Find companies:
Power Home Remodeling Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
78 reviews

Power Home Remodeling Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Marlborough MAApril 9, 2014
Pros: good pay, no direct management
Cons: lots of misleading and downright lying
From the start I was worried about Power Home, the corporate culture is almost cult-ish. First thing they will ask you to do is take a personality test, they claim its for statistics for what kind of people they hire, don't be fooled though, you won't get the job if you're the wrong personality. If you pass their test (which I think might violate job – more... application laws) then you'll be put into their propaganda training, then you're dumped high and dry to endless appointments, and they will lie to you about the time you'll spend at these appointments, it becomes your life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Remodeling Consultant (Current Employee), Melville, NYMarch 16, 2014
Great Place, great training, high income potential........................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun place to work
Call Center Director (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: fun work enviornment, incentive driven compensation plans allow you to control your income, professional atmosphere, lots of team building activities, get to work with some of my best friends
Cons: very intense training program, high expectations associated with performance
I have been challenged here at Power since my first day in 2007 and all of the hard work that I devoted to the business has been recognized and rewarded; which is what keeps me motivated. I was given the opportunity to advance my career and move into a leadership role where I help hire, train and oversee 150+ employees in our Call Center. I could not – more... have imagined a better place to start my career after graduating college, and I look forward to continuing to grow within Power as it continues it's rapid growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Who wrote the 5 star reviews?
Field Relations Coordinator (Former Employee), Rosemont, ILFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: working outside when it was nice, co-workers
Cons: pay shortages, broken promises, immature management
I worked at Power for 6 months as a Field Relations Coordinator (door knocker). A typical day at work includes a morning meeting where management gives you the same speech they did the day before. One involving how you were chosen to work here because you are the best in the business. Everyone I worked with (myself included) was offered the job on the – more... spot. There will always be a position available at Power because people quit or get fired on a weekly basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, great people
Recruiting Intern (Current Employee), Chester, PAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: paid internship, great people, company trip, great experience
Cons: sourcing only, no full cycle experience
Power is a great place to work. Great work life balance, good pay, great culture and challenging work. Lots of great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First sales job with a bad experience, yet a great opportunity.
Marketing Representative (Former Employee), Stratford, CTFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: weather, work-life balance, no true breaks.
A typical work day consisted of getting to the office around 9-10am for a meeting. We would then group and go to various neighborhoods to canvas the area finding new clientele for the company.

I learned a variety of new skills, especially in the communication area such as talking to new people and getting to know them in a quick manner.

Management – more... was not always there when you needed them. They also didn't provide the necessary tools to help you get better at your job.

The hardest parts of the job were bearing the harsh weather conditions management would force you to work in. (2ft of snow, rain, lightning, sub-freezing temperatures) and just getting homeowners to stay at the door and listen to your sales pitch.

The most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers. I met a lot of new people and made a lot of new friends while I was there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an OK company to work for.
Lead Field Marketer (Former Employee), Cranford, NJFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: door to door sales
I was going door to door in towns that I have never been to. I was left alone in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside Sales
Outside Sales (Former Employee), Melville, NYFebruary 10, 2014
Great company, Great People. Enjoyed my time working there and learning outside sales. Left to find a career with a base salary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LIES LIES LIES
sales (Former Employee), marlboroughJanuary 29, 2014
Cons: everything
I worked at this pathetic company for 3 days, 3 days I can never get back. The job on Monster says NO COLD CALLING...so explain to me what going door to door, knocking, getting yelled at, police being called etc. Working stupid hours, getting paid minimum, and the managers who train are not helpful.

If people want new windows or siding, I think they – more... will shop around, instead of spending 10 minutes waiting while some 20 year old tries to set up an estimate over the phone and then have the customer talk. Joke!

I advise NO ONE to work for this company. All these good reviews on here are all scams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Honest Review After (4)yrs with Power
Warrany Service Agent (Current Employee), Chester, PAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: excellent culture, job security, management, training
Cons: no paid lunch hour, pay, long hours, working on saturdays, work most holidays
I've worked at Power for just about 4yrs now. I started out in Field Marketing. Became a Field Marketing manager then became an Event & Retail Marketer, before becoming a manager in that. Moved into the office as a telephone marketer/lead scheduler. Now I'm in Operations in the Warranty Service Division. Throughout my experience with Power I've got – more... to know a lot about the company, their culture, and the pros and cons of working at Power.

