Premier Education Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reality Check
Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJDecember 14, 2017
High turn around rate, staff is very cutthroat! Not enough training, you get an office with no computer and cold call leads most of the day- Your job performance is based on how many "students" you persuade to come in- They go so far as to say they can help you with a job to turn around and try to make you enroll in school!! Very deceiving. I was only there six months- Could not take the lying to innocent kids... DO NOT WORK HERE!
Pros
Right next to mall
Cons
Work hrs, lying to people, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company,
Director of Career Services & Student Services (Current Employee) –  Trenton, NJNovember 18, 2017
The School, is the worst, they do not serve the community Well. They are Just Collecting State funds, Horrible Campus Presidents, on every campus, Large offices in Conn, for Upper Management, Whereas the students, do not even received books.
Pros
Bad
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it!!
Rochester (Former Employee) –  Malden, MAOctober 25, 2017
Started in 2013-resigned 2017. No raise x 3.5 years,most of the time no school supplies. Instructors BOUGHT paper. This place should be closed down. Very shady operation. Free straws for some administrators. Fellow instructors....ABUSED but LOVED most of them over 5ft 5in.
Pros
Students
Cons
Corporate, Campus Presidents x 8
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work study program
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MASeptember 21, 2017
Premier Education was a work study program, I assisted the career service department prepare for board meetings, research internet for job posting for student career service and other duties as assigned.
Pros
people were great, friendly and always willing to teach
Cons
it didn't give enough work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Work Environment due to Executive Level Management
Corporate Office (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTSeptember 9, 2017
Toxic Work Environment.

Senior management sets unrealistic goals, makes unreasonable demands and everyone is a number. It's all about money. Students are enrolled and set up for large debt and nothing in return. Its all about a dollar.

CEO and COO are narcissistic and clueless. Failures are at the top but blamed on the rank and file. Benefits are decreased year after year, no salty increases and promotions and perks are given to the chosen ones, which are typically the only ones who have advanced.
Pros
Co-workers for the most part were great people.
Cons
Management, stress, business model and un-reasonable expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Away
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTAugust 22, 2017
Corporate office does not care about their employees or students. They only care for the MONEY they bring in!!
The students are not happy.
They don't pay bills for their campuses.
Corporate office make promises they don't keep.
No raises, no bonus when promised.

I enjoyed assisting the students and felt horrible for the experience they went through.
Pros
Helping Students and great coworkers
Cons
The job is a joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs, horrible management, toxic workplace
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTAugust 18, 2017
I literally ran out of there, I could no longer take the drama my immediate manager (whom doesn't have a college degree) created within the finance department. Surprised that the VP of Finance didn't have a degree and was allowed to have said title, especially from an instructional institution.

Too much drama and hostility within the fiance department that was encouraged by the manager. Just do yourself a favor STAY AWAY.
Pros
Some employees were nice, nice location.
Cons
almost everyhting
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Branford, CTAugust 16, 2017
Not a promising company to work for. not very employee centric. they seem to be looking out for themselves more than the staff. Too many parts missing from the conversation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compnay seems uninterested in the education culture
Program Director (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYAugust 10, 2017
Not impressed as a employee and how it continues to misguide and mistreat there employee which doesn't allow for and affective work environment. Most students are pleased with programs and how things are run
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run and Run fast !!!!
Career Services Advisor (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CTJuly 12, 2017
Shady shady shady and with a side of unethical. Breaks laws signs up students with no GED's or high school diploma's. Passes students thru even when they fail to collect financial aid. Turn over is a revolving door. Your best is never enough. They have weekly calls where if you don't place enough students they make fun of you in front of your colleagues . Management is a joke a bunch of uneducated fools. Worse job ever .....
Pros
I live to see another day
Cons
If you like being dishonest this is the place for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Certified Surgical Technologist Instructor/ (Current Employee) –  Dover, DEJuly 3, 2017
i like it, busy from the time i walk in to the time i leave. I have learned how to deal with educating adults in a professional manner. the hardest part of the job is telling a student they did not pass the class.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse company to work for.
Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJune 6, 2017
The worse company to work for especially in Jersey City. Management is very poor. ADOA & DOA steal leads and take the admission reps appointments. The company do not provide computers for its admission reps, there's never any tissue for staff and students and they took the water machine from staff. Phones and lights are often turned off because they don't pay bills. I wouldn't recommend my dog to work there.
Pros
Right around the corner from the shopping area.
Cons
Treat students and staff like dirt.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run forest run
Director of Admissions (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJJanuary 21, 2017
This is a disgraceful institution real garbage heap. Anyone who says otherwise is a liar. DO NOT WORK THERE you will end up in court the department of Ed is about to shut them down for the multitude of violations.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 44NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potentially great job is ruined by corporate
Instructor (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJDecember 28, 2016
I've been an instructor here for 2-3 years and unfortunately I have seen it decline rapidly, recently. The hours are great, the pay is okay and the students are really amazing. If it weren't for the students I wouldn't still be here; they are inspiring, hard working, amazing individuals who deserve every bit of education we can give them for the price they are paying. That being said, corporate has some serious explaining to do when it comes to the way this school is handled.

