Find companies:
Premera Blue Cross
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

Premera Blue Cross Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Administrative Specialist VII (Current Employee), Bothell, WAApril 14, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, nice people, promote from within, good benefits, flexibility
Cons: low pay
A typical day is usually very busy and different each day. Premera likes to promote from within, co-workers are helpful and friendly. For me there isn't a hard part of the job. I thrive on being challenged each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work atmosphere.
Claims Associate II (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAApril 5, 2014
Pros: potlucks galore, great co-workers, supportive management, flexible schedule
Cons: overtime unavailable at times, a little quiet at the work environment, but that's normal
A typical day at work includes accessing my daily work load and processing upwards to 100 + medical claims per day. I've learned a lot about medical billing/coding and how in healthcare in general operates. My management team is very supportive and encouraging. They create a culture of trust and open communication. My co-workers are friendly and are – more... great team members. The hardest part of the job is learning the vocabulary and language of medical claims. The most enjoyable part of the job is completing a claim and knowing that it was processed correctly and quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free Health Benefits
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Lynnwood, WAApril 2, 2014
I discovered that in-bound call centers weren't right for me. That might not be the case for someone else. I appreciated their free health insurance for employees at the time...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady, secure place to work
Prior Authorization & Retrospective Review RN (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great location near seattle! on location cafe and baristas.
Cons: not enough parking.
I've been with Premera in 3 different roles as a registered nurse, and enjoy being here very much. They are flexible with telecommuting, they don't offer reduced hours for work (like part time) very much, and it's a relaxed and fun place to be. Oddly, they don't observe Martin Luther King Jr Day or Veteran's Day, but you always will get the Friday after – more... Thanksgiving off, and either the day before or after Christmas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Friendly and happy co-workers
Contact Center Administrator (Current Employee), MLTFebruary 23, 2014
Great organization with work and life balance. Advance technologies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premera
Customer Service Team Lead (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WaFebruary 15, 2014
I love Premera. There are great benefits and my co-workers are on the best parts about coming to work on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Learned new skills and improved on ones I already had
Medical Claims Processor (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: great place for advancement
Cons: processing claims could sometimes become a tedious job
I enjoyed working the Phone represented job position more that working the claims processing job. I liked the contact with the callers and assisting clients and providers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so creative
Marketing (Current Employee), Mountlake TerraceDecember 14, 2013
Pros: compensation package is fine. routine (could be pro, depending on your mindset).
Cons: killer commute: metro stops 2 miles south, sound transit stops 2 miles west.
Although I do enjoy the creative peers I am encouraged to be uncreative with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Sr. Treasury Analyst (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WADecember 10, 2013
Pros: close to home, pension plan, generous pto
Cons: too many meetings, not staffed adequately
I've gained a great deal of experience in Treasury during my role here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpace, and Friendly
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), 7001 220th St SW, Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043December 6, 2013
Pros: my co-worker's
Cons: not being able to please everyone.
A typical day and Premera Blue Cross, I was a customer service representative. I answered phone calls and help customer's with them health insurance question, quoting there benefits. problems they were having or just explaining how it all works. I learned to work well under pressure and with angry customer's. I got along with all of my co-workers. The – more... hardest part of the job was when I could not please a customer. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning how to talk to people and how to make a angry customer a happy one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Debatable work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WANovember 21, 2013
Pros: free healthcare
Cons: sitting on a phone all day, strict time constraints to adhere to
Depending on your style of work preference, this may or may not be your cup of tea. Sitting down for an entire shift, on strict time constraints make this job hard to enjoy. For a company that promotes health it doesn't appear to have an effect on the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced, productive, demanding call center environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WANovember 19, 2013
Pros: opportunity for growth and advancement
Cons: demanding and challenging work environment
A typical day at work at this organization was extremely busy and demanding , requiring ones full attention to job details. I learned an enourmous amount of information about health care industry practices, health laws, administration of benefits, and industry standards. Coworkers were very competative and job oriented. Work requirements encouraged – more... a large focus on personal development and job advancement. The hardest part of the job was the continous high demand of production results, constant performance reviews, and unflexible work environment. The best part of the job was the high degree of professionalism and opportunities for advancement. The most enjoyable part of the job was the high-end quality of equipment and office environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premera is a great place to work
National Accounts Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace WashingtonNovember 15, 2013
From upper management to the customer service front line, the work environment is professional with high moral amongst all the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Associate Customer Service Rep/AQ Desk (Former Employee), Edmonds, WANovember 14, 2013
Pros: discounted movie tickets, incredible flexibility, great opportunities
Cons: hard to transition to other positions
Premera Blue Cross is all about putting their employees first; supporting growth and advancement in many ways. They offer a number of opportunities, great flexibility and a competitive benefits package. A typical day at work consisted of me taking accident information obtained from federal employees and determining if I could use it to process claims. – more... In most cases I would do just that but often times calls to the members would be necessary. I learned a lot working at Premera. They use a lot of Japanese philosophy when it comes to self-improvement, no waste and finding more efficient ways of doing day to day tasks. Management has an excellent open-door policy and encourages people to come forward with any issues. I had the pleasure of working with a diverse group of co-workers, many of whom I would consider friends. The hardest part of my job would have been interaction with parents of dependents that would ask questions that I couldn't answer due to federal privacy laws. The most enjoyable part of my job was all of the perks such as discount movie tickets, the team building events and the associate committee I had the pleasure of being a part of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Software Test Engineer II (Current Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAOctober 30, 2013
Pros: work life balance
Cons: less opportunities
Work life balance is good, People are good, Management is not good, low salary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premera does a great job in customer service and products offered.
Credentialing Specialist (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Fast paced work environment. Health insurance is a constantly changing venue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Senior Sales Executive (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKOctober 27, 2013
Premera is an excellent company which treats its employees well and has their best interests at heart. Additonally, the company strives to provide the best healthcare options for its memebers with all the necessary wellness tools for members to engage in improving their own health.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Account Executive (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 15, 2013
Excellent opportunity to continue my sales career. The most enjoyable part of this job was my ability to work with the broker community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Claims Processor I (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAAugust 18, 2013
Great place to work, friendly environment and great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very Management friendly, Expected to much for to little.
Benefits Representative (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAAugust 14, 2013
Pros: the one thing i can say good about this company is, that it gave me the skills i needed to move foward in my career in benefits.
Cons: always having someone breath down your back, while you are trying to work.
The one thing I can say good about this company is that it gave me the skills I needed to move foward in my career in benefits.

1 2 3

About Premera Blue Cross

It's no mistake that Premera sounds an awful lot like premier. Premera Blue Cross is a leading health care coverage provider to – Read more