Pros
--> Excellent culture. Everyone is very supportive of one another and their growth with the company. The entire company has an incredible work ethic where you don't create excuses, you create results. This is perhaps one of my favorite things about working with Power. Each position I've worked in for them, the people around were not just your peers, they became your good friends. You can't really ask for a better work environment. Excellent culture.

--> Management is strong. Starting out inexperienced in any role within Power, the management ensured that you were given the training and the tools to succeed. They were able to walk the line between good friends and management. Managers really listen to their staff. For example, at a meeting my peers and I presented a case as to why we needed new computers. A week or two later, we got brand new Mac minis.

--> Job Security. There is plenty of it. Each department I worked in within Power continued to grow exponentially, even as I was promoted out of the departments. I have zero fear of losing my job. The business has a strong and solid foundation. The only way one could lose their job is if they were directly involved with chronic wrongdoing.

Cons
--> Job Work/Life Balance is not as great as I would like it to be. Unlike most of my non-Power peers, you are required to work one or two Saturdays per month. This is something I was required to do in every department I've worked in so far with Power. This doesn't sound that bad at first. But when you add it up, you are working about an extra month out of the year. My current role allows this time to be overtime pay which is nice, whereas previous roles weren't paid overtime, just a part of your salary. Unlike most of my non-Power peers, you also work a 9hr day everyday. (1)hr is a non-paid lunch. Additionally, I typically work additional hours almost everyday. It's very standard for me to work a 10hr day, (5) days a week and an abbreviated day on Saturdays that I do work. I would much rather work less hours and enjoy my free time outside of my job.

--> Sick, Vacation, Personal Days. The first 2yrs you only receive (10) total days off. This includes sick, personal, and vacation days for the entire year! 3yrs gets you (15) days, 4yrs gets you (20) days off. Power makes you work almost every holiday. When I was in Marketing, you had to work Labor Day & Memorial Day and all other holidays with the exception of 4th of July, Christmas, Thanksgiving, and New Years Day. So if you wanted to use your time off on a normal holiday when family or friends had off anyways, you would burn through your time off so quick. Other employers give you more days off, and honor more calendar holidays. e.g. MLK Day, President's Day, New Years Eve, Columbus Day, Veterans Day...

--> Compensation is not as great as I would like it to be. Comparing Power to a lot of my non-Power peers, most other jobs start out at a higher salary/pay rate without requiring weekend hours. Even after (4)yrs with Power, I'm not making a base salary that is equivalent to most of my non-Power friends who just start out at their first job. You would think with that many years with a company you'd be making a base that is closer to 40k. On the other hand, Power does provide bonuses & incentivized pay that can add up substantially if you consecutively hit your goals. Hitting bonuses is the only way to earn the pay I feel should be making up the actual base salary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term way to gain experience - not a long term career path
Marketing Associate (Former Employee), Washington, DC Metro AreaJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: job culture
Cons: management, hours, work/life balance
Fun & energetic work environment - typical day consisted of a meeting/training then going to set leads via canvassing, speaking to people in retail locations, events, home-shows, etc. Job is performance based - if you're not setting leads and generating sales then you will not make much money.

Gained a lot of invaluable experience in marketing and – more... sales while learning other aspects of the professional world.

Excruciating hours and job can be brutal - sometimes not getting home until 9:00pm & have to work saturdays. Management can be disorganized and generally lacks structure, a lot of turnover.

