Find companies:
Premera Blue Cross
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
56 reviews

Premera Blue Cross Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No understanding of how to treat employees
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Montlake TerranceAugust 29, 2014
Pros: free parking - if you can find a place to park
Cons: health care preimums terrible for employees, management is all good old girls who are promoted to position based on social standing.
I was hired full time to work in IT. After 3 months found out that full time was actually Premera code for being treated as limited duration contractor working 60 hour weeks without overtime. Original manager that hired me and I wanted to work for, left company because his staff budgeted for only 12 months (unknown to him). He was surprised and told – more... us (six employees hired at same time) to start looking for work outside of Premera because, in his words " their plan was to dump everyone". Transferred to new team where Manager said we had six months to find other teams to work for at Premera. Her background before Business Analyst team was mail operations and social programs such as food drives. We were told that we had to mandatorily participate in ice cream sales outside the main cafeteria for two hours a week raising money for her charity. Total waste of time and full of frustration. No integrity- terrible IT & Business culture. Stay away – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Spokane, WAAugust 20, 2014
My supervisor was wonderful.
My co-workers were helpful and a few are still friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Customer Service (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAJuly 23, 2014
love my co workers and it is a fun environment to work.
you get to speak with so many diverse people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice culture but management structures need to be updated
Project Manager (Former Employee), Mountlake TerraceJuly 2, 2014
Slowly changing but outdated management structures have created pockets of instability that make work/life balance difficult and create large amounts of tension throughout workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Account Service Representative (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: limited advancement opportunities
Great co-workers
Above average management
Start as CSR, but will have to leave Customer Service to find real advancement opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ruff job
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Spokane, WAJune 3, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: customer service isnt made aware of policy changes very quickly and this can cause major issues
Not for the soft hearted, The company itself was very nice and treats their employees very well. Trainers however didn't seem to care if you failed or not Coworkers where awesome. The hardest part of the job was dealing with calls that you could do nothing about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Steady
Membership and Billing Analyst (Current Employee), Mountlake TerraceJune 3, 2014
Premera is a steady office with many departments and availability for cross training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Long term prospects
Disease Manager/Health Support Coach (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAJune 2, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: structure of management.
Managers do not actively engage workers for input. Overall a great place to work. HR is the best!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
takes great care of their employees!!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Spokane, WAApril 18, 2014
when they say they care, they mean it. they work one on one with you until you are comfortable. if you have any problems or issues, the supervisors are willing and ready to listen. they are professional, consistent, and fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Administrative Specialist VII (Current Employee), Bothell, WAApril 14, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, nice people, promote from within, good benefits, flexibility
Cons: low pay
A typical day is usually very busy and different each day. Premera likes to promote from within, co-workers are helpful and friendly. For me there isn't a hard part of the job. I thrive on being challenged each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work atmosphere.
Claims Associate II (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAApril 5, 2014
Pros: potlucks galore, great co-workers, supportive management, flexible schedule
Cons: overtime unavailable at times, a little quiet at the work environment, but that's normal
A typical day at work includes accessing my daily work load and processing upwards to 100 + medical claims per day. I've learned a lot about medical billing/coding and how in healthcare in general operates. My management team is very supportive and encouraging. They create a culture of trust and open communication. My co-workers are friendly and are – more... great team members. The hardest part of the job is learning the vocabulary and language of medical claims. The most enjoyable part of the job is completing a claim and knowing that it was processed correctly and quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free Health Benefits
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Lynnwood, WAApril 2, 2014
I discovered that in-bound call centers weren't right for me. That might not be the case for someone else. I appreciated their free health insurance for employees at the time...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady, secure place to work
Prior Authorization & Retrospective Review RN (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great location near seattle! on location cafe and baristas.
Cons: not enough parking.
I've been with Premera in 3 different roles as a registered nurse, and enjoy being here very much. They are flexible with telecommuting, they don't offer reduced hours for work (like part time) very much, and it's a relaxed and fun place to be. Oddly, they don't observe Martin Luther King Jr Day or Veteran's Day, but you always will get the Friday after – more... Thanksgiving off, and either the day before or after Christmas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premera
Customer Service Team Lead (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WaFebruary 15, 2014
I love Premera. There are great benefits and my co-workers are on the best parts about coming to work on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Learned new skills and improved on ones I already had
Medical Claims Processor (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: great place for advancement
Cons: processing claims could sometimes become a tedious job
I enjoyed working the Phone represented job position more that working the claims processing job. I liked the contact with the callers and assisting clients and providers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so creative
Marketing (Current Employee), Mountlake TerraceDecember 14, 2013
Pros: compensation package is fine. routine (could be pro, depending on your mindset).
Cons: killer commute: metro stops 2 miles south, sound transit stops 2 miles west.
Although I do enjoy the creative peers I am encouraged to be uncreative with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Sr. Treasury Analyst (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WADecember 10, 2013
Pros: close to home, pension plan, generous pto
Cons: too many meetings, not staffed adequately
I've gained a great deal of experience in Treasury during my role here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpace, and Friendly
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), 7001 220th St SW, Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043December 6, 2013
Pros: my co-worker's
Cons: not being able to please everyone.
A typical day and Premera Blue Cross, I was a customer service representative. I answered phone calls and help customer's with them health insurance question, quoting there benefits. problems they were having or just explaining how it all works. I learned to work well under pressure and with angry customer's. I got along with all of my co-workers. The – more... hardest part of the job was when I could not please a customer. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning how to talk to people and how to make a angry customer a happy one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Debatable work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WANovember 21, 2013
Pros: free healthcare
Cons: sitting on a phone all day, strict time constraints to adhere to
Depending on your style of work preference, this may or may not be your cup of tea. Sitting down for an entire shift, on strict time constraints make this job hard to enjoy. For a company that promotes health it doesn't appear to have an effect on the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced, productive, demanding call center environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WANovember 19, 2013
Pros: opportunity for growth and advancement
Cons: demanding and challenging work environment
A typical day at work at this organization was extremely busy and demanding , requiring ones full attention to job details. I learned an enourmous amount of information about health care industry practices, health laws, administration of benefits, and industry standards. Coworkers were very competative and job oriented. Work requirements encouraged – more... a large focus on personal development and job advancement. The hardest part of the job was the continous high demand of production results, constant performance reviews, and unflexible work environment. The best part of the job was the high degree of professionalism and opportunities for advancement. The most enjoyable part of the job was the high-end quality of equipment and office environment. – less

1 2 3

About Premera Blue Cross

It's no mistake that Premera sounds an awful lot like premier. Premera Blue Cross is a leading health care coverage provider to – Read more