune 25, 2014
A typical day at work involved: filing documents, handing out guest passes, registering cars, data entry, answering phone calls, making copies of documents.

I learned from my job as a secretary at post university: how multitask, how to effectively communicate with customers, problem solving skills, working under pressure.

My- Co-workers were very – more... team oriented. We ensured to work in groups to come up with the best result for any task we may be handed.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with a lot of customers at once. While having to answer phone calls etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREED at its finest! HORRIBLE work environment!
Former OEI Employee (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTJune 13, 2014
Pros: zero!
Cons: all aspects
Post does not care about their students or shall i say customers or their employees unless your above the director level. They have continued to promote the VP of OEI from ground up which means this employee has no real world experience of actually doing their job. Any employee above director level uses the tyrant mentality and fear to control their – more... employees. Human resources is completely terrified of those employees and nothing will get resolved with human resources only brushed under the carpet. Following company policies to provide yourself with adequate time available for personal issues like deaths in the family or medical leave is a kin to disrespecting your position and thus your manager will hang it over your head. They hire admissions managers from call centers who care only about numbers and not about providing a good product. This "education" that students are being pushed into is only for the sole monetary gain of POST. Their "leads" come mostly from the south where there are many poor and under educated students from the no student left behind era of politics. Those students are bamboozled to sign up for this great life altering opportunity and the attraction of money from their student loans to pay for their computers and school supplies. They are not told however that this money is a loan from the government and that they need to pay it back. Students who do not have a computer or even better do not have ANY computer skills are walked through the admissions process and signed up for classes they clearly cannot attend or pass. The surprising thing here is that these are only some of the issues that i encountered here. Post is as bad or worse than UPhoenix and should be investigated for its awful practices not only by the department of education but also by the labor department. Heed my warnings do not work there or apply there if you value your soul or sanity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company atmosphere was friendly and enthusiastic
Personal Banker (Former Employee), Fishkill, NYJune 12, 2014
Pros: wonderful colleagues, growing company, opportunity
Cons: compensation could have been higher in light of the amount of work required
I was able to hone my customer service skills, the management was wonderful and allowed employees to organize their extensive workload in whichever way worked best for each individual. My colleagues were wonderful; I did not see any of the usual hallmarks of a bad atmosphere such as rampant gossip or tension between employees and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple and productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTJune 9, 2014
the job fixed around my college schedule and made it easy for me to stay focused.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work!!
Academic Advisor, Online Education Institute (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTMay 20, 2014
Pros: there are no prone
Cons: everything
I feel that the school isn't concerned about students. They merely care about the students' money by taking advantage of misinformed students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful workplace.
OEI (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTMay 11, 2014
Pros: pto. absolutely nothing else.
Cons: everything.
This university has the worst management I have ever seen. People are promoted without ever having formal training and do not know how to do their job. They receive those jobs by bad mouthing other individuals to get ahead. In addition, management does not fight for their employees. Upper levels of management get promotions and pay raises while the – more... people who do their jobs get nothing. Not only that, but managers don't know how to do their job. They ask their employees questions constantly because they can't handle the work. Aside from workplace issues, human resources is awful. They also do not know how to do their jobs. I have personally seen several issues get pushed aside or handled poorly because management didn't want to deal with the issues. This is the worst job I have ever had and believe they could get shut down if people spoke up. They are in violation of both health code and human resource violations dealing with race and gender. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was the Worst Job I ever had.
Financial Aid (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTMay 6, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: terrible place to work, management in oei
Working for Post was the worst experience of my life. Management in the Financial Aid department OEI was the worst. If they only knew how miserable everyone was there. The manager of my area made so many people cry, he was rude, and self center. The job was not bad at all, but just because he was there made everything 10times worse. He was dissrespectful, – more... and unprofessional. He would bad mouth talk others and never take responsiblity. One of his workers was continuously makeing mistake on students Financial aid award and he did not take that issue seriously, he would spend his days inside the directors office talking about non related work issues and not enough time helping the employees. POST was unfair .Their HR never was on your side, its whatever management says thats it. There is nobody to go to if you need help with conflicts at work because nobody would listen. Worse decision of my life . If a man like this was a candidate for a promotion , then you know something is wrong with their school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAKE POSITIVE REVIEWS!
Admissions Counselor (Current Employee), Waterbury, CTMay 5, 2014
I caught the Trainer and Graduate Director typing up fake reviews on here, so I'm pretty sure this has been going on a while now with other managers. That's completely ridiculous they have to LIE TO YOU in order to make you take a job here. If they had any shred of integrity they would recognize the problems employees are saying on here and fix them, – more... THEN let the real positive reviews roll in.

Just realize that if they are willing to lie to you to get you in here, imagine what lies they will abuse you with behind closed doors.
I BET THE NEXT REVIEWS WILL BE 4 OR 5 STARS just so they can try and cover up this review and the others that are genuine.
Welcome to Post! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized
Resident Life Assistant (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTApril 30, 2014
RD's did not do a good job at all being organized
Learned how to be a leader, interact with other, give moral support during times of stress
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone is sad
Maintenance (Current Employee), Middlebury, CTApril 28, 2014
Pros: reps leave supplies after being fired
Cons: admissions staff are sad all the time, people always getting fired
every night i come to clean and take out trash. the employees complain and apply for other jobs. the maintenance staff are happier than the call center people. the vents have mold in them but we can't report it or fix it not sure why.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a student at Post University
Student (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTApril 22, 2014
I never worked at Post University, I was a full time student (online)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collegial working environment.
Academic Program Manager, MSHSV Program (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTMarch 27, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule; ability to telecommute
Collegial working environment. Supportive colleagues. A typical day at work included teaching online courses; meeting with/mentoring associate faculty members; reviewing CVs; addressing students' academic issues. Additionally, serving on University committees provided opportunities to learn more about the academic policies and procedures.

The hardest – more... part of the job was the commute. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with friendly and supportive colleagues and staff. Teaching online courses to dedicated and committed students was always a highlight. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided excellent,learning,work ethic.
Student (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTMarch 20, 2014
In alll of my experinces I grew as a learner and employee.
The days at work were pleasant.
I learned great sales skills.
The management team was pro-active
The most enjoyable part is working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All sales no academics
Admissions Counselor (Current Employee), Waterbury, CTMarch 13, 2014
Pros: paid time off days, learning crm, tuition discount
Cons: high turnover, weak training, poor compensation, no parking, blatant favoritism
This is a complete and utter sales job that violates NEASC standards. Students are lied to and pushed through to start classes when they are unprepared/unqualified. There is a culture of fear of not hitting numbers and goals since students are just treated like a number on an excel sheet. It is great you have PTO time however, your manager will threaten – more... your job security if you use it. Hard work does not pay off - you have to be popular with a specific female manager to get ahead. Being a top performer, I thought I would receive an appropriate raise but executive management froze admissions counselors' salaries but then held a meeting explaining we were over budget and had exceeded expectations?? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at
Housekeeper/Custodian (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTJanuary 28, 2014
i got in every morning at 6am loaded up a cart with everything i thought i may need i had three buildings i took care of i when by each floor checking and cleaning bathroom showers hallways and offices on some days we would all gt together me and my co-workers and we did what ever project the manager had us doing for that day or that week the hardest – more... part was learning the big tools to strip floors and buff the floors but at the end of it all i learned how to do it and the best part was working with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Military Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the job
Cons: leaving
speaking with military and families about degree decisions...
co workers nice

hardest part, sitting for long periods

About Post University

At Post University, our employees are advocates for people who have chosen to improve their lives through education. We are champions – Read more