Work with good people and compensation is good if you can consistently hit your numbers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day runs from 8 AM to 10 PM, decent pay with high commission incentives
Home Services Manager (Marketer) (Former Employee), Marlborough, MAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great commision on estimates, fun job culture
Cons: 8am-10pm 5 days a week; work 10am- 5pm on every other saturday.
The first 2 weeks are mostly training and are exciting. After about a month you get a good idea of what you can expect on a regular basis: you pitch a "free window or roofing estimate guaranteed for at least one year in writing" to roughly 100-200 people either "in the field" (door to door marketing) or "in retail" (walk around BJs wholesale club as – more... the 'home services manager'). The training is great but selling a free estimate is much harder than it sounds and the hours are ungodly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work, Long Hours
Marketer (Former Employee), Melville, NYJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great workplace atmosphere
Cons: long hours, door to door marketing for 10 hours per day
An amazing work enviornment composed of all young employees, even the highest levels of management in the entire company are in their younger 30's. With this comes long hours and the expectations of working from 10am until 8 pm every night in the field, not getting back to the office until 9pm sometimes. The compensations depends much on the call center – more... and things outside of the control of the employees. They do give great benefits after working three months and most applicants do get the position. As expected with a high employment rate, there is also a high turnover rate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a professional or good place to work.
Field Marketing Representative (Former Employee), Stratford, CTJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: everything about the job.
lies from the start. What these postings fail to mention is that the job is going door-to-door in all of the elements. ALL OF THEM. You'll be working with a bunch of kids basically. The culture feels like a fraternity. The "managers" don't help you get better. And the VP and RDM will threaten you when you aren't performing, then don't provide the necessary – more... tools to help you. Then...you get fired. A lot of sketchy things go on behind the scenes. And you WILL NOT make as much money as the tell you you will. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
power home remodeling group
Outbound marketer (Current Employee), Chester, PADecember 27, 2013
Pros: working as a team with no boss around, so you work as hard as you want.
Cons: you work outside in all the elements
Go door to door in the given territory and pitch the neighbors on products. Get the home owners on the phone to schedule an appointment for a free estimate, then make the home owner look forward to the appointment. Be the face of the company and give the home owner a pleasant experience. Be persistent and stress why the home owner should take advantage – more... of the estimate now. i learned how to read people and how to take control of a conversation. The hardest part of the job is getting them to listen to your pitch, because they just want you to go away. the most enjoyable part is meeting new people and helping them out. The co workers are the best people you could ask to work with. you will never meet a work culture like them anywhere. the management of the place really understands what you go through and always helps you when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Compensation but long hours
Remodeling Consultant (Former Employee), Rosemont, ILDecember 11, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: long hours, mentally defeating, physically taxing
A typical day could go from 8AM to 1AM with minimal break time.
I learned a lot about home remodeling.
The management was encouraging but also cut throat.
The co-workers were awesome.
The hardest part of the job was working long days Monday through saturday and not having time to do anything else.
The most enjoyable part of the job was receiving the – more... paycheck – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place fun people
Retail/Field Marketing (Former Employee), Melville, New yorkDecember 9, 2013
Working at Power Home Remodeling was very productive i learned all the ins and outs to being a successful person in the sales/marketing business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard.
ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee), Chester, PANovember 13, 2013
It's a revolving door at the bottom. The top producers will be paid handsomely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Regional Vice President (Former Employee), Norcross, GAOctober 21, 2013
Cons: not a good place
Lots of turnover in all departments. Would not recommend this company to any one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not just a work place with co-workers its a home with family
Remodeling Consultant (Current Employee), Rosemont, ILOctober 18, 2013
Pros: amazing work enviornment, senior level positions are always there to help, paid time off, full benefits, 401k life insurance, yearly "thank you" trip
I have been with Power Home Remodeling Group now since January 2013. In this time I have learned and developed in many different ways. The opportunities which Power offers are truly endless. Starting off in the marketing department I was trained by a very friendly and welcoming marketing staff. Soon after I became a leader in the office allowing myself – more... to take on bigger roles. In no time I found myself to be a mentor taking on all of the initial training in the marketing department. It truly shows that Power is serious about self advancement within the company. I would have never thought that in such a short time I would be able to gain so much experience and learn so much. Since then I have now been promoted into the consulting field at Power. One of the things that I love the most is the fact that every day is different. I am not the type of person that is able to sit in an office cubical everyday doing the same thing day in and day out. With the position which I currently hold I am able to interact and engage with different people every day. The best part is that you truly feel like family at Power. Working at a company with 2,000+ employees it is very rare to have the opportunity to meet the owners, CEO, Presidents, Vice Presidents, etc. At power this is not the case at all. Not only do we have 2,000 employees and still counting but the owners, CEO, Presidents, and Vice Presidents, etc are very involved in the day to day work and they make sure to meet all of the employees. Coming out of college I never thought I would have such a great opportunity to advance my life so quickly and become so financially stable. I absolutely love Power and it’s not just a job here it’s a career. – less

1 2 3 4

About Power Home Remodeling Group

Throughout our 22-year history, it’s never just been about selling great products. It’s been about delivering on – Read more

Power Home Remodeling Group Photos