Power Design, Inc. Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 29 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weird
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLJuly 22, 2016
Power Design was just a really weird experience. From the pop music playing overhead to the people to the strange "plays" the owner has you putting on for him it's all just incredibly weird. They also are more proud of their building than the work that is done. They are constantly giving tours of the building. It's a nice building and all but it's not a museum or a contemporary architectural marvel.
Pros
None that you can't get at any other company
Cons
Pay, weird culture, co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team of racial profilers
Foreman Electrician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 6, 2016
Power design management, San Antonio is full of smile in your face, back stabbing, racial profiling individuals trying to make a name for themselves and putting down all of there employees. Never had such a bad experience in my 18 years of electrical service. These guys will hire anyone and call them a superintendent just to make there contractor happy. I was employed for 6 months and all i seen was fighting among VP, supers, contractors, and alot of hiring and firing of employees. one Super said his job description was to order material and make sure his coffee stayed warm, meanwhile it was the foreman's duty to figure everything else out for themselves, im just disgusted how such a great company is being railroaded by these individuals in san antonio and the owner is allow this to happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is ok overall. IT Department is a mess
IT Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLJune 28, 2016
IT department lacked direction and organization. There are constant issues that cause outages and customer frustration which could be fixed by management easily but are not.
Pros
Good company facility
Cons
Inexperienced IT Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work if you fit the click
Executive Assistant (Contract) (Former Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLApril 1, 2016
Unstable and high turnover, will get rid of someone in a heartbeat to bring in a family member or friend. ruthless business tactics
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generous company but poor labor and management style.
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TexasSeptember 1, 2015
Very fast paced with poor labor and management support. Purchase of material and management of payroll was very complicated. Company policy is to micromanage project, not giving employees much freedom to construct project with one's own ideas. They do try and give employees the latest technology to make job easier, and also seem to be generous in compensation and bonuses/gifts for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience/hard-work
Mechanical Electrician (Independent Worker) (Former Employee) –  Delray Beach, FLJuly 23, 2015
Always busy doing something.
How to work with my hands and how to wire.
Management was laid back but also strict.
Co-workers were always very helpful.
Hardest part was going back and fixing mistakes when the building was almost complete.
Enjoyable part was all the new things i learned because everyday i was learning something new about the job and also what i can do.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave Ship
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  FLSeptember 3, 2015
The typical day in the field is only productive when the CEO is in town. Any other time it is a blame game from the office to the Super. I worked there for 3 years and never had a raise.
Pros
OK insurance
Cons
This company dose not value its employees
Was this review helpful?Yes29No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experiencing severe growing pains in ATL Branch
"Inventory Control Specialist" (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 10, 2015
Old employees afraid of growth and new ideas across the board from what I see. The GM is awesome but needs to allow the team to do their jobs without micro managing. There's a great deal that has to be done here to make this company a true force in the business and changing some long time faces is unfortunately going to have to take place.
Pros
Company is truly family friendly
Cons
A few bad apples tainting the bunch
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful and productive place to work.
Superintendent of Electrical Construction (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 31, 2015
Teamwork is the name of the game at Power Design. This ethic makes PDI a top contractor, nationwide. This ethic also is the reason that most PDI employees are successful in a field of work where success does not come easy.
Pros
Respect for all employees at all levels.
Cons
Uses subcontractors for all labor.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not approve of the working structure of the company.
Low Voltage Foreman (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLJune 15, 2015
Supposedly manage the sub contractor to install the designated work. When the sub contractor did not show, debated on which work to be done or did not send the same personnel back daily. We had to do the work.
Cons
New constuction, different personnel to supervise daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much work outsourced to Sub Contractors
Project Superintendent (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAApril 14, 2015
Team working environment.
Great learning center in house.
Demanding work schedule.

Large Amount of Work on books. Just to much outsourced to subcontractors.
Pros
Lots of Wrok - Good place to Wrok!
Cons
Work outsourced, instead of done by labor in house.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Power Design review
Operations (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLJanuary 8, 2015
Great people, hard workers. Fun events. Management has unrealistic expectations and senior management is not always aware of what is going on in their own departments. When I accepted the position I didn't know turn-over was so high. That was a red flag I wish I had known.
Pros
fun work environment
Cons
communication, turn-over
Was this review helpful?Yes33No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new business
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Davie, FLJanuary 23, 2014
i would normally arrive at 8-8:30 am and then we would get all the supplies together and make our way to the yacht we were cleaning. i learned to wax and wash a boat in or out of the water. the management was cool and passionate. the co workers i really didnt get to know cause they change around depending on location. the hardest part may have been competing with the deadlines while trying to learn different techniques on the fly. but that was also the fun part, just learning something new.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not well Structured for input from sites.
Low voltage foreman (Former Employee) –  NE Washington, DCMarch 22, 2012
All engineering is done in Florida, without a correct understanding of the site requirements or design of the equipment.

My job description did not even remotely match the requirements that I was expected to fill. I was hired to over see a team. My actual duties were to pull cables with one helper.
Pros
good pay and benifits
Cons
no support from the management
Was this review helpful?Yes22No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company,but lack of work in TN.
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 7, 2014
Everyday was a great day at work,my co-workers were friendly and cooperative,my boss was fair and clear with his instructions,loved every bit of the job and its work,and it helped test my capabilities in the electric field.Although only con was they had lack of work in TN.
Pros
good company, good co-workers, great boss, amazing jobs.
Cons
no work in tn
Was this review helpful?Yes22No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job is the manpower.
ELECTRICAL FOREMAN/ELECTRICAL ASST. SUPERINTENDENT (Former Employee) –  HOUSTON TEXASAugust 10, 2013
The hardest part of the job is to find qualified people who speak english. Most of these jobs deal with sub-contractors who hire about anyone. You have to closely monitor your job site. Once you learn about who are working for you it becomes easy.
Pros
insurance, salary
Cons
having to work overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes31No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very energetic and outgoing atmosphere
Desktop Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLMarch 6, 2015
Typical work week includes at least one free lunch and frequent door prizes for employees. They work really hard at keeping an upbeat and motivated staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLFebruary 9, 2015
This was a company that cared about its employees and customers. They treated their employees like they were part of their family.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They try to sell you with the Florida office but it is nothing like that once you leave
superintendent (Former Employee) –  texasJune 3, 2014
No support what so ever and the workers you do get they don't speak English very bad experience for me
Pros
free trip to florida
Cons
if you work in texas you are on your on
Was this review helpful?Yes34No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment
Subcontract Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLOctober 26, 2012
In this company the sky is the limit. Promotion is widely available and pay compensation is great.
Pros
great enviroment to expand your professional skills
Cons
personally found no issues to dislike this company
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Power Design, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.0