Find companies:
Poway Unified School District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Poway Unified School District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Water Polo Coach
Westview High School Junior Varsity Coach (Former Employee), Poway, CaSeptember 2, 2014
A great opportunity to watch aspiring young men grow up and achieve their dreams in school and in water polo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best school district- anywhere!
TEACHER (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 16, 2014
I loved teaching in PUSD. Excellent professional development, respectable administration, professional staff and colleagues. Oh, how I miss it so....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Food Service I (Former Employee), Poway, CAApril 16, 2014
Hardest thing was washing the pot's and pans, Lunch Ladies Rock and the management as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent school district
Substitute teacher/instructional assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: staff and administration
Cons: prefer secondary school age children over elementary aged
I never would have left my position with Poway USD if I didn't have to relocate to CO to provide care for my aging parents. If I were to return to CA, I would reapply to work for this district. There was nothing about any of the positions I held that I didn't enjoy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff is very warm and supportive at Del Norte High
Social Studies Teacher (Current Employee), San Diego, CANovember 25, 2013
A typical day would be teaching four classes a day because we are on a Trimester system the students have five classes a day. School begins at 8:10am and ends at 3:32pm. The students are good kids and are eager to learn most of the time. I have learned how important collaboration and teamwork is while working in the district. I have also learned how – more... great it is to be working with teachers that truly care about student learning. The administration works hard to support the staff and the students. I feel comfortable working under them. My co-workers are great to work with. We all work hard to support our students and each other. I enjoy going to work everyday. The hardest part about the job is keeping my students challenged because most of them are self-motivated and come from homes where mom and dad are professionals. The most enjoyable part would be working with the students and seeing them light up when they understand and make the connection with what we are working on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special education instructional aide, substitute yard supervisor
Noon Duty, Special Education Instructional Aide (Former Employee), Poway, CASeptember 18, 2013
worked as a1:1 special education instructional aide and would substitute when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at Black Mountain Middle School was a valuable learning experience
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Poway, CASeptember 15, 2013
Pros: valuable professional experience
Cons: the challenges of managing and modifing the classroom was very stressful
I came into the Special Day Classroom as a substitute teacher. The students were out of control behaviorally and needed structure and behavior modification. The challenge was a valuable learning experience for me and served me in later teaching situations.
The staff and administrators were very helpful and supportive. Especially knowing the challenge – more... these students presented. Controlling behaviors and meeting the individual educational needs of students was the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part was accomplishing my goals of managing the classroom and having success with meeting needs of the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Resource Assistance II
Computer Resource Assistant II (Former Employee), Poway Unified School DistrictSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: creative, fun, great teachers
Cons: not full time, no benfits
This was first computer job in the school district. I was in charge of my own computer lab. I love it ! I got be creative and I got to help teachers and students using computer as a learn tool. I mainly help teach with their lesson plans on how to relate their lesson plans to the computer lab. I also maintain the computers in the lab. Everyone more – more... inspect the computers and make sure they are working. I found a problem either hardware or software I would fix it myself or report it to have the computer serviced. Only about this job I didn't like, it was not full time. Only allowed to work 20 hours a week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A painters assitaint
Painters assitant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 20, 2013
Pros: a great place to work
Cons: wish it could have been longer
A top ten school district in the country was an honor to work for coming out the Military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provides job security and an excellent work experience
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Poway, CAJanuary 26, 2013
I enjoy working with this school district because it offers a variety of positive work experiences with friendly co-workers, administrators and managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very open and friendly staff
Community Lecturer/Instructor (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 30, 2012
If you are interested in teaching a class, talk to them first!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met some great people
Office Assistant Bilingual (Former Employee), Poway, CASeptember 30, 2012
Cons: closed minded principal
Fast pace environment, enjoyed interacting with the children and getting to know the families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the children and what I learned from them
Extended Student Services (ESS) Program Aide (Former Employee), Poway, CASeptember 25, 2012
Overall, the environment was great because of the partners I worked with, however working with other classrooms with teachers I didn't gain much rapport with caused situations uncomfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Associate Superintendent (Former Employee), Poway, CAAugust 10, 2012
Poway Unified School District is one the most outstanding districts in the nation. I was employeed in the district (1988-92). The staff was talented because they seeked personal and professional development to improve teaching and learning. The administration provided opportunities for growth and incentives (TIPS - Teacher Improvement Plans, financed – more... by the district for individual teachers to implant innovative change) for excellence. Teachers were rewarded with perks for accomplishments. The administration engaged staff in a values driven strategic plan to provide meaningful change and accountability. The business community supported schools with partnerships and with expertise. Teachers and staff were valued for their professional contributions. A culture of excellence created a work environment and community support that allowed all learners to be highly successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a great place to work!
Substitute Clerical Library Assistant (Current Employee), Rancho Bernardo, CaJuly 1, 2012
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: not enough hours and poor job security
A typical day would be coming in early before school starts, making sure the circulation desk is ready, stocked with supplies, printing book holds/reserves for students, checking classroom visiting schedules, etc... Manning circulation desk, checking in/out books to students and teachers. Placing holds on books, looking up books in the library database – more... system. Shelving books, putting new covers on books, and processing magazines. My co-workers are great and are easy to get along with, we all have a good rapport. The hardest part of the job for me would be watching over the students at lunch. I don't really like being a babysitter to high school students. Luckily, most are well behaved. I love helping students find the books they need and being part of the learning process of an ever-changing and growing library. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
AVID Tutor (Current Employee), Poway, CAApril 16, 2012
Love working with coworkers to help students achieve their dreams of attending a four year university straight out of high school.

About Poway Unified School District

"As a learning organization, Poway Unified School District strives to be an organization in which people at all levels are – Read more