POWER Engineers Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supportive place to work.
Area Lead IV (Former Employee) –  Hailey, IDJune 24, 2017
I had a great working relationship with all the staff that I needed to accomplish the tasks needed to complete all structural designs required of my department.
Pros
Great inside interface support. Relaxed environment, great people to work with.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at POWER
Staff Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, COApril 23, 2017
POWER Engineers has a great culture and wonderful people. Good pay and great benefits. The culture in POWER is a balance of working hard and recognizes people still have a life outside of work.
Pros
Wonderful people, fun work, autonomy
Cons
Not a good fit for the unambitous or those who aren't self directed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasn't a bad place to work very relaxed
Cad Operator (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDApril 12, 2017
My only complaint was that i hired on as a Temp and stayed as a temp for the whole time i was there and had no chance of moving forward. that seems to be the norm for Power Engineers they only hire the ones they want everyone else is a Temp employee.
which means you do everything that a full time employee does with the same responsibilities. you just don't get any Benefits AKA Vacation, PTO, Insurance...
but if you are looking for a fun place to work if you like being a temp this is the place for you.
Pros
Beverage Fridays :) laid back workplace
Cons
no benefits provided to temp employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place, Beer provided on Fridays after work.
Substation Designer - Power Group - Physicals (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SC 29707December 9, 2016
Very quite place. When I started they had a Substation Engineer, but left for another position. Project manager didn't provide the help when needed, acted like he couldn't be bothered. Little communication on jobs.
Pros
Nothing that stands out
Cons
Health care & just overall atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fractured organization with little support.
Packaging Engineering Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDDecember 8, 2016
Very Jumpy organization. Too spread out to adequately evaluate the employees. There is a pretense of open and honest dialogue but most of the employees are terrified of losing their jobs. Not a good environment to work in. This leads to paranoia and backbiting. Pay is good, but the project management team has too much clout. To reiterate... the lack of a centralized work place contributes to a very poor culture when it comes to morale. Be prepared for death by WebEx. What is required in this organization is that you come in fully functional in your position. Do not expect for there to be much of a formal onboarding process.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Too spead out by design
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed work environment
Project Controls Specialist (Current Employee) –  Oradell, NJMay 23, 2016
Strong company that is rapidly growing. Management tries to define career paths for younger staff members. Everyone works hard and as a team to meet client needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated and driven team.
Engineer I at (Former Employee) –  Meridian, IDSeptember 24, 2015
I enjoyed working here. It was my first job after graduating and they were very accommodating to me and all the questions I had.
Pros
Free beverages on Fridays
Cons
Lack of team vision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
CWI/CWE QA TECHNICIAN, (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 2, 2015
good place to work and willing to train employees in any thing that you want to learn. very chill place to work.no i dont want to this is enough
Pros
fun
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, flexible working conditions, decent pay
Electrical Studies Engineer (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJune 18, 2015
POWER engineers is a consulting company that bills its clients hourly. Because of this structure, most employees get paid for the number of hours the work (not salaried). It's a liberating environment to work in because if the project is meeting its schedule and budget, management isn't overly concerned with exactly what hours you work, whether you listen to headphones, etc. Productivity is evaluated objectively based on the number of hours you bill to accomplish a task, not based on your boss's interpretation of how long you spend at the water cooler.
Pros
Free beer on Fridays (no joke), relaxed dress code, great learning environment.
Cons
Pay isn't fantastic, project deadlines are very serious and can be stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superior Quality
Civil Engineer III/Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 14, 2015
Great place to work. Good management with proper training. PAy is decent, but work environment is second to none.
Pros
training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gained experience
Drafter (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, MOOctober 23, 2014
Assists in troubleshoot emergencies, potential problems and issues, and organize and supervise resolution.
Assisted in preparing and review reports for electrical systems from a design, operation and maintenance perspective including identification of items requiring remedial action and estimated repair costs.
Additional growth responsibilities as assigned
Worked closely with Amren UE and Pecco clients and vendors to ensure on time, according to specifications, within budget implementation of projects.
Provided general CAD support as necessary to incorporate redline changes.
Updated wiring schematics & electrical substation for Ameren UE & Pecco.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor for Hire
CONTRACT OSP PLANNER (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 18, 2014
This company hires contractors and have no regard for the people they hire. They have grown so large that everyone is only a new source of income for Power. No Benefits, Pay gets lower every year and the expectations for productivity are unrealistic
Pros
Better money than private sector still
Cons
You have to put up with a lot of abuse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work... don't plan on a life career
owners Representative (Current Employee) –  Kansas, OKJune 30, 2014
recent upper management and internal conflicts between them has deteriorated with workplace... went from great to ok/good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm telecommuting. Met my boss once.
GIS Technician (Current Employee) –  Hailey, IDJune 5, 2014
I'm a contractor, the pay isn't bad. I'm working on the GIS database I helped build years ago. They pay on time, and seem to have good IT support. I can only work 20-30 hrs. weekly which is not adequate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for the pay
OSP Facility Assigner (Engineer Assistant) (Current Employee) –  Anoka MNOctober 15, 2013
As a Contractor working at Century Link am able to set own schedule as long as put in 40 hrs a week and also get the job done.
Unfortunately is only a temporary job and one without benefits although for the work it is good.
Pros
Set own schedule
Cons
temporary so when the work is done so I am plus there are no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Low Job Training
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMarch 28, 2013
Transmission Line analysis is not a prevalent field in the civil engineering industry. Although there is not much knowledge/expertise in this field, you are expected to know codes, software, and procedures of reports within several weeks. I made it through this, but was only a few other interns were kept around at the end.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
teaching
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more POWER Engineers reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at POWER Engineers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.2