Find companies:
Powell Electric
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Powell Electric Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Expeditor (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 1, 2013
I arrive at 6:15 am.
Run daily reports.
Attend 6:45 meeting and use those notes to plan out the rest of the day.
Talk to leads and managment about meterial and order, find or remake/scrap material.
Review my shortage report and contact buyers by phone, email or face to face visits.
Follow up on the status of ordered material for that day.
Release and – more... schdule projects in Oracel and Excel.
Order stock manufacturing materials from inventory control.
Run my stock issueing program.
Time to go home 5:00 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Assembly Line Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 9, 2013
Very nice cool tempo job. Nice friendly employers and employees great job to have and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you're handy with tools.
Assembler (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 28, 2013
Pros: very quiet
Cons: short breaks
Come in get an assigned toolbox and find parts to a job number we"re working on. Assemble the unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great Co. to work for, good owner and management.
Electrician (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCMay 9, 2013
Pros: fair pay and some over time + benifits
Cons: not really
This is a company with great managing skill and very qualified electricians. People were great to work for. Steady work is great!
co workers were fun to work with. Every electrician digs a ditch once in a while.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for more pay and benefits
PCR Assembler (Current Employee), Houston, TexasMarch 31, 2013
Another day at the job. It is a job that pays the bills. I just wished I had room for advancement and benfits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great successful company
Admin (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 4, 2013
great company. all about business but can achieve success easily there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at
Production Worker/assembler (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: great benifits
Cons: people there will do anything to get you fired
Employee assists , Welders, Material Handlers, and Leadpersons Painters, Machine Operatorsin performance of their work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start, Hours, and Pay
Medium Voltage Assembly (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: long break and lunch was cooked on site.
Cons: worked on sunday
This was a good job in my opinion. Nice People, good pay, and excellent hours. My managers name was Danny Sturma. He was a good guy. Never had to get on me about anything. The hardest part of the job was probably waking up at 3 a.m. My co-workers we nice people also. I would have stayed, but I left the city due to damage to my apartment after Hurricane – more... Ike. I'm from Memphis, TN. This is my first time back in the City since Hurricane Ike. So, I would be greatly appreciated if I was hired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn conduit
Electrician/Conduit (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: good place to learn, benefits are great
Cons: pay not good, brakes are short, hours are not the greatest
build power control rooms
running conduit
pull wire
wire mcc and switch gears
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Wireperson (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 21, 2012
I learned a lot about how to install wires into breaker boxes. Co-workers were very helpful and i mostly enjoyed getting the work done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and hard worker
Assembly (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 26, 2012
3 years of previous experience in assembly.solderingwires,crimping,electrical parts,and cable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to move up
Spot welder and mig welder (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 23, 2012
Pros: able to learn and move up
Cons: takes up your day and life
A typical day at work is always busy here, we come in and from right when we come in you start working and do not stop until break or lunch or when its time to go. I learned how to mig weld and spot weld from this job and how to read weld prints. The hardest part of the job is just putting up with slack that we or i would have to pick up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun to work, with good benefits.
Crew leader/ Assembler/ Busman (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 7, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: pay rate
Powell is a good compaby to work ofr, although the pay is very low, it offer very good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, just needed a few more good people to complete the work.
Electrical Foreman (Former Employee), Anderson, SCMay 1, 2012
Pros: great atmosphere and nice plant to work in.
Cons: i had to work through lunch several times, and didn't have insurance.
The hardest part of my job was having to go behind other people and do the job they were paid to do. I learned a lot from my boss. He taught me how do things i already knew how to do, but differently and more efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for first time in warehouse
Medium Voltage Worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 12, 2012
Pros: good lunches, great benefits
Cons: not enough outside personal time
A typical day was always busy and business as usual,I learned new things about tools,harnesses,and steel doors with confusing wiring.Management was always understandind especially when it came to personal things,also my co-workers were helpful in my advancement.The hardest part was moving the big steel doors outside and the most enjoyable part was conversing – more... and working wiht my co-workers. – less