PPG Industries Employee Reviews

Found 536 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fair and unbiased and fun environment
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Perry, GAAugust 10, 2017
Worked well with other employees. Excellent supervisor and management. Fun and fair environment, all employees treated the same and with respect. Good company.
Pros
Fun and safe work place
Cons
rotating shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement not based on job performance
Licensed Lead Tankerman (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAAugust 9, 2017
PPG, which is now called Axiall, is a Union environment where personal advancement is not based on job performance but rather seniority. Your job is always in jeopardy based on contract negotiations which the negotiating committee seemed ill-equipped to handle the corporate side of the table. You work in a dangerous environment with dangerous products.
Pros
Excellent pay
Cons
shift work will take years off your life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work with a staff that treated workers like family.
Material Handler\ Electric Palletjack (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 7, 2017
Be ready daily to honor the company by being on time ready to fulfill orders that stores across america depend on receiving. When you hear the feedback from stores about how impressed they were with the quality of the shipment and product it makes you proud to wear the uniform daily.
Pros
Clean warehouse updated new technology and great staff who belive in you.
Cons
Cant think of any. Honestly its a great workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid, stable, company
Manager, Financial Services (Former Employee) –  Delaware, OHAugust 7, 2017
Very stable traditional blue chip company. Compensation tended to be lower than market, so had to leave the company for real career growth. Traditional corporate culture that was starting to become more progressive when I left the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work economy dependent
TOOL & DIE MAKER (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ALAugust 7, 2017
Most part a good place to work and fairly stable. Enjoyed going to work years ago. You had the feeling the company valued each person but it is going through a culture change in the last few years and most employees don't feel that way now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for temporary income
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 6, 2017
Good job for temporary income but not ideal for growth. Administration does not play the necessary role in getting results and is not held accountable enough.
Pros
Large corporation with good reputation
Cons
Low pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard job ,a lot of strain on your body .very long hours great pay .
Winder Operator (Former Employee) –  Shelby, NCAugust 6, 2017
Job paid ok benefits are ok the jobs is very consistent a lot of walking ,lifting,pulling,jobs is12hourshift mandatory overtime.the good part you get paid ever weeek so that's good.
Cons
Heath care great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Place to Work
Manager (Current Employee) –  NCAugust 4, 2017
In general this is not a bad place to work. The opportunity for advancement in my division was not easy even with better than average reviews. Annual pay increases are minimal and only significant increase occur at time of promotion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not like working there
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 3, 2017
the job was not hard but ever day you can be moved to different place or shift that was hard to keep a schedule with my doc. and my wife to do things .the boss was never to be found when you need him and you had to wait a long time for stuff also you cant help someone if they are not in your area or you can get a wright up i did not like that it someone need help we should be able to help them .
Pros
money was good and benefits also where great
Cons
did not like all the moveing around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money
Winder Operator (Former Employee) –  PPG chester scAugust 1, 2017
Long hours fast pace .need to improve there Machines high speed packing would brake down about 20 times or more a night the conveyors would always get stuck
Pros
Working with some of the people
Cons
Long walk to the brake room from winding area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about PPG Industries?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a ok job
Winder Operator (Current Employee) –  Shelby, NCJuly 31, 2017
Its a ok job if you can handle working constantly and getting burned.. Fiberglass getting everywhere and embedded in your skin.. Benefits are awesome pay is good..
Pros
Health insurance
Cons
Dangerous work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 30, 2017
I was working as a temporary Executive Assistant through a temp agency. I handled the reporting and presentation needs of the Director of National accounts and Marketing.
Pros
Located in the center of downtown
Cons
Hard to get promoted
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Industry
Research Chemist I (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 28, 2017
Good company with a real focus on high quality and career development. Benefits are minimal in terms of time off, but retirement and insurance options are above average.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me great experience for future management positions in my career
Management Internship (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 25, 2017
Throughout my 10 week internship I learned many things about the day to day activities and activities that go on in upper management for PPG Industries. Gained valuable knowledge of sales, auditing processes, dealing with customer complaints, and learning how to run a business. Was tasked to come up with a project during this internship. My topic was "How could I create a business plan to help increase our residential repaint sales in our market of 19 stores?" I created a well thought out plan that had to do with brand awareness, marketing, changing communication strategies internally and with our account managers, and focused mindsets on the customer from all levels of the company to name a few points that I hit on. All in all a great company and great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting environment
IT (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 22, 2017
It is an interesting place to work. It definitely can help you build your character. It is not for the soft hearted. You will learn what it really means to work for a corporate company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Forklift Operator Certified (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIJuly 20, 2017
Very shady way of manufacturing. We were forced to work overtime and management treated us poorly. The pay was decent but there was no advancement opportunities.
Pros
Great money
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cost Accountant (Former Employee) –  Dover, DEJuly 16, 2017
Great exposure to various departments as a Financial Trainee. Lots of opportunity to travel and advance internally. PPG offers many opportunities to develop.
Pros
Exposure and training
Cons
Limited work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Winder Operator (Former Employee) –  Shelby, NCJuly 13, 2017
Fast paced production work good pay great benefits down side is fiber glass stabbing in hands and arms very hot and no smoking allowed.................
Pros
Good pay great benefits
Cons
Fiber glass heat no smoking allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work for
Junior Payroll Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 12, 2017
Company was really good to employees.
Always room for advancement.
Coworkers were great and management was nice and very helpful.
Worked with very knowledgeable management as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my job
LEAD BULK LOADER (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAJuly 12, 2017
great people, great place to work, every one there works as a team we work well together to get the job done in a timely manner so we can get the product out
Pros
get team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PPG Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 739 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3