Find companies:
Pottery Barn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
78 reviews

Pottery Barn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very knowledge intensive, but a great place to hone one's sales and management skills
Assistant Store Manager/ Merchandising Manager (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great learning and training opportunities
Cons: poor internal promotion and recognition of outstanding employees
A typical day starts very early and usually doesn't end until the tasks of the day are completed. I managed a varying group of exceptional individuals from diverse backgrounds. Each member of my team is crucial to the overall function of store operations and sales success. What I most enjoy in my job function, other than the people I get to work with, – more... is the sense of pride and accomplishment when a major obstacle is overcome or when an associate I have been coaching and training can function more independently in their role. I feel that I am most making an impact when I can help others overcome areas of opportunities and when I can resolve complicated service issues for our guests. Unfortunately there is a lack of reward or compensation for dedication and hard work within this company. I have seen far too many very eligible promotion candidates leave the company due to frustrations stemming from lack of recognition and in many cases overlooked for promotions within the company. If there is one thing I could change, I would like to see Pottery Barn invest more in their existing workforce and push for more promotions from within their employee pool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Retail
Stocking Coordinator / Shipping & Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Troy, MIMarch 13, 2014
Typical retail. The one good thing are the people you work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Part Time
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: great discounts, flexible hours, enjoyable staff
Cons: management, break time
All together, Pottery Barn is a wonderful place to work part time or seasonal. I was there for roughly 3 months. The management could use a little tweaking, but like I said, just for a short amount of time is good. I worked during the winter holidays and it was so busy I couldn't even catch a break! The money isn't the best, but it's just some quick – more... pay for the holidays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail
Design Specialist (Current Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 4, 2014
Provide customers with personal interior design assistance.
Selected by management to support a new implemented design program.
Create floor plan designs for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable
Sales (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIFebruary 27, 2014
it was an enjoyable experience working with the rest of the the employees there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, enjoyable staff, enjoyable atmosphere
Shipping and Receiving Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: great discounts, nice merchandise, family atmosphere
Cons: heavy lifting
Typical day started with an energetic staff meeting to discuss the daily planning for the days business. Once doors opened for business, we assisted customers to the fullest of our capabilities. I learned the importance of being detailed, and the importance of household coordination, and being attentive to customer needs. Management was very knowlegable, – more... and very helpful in assisting our team. Co-workers were friendly, and cheerful, and eager to work each day. The hardest part of the job was adjusting to the different customers, figuring out their different tastes. The most enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction of knowing you have pleased the customer and helped them to purchase merchandise they are going to enjoy for yars to come. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-life balance was a struggle
Visual Manager Pottery Barn (Former Employee), Madison, WIFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: staff positive and energetic very creative and fun
Cons: work life balance
Being in retail, the nature of the beast is to work nights, weekends and holidays. But with that said, there seemed to be an uneven amount of days that some staff would work, and the amount of nights, weekends and holidays others would work.

The life work balance just wasn't there. There were many times I gave up being at home with my family on weekends – more... and holidays, which now that my kids are grown and gone, I truly regret. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but just a part time position
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules, great team of associates
Cons: benefits, compensation, motivation
I enjoy the flexibility that this job gives me with school and home life. I work closely with the General Manager on a daily bases to ensure that our store looks its possible best to help generate sales in any and every department throughout the store. Together with my prior work experience and knowledge, my managers feel comfortable knowing I can make – more... decisions and get things done without constant supervision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee first culture
Sales Associate/Stock Associate (Current Employee), Monterey, CA/ Kansas City, MOJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: positive culture and work environment
Cons: tasks can get repetetive if not switched up occasionally
Pottery Barn is a company that grows and succeeds based on the performance of its employees. Having worked at multiple locations I can positively say that management is always open to new methods for everyday tasks and is always attentive to the needs of its employees. Positive reinforcement is a given.

Pottery Barn creates a family like community, – more... where the employees support each other when needed. If I have an overwhelming day, there is always someone willing to jump in and help. If I have a slow day or extra help is needed, I will go where I'm needed or work extra hours when needed.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the environment in which we work. There is minimal conflict and always friendly help or advice. We work together to make sure each department reaches its goals.

