Find companies:
Precision Pipeline Solutions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Precision Pipeline Solutions Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Natural Gas Instalation
Field Technician (Former Employee), Newfield, NYJune 23, 2014
Pros: great group of guys that know there stuff.
A typical day at PPS would consist of digging a trench(without hitting any underground pipes or lines) and fusing pipe together to make the "main" and then instal services to houses off of that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Meter reader/ National Grid consultant (Former Employee), Bohemia, NYJune 16, 2014
Pros: free transportation and gas
my job was to travel to designated areas of long island and retrieve gas meter reading for national grid. I learned customer interaction and develped high level people skills. I had good co-workers but the job is very mismanaged and they fail to prioritize work output. Hardest part of the job working at a steady pace but the most enjoyable part was – more... the overall freedom to do your job without being supervised – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright work to get your foot in the door with a utility company.
Meter Reader (Current Employee), Oceanside, NYJune 9, 2014
Co-Workers are alright. Management lied but now there is a union for this contract so its not bad. No rain gear but forced to work in down pours. Alot of walking not god awful but not the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
meter reader (Current Employee), New Windsor, NYMarch 31, 2014
I love working at PPS. The people are awesome! I was paid for orientation and training, and was given tools, uniforms, and protective equipment. Basically everything I need for the job. The only people who complain about PPS are the ones who expect a paycheck for doing nothing! If you work hard, you are recognized and rewarded! Great benefits - medical, – more... dental, paid holidays, 401k, etc. They are really big on safety. There are safety tailboards every morning with tips on how to stay safe and be aware of your surroundings. Overall great experience with this company! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Stray Voltage Tech. (Current Employee), New Windsor, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: get to work independently, work outdoors, good pay, holiday pay and vacation time, benefits, free boots
Cons: in some work you have to use your own car
PPS is a great place to work! Keep in mind, the job takes place outdoors so if you don't like being outside, don't bother. Me, I love it! Every day is different and you get to see and experience of kind of things. It's never boring. Management is great and if you do your job, don't complain, and perform, they leave you alone but they still make you – more... feel like you're part of the team. The pay is good and yes, if it rains you can't work but they always try to make up for it in overtime if they can. Complete benefits including dental and 401k. In Stray we have to use our own vehicle (they tell you up front so I don't know what that other reviewer was talking about) and they compensate you for mileage. The mileage includes maintenance and not just gas. If you do the math, you'll see that they actually give you more money than you need for gas. They also give you $100 a year for safety boots (great deal!) and have incentive programs just for working safe. They like to hire and promote from within so I like the feeling that I'm not stuck in one place. Your job is what you make of it. Do your job well and they'll reward you. Overall it's a great company. I love my job! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Culture!
meter reader (Current Employee), long islandMarch 31, 2014
Pros: growing company
Young and energetic work environment! I have read the previous reviews and would largely disagree with them. Yes-you are expected to work and you are rewarded for that.

I have seen at least 200 new people hired in a year and the opportunity at PPS is considerable. If you have a good head on your shoulders and work hard-you will have a lot of opportunity. – more... Pay is average, but the ability to move within company makes up for that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work, resume builder not a career....
ex employee (Former Employee), ctMarch 12, 2014
Pros: resume builder
Cons: read review....
You are warned!!!

Be prepared to use your own personal car, which they dont tell you about when hired. They pay a certain pay rate on gas compensation after 40 miles!....your car will take a beating they will send you to different work areas across the state!....no maintenance is payed for your vehicle etc. If your car breaks down from all the abuse – more... its pretty simple no car = no work which will lead to termination.

Be prepared to not receive 40hrs a week. Everytime it snows or rains/drizzles work is cancelled and is unpaid! Barely can maintain 25hrs a week. Health insurance is to expensive. Essentially your working almost for free after all the expenses such as vehicle maintenance tires/brakes/suspension/oil changes etc

Good luck you have been warned! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor position for Central Hudson
Pole Inspector (Former Employee), New Windsor, NYJanuary 26, 2014
Be ready to face the crazy weather and keep moving. Pay is decent but if there is heavy rain for days, you won't be working or getting paid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work
Office (Former Employee), New Windsor NYJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: non stress
Cons: the stress from the people who worked there with short comings but not from the job itself.
Good growing company however, the people at the job was another story, employees are made supervisor in the office with no high school or any type of supervisory experience, racial slurs are ignored and sweep under the Rug, no guidance and company is manage poorly, employees need training and some type of qualification perhaps GED diploma required for – more... management level position, poor pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place dont work here
Flame Ionization Technician (Former Employee), waterbury ctJuly 31, 2013
Pros: free breaks free phones and tablets and company trucks
Cons: pay, mangement, raise, advancement, racism
I like my co workers they were very cool. but management wasn't never fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Sub Contractor, we don't have much contact with our actual company.
Energy Services Contractor (Current Employee), Newburgh, NYJuly 24, 2013
Pros: we used to get reimbursed for mileage and tolls.
Cons: they took the reimbursement away.
Review natural gas cases and rule services. It gets a little boring.

Learned how to use some of the programs and learned about natural gas and how it is applied.

Management just lets us do our work.

Some of the people i have worked with over my time here are good.

The hardest part of the job is staying awake.

The most enjoyable part of the job – more... is sometimes when we get to solve an actual problem with a ruling or service line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Energetic, Fast paced
Senior Mechanic (Former Employee), New Windsor, NYMay 6, 2013
Pros: growing industry
Cons: more support to workers
Productive, Energetic, A growing company in the utility field, day to day operations included, meter change outs. leak response, interaction with customers in the greater New York areas,must be able to work with team members . troubleshooting skills a must
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother
Stray voltage tech (Former Employee), Newburgh,NyNovember 7, 2012
Pros: good exercise
Cons: health plan expensive for its kind, incompetent management, wear & tear on the vehicle, lousy pay, no ot, poison ivy and ticks
Funny, they had people in charge of electrical division that knew nothing about electric!! Worked outside in dangerous conditions, sometimes forced by management against normal protocol. Poison ivy and ticks in the summer and walking through ice and snow in the winter. Pay was not great and to get even a quarter raise they expect the world and then – more... some! If you get a string of bad weather then don't expect to work which means no money, gone several weeks without hitting even 25 hrs. Use your own vehicle , lousy reimbursement for mileage, your car will take a beating. Oh and holding meeting all the time to talk about nonsense and little cheap & cheesy company bbq's to make u think they actually care about their employees! Meh. The only way this job could be good is if you make less than 9.00 p/hr and/or need to lose 25 lbs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Stray Voltage Technician (Current Employee), New Windsor, NYJuly 31, 2012
Pros: working outside
Cons: wworking outside
Everyday is different. Management is is great. Hardest part is driving to different sites each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding job but very rewarding.
Level I Stray Voltage Technician (Current Employee), New Windsor, NYJuly 6, 2012
A typical day at work involves organizing your workload for the day and then driving to the location where you are to start. The hardest part of the job is the physical demands you have to meet while walking/hiking to the electric poles and power lines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production fast and fun
Mechanic 3 (Former Employee), Newburg, NYJune 25, 2012
Pros: very good money, company van
Cons: drove 2 hours to work
installed gas meters
all aspects of gas services
management wasnt too helpful spent more time in meetings then helping workers

About Precision Pipeline Solutions

Precision Pipeline Solutions, LLC (PPS) is a natural gas and electric utility contractor headquartered in New Windsor, New York. – Read more