Find companies:
Powertek Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Powertek Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, working with government agencies.
Support Specialist Tier 2 (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 22, 2014
Pros: great easy going place.
Cons: away from the home office.
During a normal day you will help government employees using remote desktop to resolve remedy trouble tickets. You support Windows, software, hardware, networking, and many different proprietary software used by different government agencies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metro Accessible
Lead Printer Refresh Support Specialist (Current Employee), PentagonMarch 26, 2014
Adding printers to network
Creating print queues
Great hours
Great work benefits
Takes a long time to get there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding work place
Sr. SYSTEMS PROGRAMMER (Former Employee), Rockville, MDFebruary 6, 2014
Very professional and a great place to work. Outstanding co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Job working with multiple contracts
Contract Administrator (Former Employee), Rockville, MDDecember 8, 2013
Job was a temporary job working with different types of contacts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Executive Desktop Support (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 7, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits, caring management
Anyone seeking new opportunities and offered a position by Powertek should
say, "Yes, I accept the offer," simply because of the one-on-one employee to
management relationships, the comprehensive benefits package, the free
training courses, and the extensive services that the company offers to its
employees and to many charity-based non-profit organizations.

During – more... my time with Powertek, I had nothing but good experiences. My
healthcare package was one of the best that I ever had, I received several
"spot bonuses," and the President of the company (a very busy and very
generous woman) invited staff to very tasteful evening dinners to get
insight into everyday situations. For a company President to have an
interest in building relationships with her employees says a lot about what
kind of company Powertek is.

I left Powertek on good terms because the NIEITS contract ended. Not only

did management keep in touch with me to ensure that I was taken care of, my

resume was professionally written by corporate staff. My insurance benefits
were paid for the next month and the company HR team kept an open flow of
communications about networking and future job opportunities. During the

Government Shutdown, the company has set-up emergency services such as a

leave bank and cash for employees affected by the furlough, which should

also prove that this particular company knows the secret of being

successful: caring for its people. These company benefits are truly
unmatched. I can say that anyone employed by Powertek will value their time
within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Contractor
Senior Network Administrator (Current Employee), Washington D.CAugust 13, 2013
Pros: nice building
Cons: small it shop
I really work at FHFAOIG as a network admin/security support tech.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Desktop/Helpdesk (Current Employee), Metro DCMay 25, 2013
Pros: you will have a job for awhile
Cons: well, you figured it out with all the reviews here.
From what I understood, they under bid contracts. Therefore, one employee is expected to take up 4/5 missing employees. This is why the company is more concerned about micromanaging every aspect of the employees instead of providing excellent service to the client.
As someone said, they really have no respect for the labor laws, and they have been fined – more... by the Depatment of Labor before.

Another person said that " HR is very unresponsive to employee requests for assistance" If you are lucky, you will not get fired from complaining. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like generating relationships with my users within the government.
Wireless Administrator (Current Employee), VAMarch 11, 2013
Pros: the location is great and compensation is solid ..
Cons: the contract is not stable
I currently support the EITSD project inside the Pentagon. I troubleshoot the BAS server and goverment laptop and desktops along with Blackberry devices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job at Powertek
Help Desk Analyst II (Former Employee), Marc center virginiaMarch 3, 2013
Pros: pay not bad.
Cons: no communication with powertek ... letting us know what is going on.
Lost contract first day I started. Not able to work job hired for. Didn't know when last day was. When contract was going to be up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Troublesome company
Senior Engineer (Current Employee), MarylandFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: my wage is good, others not so much. insurance is a good package.
Cons: insurance is pricey, especially for family. micromanagers, indifferent corporate management. illegal policies in employee manual. no respect for the laws.
The company is more concerned about micromanaging every aspect of the employees instead of assisting the worker to provide excellent service to the client. A lot of promises were unfulfilled and ignored. What is most troubling is the company's ignorance or lack of respect for laws. The attitude seems to be "catch me if you can..." Even though the web – more... site touts them as an ethical company all over the place, they are not, especially when it comes to bonuses and other incentive pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for to deliver results
Employee (Current Employee), Washington DC metro areaOctober 10, 2012
Pros: opportunity to excel in it operations
Cons: contract based work
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping clients deliver performance and results
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long on Promise, Short on Delivery
Project Manger (Current Employee), Rockville, MDSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: none.
Cons: see review.
Poor corporate and on site managers who are more concerned with control of personnel rather than managing the environment and removing obstacles in order for us to meet our mission.
Compensation is 30% below market value. Was offered a signing bonus in my offer letter which was initially not honored. Had to leverage a letter from legal counsel in order – more... for the offer to be honored. On site PM made new compensation offer on site, then retracted the offer the next day.
HR is very unresponsive to employee requests for assistance. Two to three week delay in responses.
Archaic web tools for employees, not centralized corporate portal. There are separate sites for timesheet, webmail, benefits and payroll. This is very surprising from a company that touts IT as its bread and butter. – less

October 22, 2012

Very disturbing to read about the bonus and to read of the legal action required. This does not speak well of a company expecting/ seeking individuals to perform to the highest levels, and retract an bonus offer. Not professional!