What I have learned at this job is that I am able to manage multiple tasks all at once and also learn and perform the tasks done by my managers if need be. I constantly strive for more responsibility and will take on anything asked of me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs I have ever had.
Assistant Retail Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: everything
Good people. Beautiful store. Good company to work for. Great benefits. Like I said the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with boxes
Customer service (Former Employee), Boston, MADecember 4, 2013
Pros: experience, opportunities they gave me.
Cons: mark downs, heavy boxes, and the hot busy basement.
I was usually alone in the basement unpacking boxes and organizing the shelves, except for the days they ad me help the cashiers when they were short staffed. I gained a lot of organizational skills from this job, and I learned how to check out the customers. The co-workers were all very nice, and fun to be around. The hardest part of the job was carrying – more... the heavy boxes, mark downs and running around looking for items when we were very busy. The best part of the job was having the opportunity to work alone and in groups because it is a different experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stylish and Fun place to work
Merchandiser (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PANovember 19, 2013
The Lord & Taylor team has a passion for giving our guest great style.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this job for the most part.
STOCK LEAD SHIPPER / RECEIVER (Former Employee), Monterey, CA.November 7, 2013
Pros: co-workers, learned a lot, great sales training, the ability to go to higher volume stores and help out during peak seasons.
Cons: pay was low, you'd sometimes work yourself close to death, not the best job for advancement.
As a stock associate your typical day is taking in and processing the truck while assisting sales associates with stock-checks. I learned how to utilize little room during heavy times of inventory and how to ship/receive as well as making physical inventory boxes for offsite stockrooms. Management here was swapped out a LOT. The co-workers here were – more... always amazing. They always hired the nicest people. Hardest part of the job was having stock members call out and taking in trucks / processing / doing stock-checks solo. The most enjoyable part was seeing the sales floor after a big floor set or managing to organize the stockroom during the holidays in a way that can hold all current and incoming merchandise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive work environment
General Manager (Current Employee), Westport, CTOctober 14, 2013
Pros: friendly work environment
Pottery Barn is a company that has a People First Approach. They are committed to a high level of customer satisfaction and experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLOctober 8, 2013
Pros: discount is good
Cons: everything else
Under staffed. Employees overworked. out of date systems. GM does not run the store efficiently. The schedule is everything in a store. Its not something that can be thrown together last minute and wish for the best. our weakest people scheduled on our busiest days is ridiculous. Company values are not great. company is focused on profit and not employees. – more... The Associate opinion survey is scary, but telling at how wrong Pottery Barn has it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative in Skills built for other companies
Design Studio Coordinator (Former Employee), Dallas,TXOctober 1, 2013
It was a great place to work and learn. Was multi trained. I learned not only retail skills but I also learned clerical and customer service skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pottery-Barn
Shipping/Receiving and inventory specialist (Current Employee), Cheektowaga, NYSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: workers and customers are great
Cons: they don't pay that great
Company is ok to work for if you are not looking for advancement or security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
sale & stock associate (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 9, 2013
i enjoyed working here. the people was amazing and kind. i enjoyed coming to work everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive co-workers.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 29, 2013
Pros: very positive management
Cons: no benefits
New home interior furniture and accessories arriving everyday.
Learned how to assemble furniture, assisted customers with window treatments, also learned inventory. Helped with merchandise displays and inventory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice about getting a job there
Sales person (Current Employee), ChicagoAugust 7, 2013
Pros: 40% off discount
Cons: poor salary, no breaks, terrible hours and no set schedule
I have worked for PB for a few months now and find it very unorganized. There are too many assistant managers and not many part time employees. You never know what is going on from one shift to the next.
The training is next to nothing, they show you how to use the register but then throw you to the wolves and when you call for help a manager (s) take – more... forever to help because they are on the floor selling.
I have worked several shifts where all the sales people are busy ringing and the phone is ringing off the hook.

They don't treat the employees well at all and as a matter of fact you feel totally used.

This really should be a job for college kids. I am a stay at home mom and find the place a joke to work for. I am only staying for the discount.

They usually only have 3 people working and you can't even get a break to use the washroom. They want you to push customers to open up a cc and keep demanding it every shift. You are also pressured into selling at least $500/shift. It is so annoying when they keep pressuring you to do this especially the cc has no benefit to you or the customer.

The shift are horrible too: ie: 2-7, 3-8 1-5, 4-10, 3-9 By the way the store closes at 9pm /weekdays and you cannot leave until the manager closes all7 registers. PB does not allow them to close any registers early. I guess they like to pay people to sit around while the store manager closes. Totally contradicts the idea that they have to cut people every night due to overpaying employees.

I am shocked this store has not gone under yet. Everything is made in Indonesia or China and you pay a fortune for it!! – less

1 2 3 4

About Pottery Barn

Pottery Barn doesn't sell pottery per se, but it does sell furniture on which pottery can be displayed. The retailer sells casual – Read more

Pottery Barn Photos