Rarely do our students get their textbooks on time (the beginning of the mod); even when they do, sometimes the instructors would not have known that they were teaching that class, OR the books that were issued are different from the last time we taught the class, which is also never discussed at any point. Either way they do not ALLOW us to prepare properly. Apparently they switch textbooks so often because corporate does not pay the supplier bill on time, so they refuse to ship books to us, and they have to go through a new supplier. New supplier, new textbook.

We do not receive resources to help teach classes. There is one working TV, one working projector, outdated dvds and no chance of having tissues, sanitizer, markers, scissors, staplers, tape.. things that normal schools have readily available for students and teachers.

Recently our copier has broken and we are relying on printing everything out from computer labs, whose printers work only half of the time, if there is printer ink or copy paper available to print anything at all. There was literally one week where instructors were
  more... bringing in their own copy paper to print things out on. We heard it was because corporate has not paid the Staples' bill and they stopped shipping us paper.

They also have not been paying the janitor's bill. This poor lady comes in late at night and scrubs toilets, cleans floors and empties trash, and corporate decided to stop paying her.. so she stopped working. Our floors and walls are sticky and disgusting, the trash overflows, we never have any paper towels anywhere and bugs are starting to infest.

There is a false wall in one of the classrooms that has been broken for a few months. Literally, the wall is coming down.

We never. Ever. Ever have the supplies we need. No supplies for the MA instructors to teach phlebotomy, none for the massage students to massage with, and no AED machine for the CPR courses. I have seen management put orders in for them because they know we need them, but corporate refuses to purchase them for us despite the thousands they are getting through tuition.

And to put the icing on the cake... The running joke here at Harris School of Business is that no one has ever seen a pay increase, ever. There are instructors who have been here for years, who do what they are supposed to be doing, and are great and passionate educators, who haven't once seen a raise. It just doesn't happen. We are under appreciated, overworked, and uncared for (NOT by management; Corporate is the one neglecting us). I highly recommend finding another workplace that will offer advancement opportunities, because you will not find any here.
  less
Pros
Good hours and great students
Cons
No benefits, no chance of pay increase, no support from corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
look elsewhere for a class
xxx (Former Employee) –  xxxDecember 4, 2016
This company is poorly run, at least the school in Danbury, CT. The students are left not knowing if classes will run, students show up for class and there are no instructors to teach it.
As for working for the company there is no job satisfaction other than the interaction with students and feeling like you are helping steer them in the right direction, just too bad it's with this school. The management is not satisfied if you gave your last drop of blood. Nothing makes them happy. If you choose to work there, you won't be there long.
Pros
working with students
Cons
everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 27, 2016
ceo is a tyant. regularly yells and screams at employees. no care of student success, it's all about the census and profitability of the company. great employees that care about the company, just not the owners.
Was this review helpful?Yes 45NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for highly driven people.
Long term executive employee (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTSeptember 20, 2016
I have worked for PEG for many years, advancing into an executive level position. I am very proud to be associated with a group of individuals who are so hard working and passionate about Career Education and the positive impact we have in our communities.

The company does have expectations of excellence from both their employees and their students. I would say that this company is a great fit for those individuals who thrive in this kind of environment where they strive to be the best they can be. For those who do, there are great opportunities. On the other hand, for those individuals who are not comfortable in this kind of environment, it might not be a very good fit.
Pros
Can be very gratifying work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 49Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student focused company providing "Premier" results
Vice President of Career Services (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTSeptember 15, 2016
Working with a dedicated "student-focused" team of professionals who believe in the mission of PEG - has to be one of the most gratifying part of working for this company.

In an ever changing world, knowing education is so vital and that we are assisting students achieve their professional goals, is rewarding and inspirational on many levels.

PEG employs a professional management team who is directly involved with students, staff and faculty supporting a conducive learning environment.
Pros
Working with a team of dedicated professionals
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 39Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Very important position (Former Employee) –  one of the locationsSeptember 9, 2016
Premier Education Group, Branford Hall is the worst to work for. Funny how all these other reviews were written, I am sure by the corporate office. Sad part is the President of the company does not care he is just in it for the money. Management is a joke, they all say they have your back, but really the mean work harder and pass students who can't even speak English. The hardest part of my job was waking up every morning and dealing with the horrible people/management in those buildings.

These teachers are over worked, under paid and get no respect. the students run the school and have no respect for anybody. The turn over in this company is disgusting and the President doesn't care. The good people that work hard and do great things they let go because they stand up for what is right with morals and ethics.

This company promotes people with no education to high functioning positions. Like taking a receptionist with no education and making them Externship coordinators or Directors. Funny thing is if the state ever found out or their accreditors ever found out they would be shut down like other schools like this one.

I have never worked for an employer where there is a fight in the hallways everyday. It is horrible and the staff and instructors can't do or say anything due to the fear of being fired.
Pros
none
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 59No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
IT Support (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTSeptember 2, 2016
Great group of people to work for. I enjoy coming to work every day. There is always training for different departments. Most employees are here because they believe in our mission to help people better their lives.
Pros
Vacation from the Start
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 38Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Premier Education Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 65 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9