Find companies:
Prime Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Prime Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They will use, abuse, and spit you out.
Previous top notch driver spreading the truth. (Former Employee), Springfield, moNovember 15, 2014
Pros: they will front all expenses and help you get your cdl.nice trucks that are well maintained.
Cons: the trainers are disgusting, you will pay back all expenses once you are up and running. no home time, no respect. you will go broke if you lease and take. any time off.
I came from an office position looking for some freedom. What I got was my cdl (the only good thing), and a lot of bad memories. The experience with their trainers was horrible. These guys just use you to double their driving clock. They are selfish, unclean, and overall are horrible to deal with. Once I was in my own truck, as a company driver, they – more... abused me daily. They only want you to lease so you take on the risk and they get all the money. I have heard tons of stories of no time off at all and still Going broke. Prime loves it's office workers at the terminal, but drivers (who make the money for everyone) are 2 nd class citizens at best. ( in one of the safety meetings the drivers were actually referred to as grunts of the company if you can believe it.....) As for me, I got some experience and got out. I am driving local now home nights and weekends, working for a `real` company. I am making MORE money and am much happier having a normal life. Prime just wants all thAt government grant money. If you are destitute, they will get you into a truck, but this company does not care about you. If you work hard and get your cdl and some experience, you can move on quickly to a reputable company. Would I do it over? Not on your life. It was a horrible experience. I wanted to quit every day I had to spend with the horrible trainers. On my own the experience was better, but living on the road for weeks sucks, especially when there is no appreciation for your efforts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avery unique cafeteria style restaurant
Day Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Pittston, PANovember 13, 2014
Pros: we were able to talk to company drivers and learn about their culture
Cons: prime decided to contract an outside company to operate their new cafeteria
I organized and developed a great food eating cafeteria within the commons area of Prime Inc. With properly trained crew I maintained excellent food quality & service to hundreds of driver's daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Place where only a few succeed
Lease Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MOOctober 5, 2014
Pros: nice headquarters
Cons: short runs, low pay
The company offers high wages for hard work. Company does not stay with promises to drivers and upper management is not available for the driver
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company to work for!!!!!
STUDENT DRIVER (Former Employee), springfield, MOSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: no pros.... worst company ever
Cons: dirty trainers... bad attitude diapatch
Company cares nothing about employees. Assigned to a trainer who did not take a bath or wash-up for a week straight, urinating in soda bottles and controlled even the phone charger in the truck. I understand that's their truck but they should be more polite to trainees or don't volunteer to train. My trainer was nasty and he stink. The dispatcher never – more... listened to any of my complaints, just told me to be quiet and don't complain; the trainer was doing me a favor by training me. They really need to look into better trainers. Was called the first day by my trainer and told that they were on the way, waiting 4 hours at the terminal and when he got there we didn't leave until the next morning; I could have stayed in the hotel. I left a five year job to become a truck driver.. working for Prime trucking was a waste of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MOAugust 2, 2014
Pros: 401k
Cons: low pay
Food Lion is a good company to work for if intersted in retail food sevice they have a friendly envirment and flexble scedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great starter job
Long Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MOJuly 31, 2014
very nice place to start a career as a long haul trucker, instructors are very knowledgeable and patient. company provides great equipment and exceptional work environment to work in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere,and company
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee), MOMay 19, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: no local positions
Awesome trucking school, great company gave me the tools I needed to be successful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best comany i ever work for.
Company Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MOMay 1, 2014
Pros: good work relations
Driving from state to state was the best.Management was nice and we had very good co-workers.hardest part of the job was getting lost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prime is bullsh!t
student driver (Former Employee), springfield, missouriFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: terminals are nice
Cons: training sucks
Prime is bullsh!t. Puts you on the road with a trainer even if you have no truck driving experience. Trainer is more concerned about their pay than your training. Very little time to practice on driving skills. They send you home at your own expense if your not their definition of a perfect driver by 3 weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wanna GO Broke and Never Own A Truck
Student ....then Driver (Former Employee), Springfiled MOJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: terminals pretty numerous perks for terminal employees
Cons: drivers pay for elite terminals for prime cpac program a joke
When to Prime as a Student....Lady in the Training department was horrible...We are Students not in Highschool and disrespect doesn't earn one respect intructor or not! Second information was given out to everyone doing a written test when you can ask the DOT officer questions during the testing to make sure you pass is no better the Swift getting caught. – more... Half the time there is No DOT officer on the Testing Prime Pads and its just Prime teachers giving students the CDL Driving test...while the students instructors sit in a little out building on the pad. Everyone who has any weight issue no matter THYROID or not will end up with a CPAC machine owing $2000 cause Prime has them in house. Dispatcher would argue with Trainer...on phone while I sat and listened and sometimes wait for loads for over 10 hours. Go on the yard in MO and the favorites of Prime got loads ASAP saw it about 20 times and my trainer would get up there and no load talk to your dispatcher in the morning...Dispatcher was always on him about my training and heard Dispatcher say maybe he isn't trainable. No Faith in Trainer or me at the time so I got my CDL finished my time NEVER bought a TRUCK from them came back to my state went to a different company and yeaaaaa PRIME NEVER LOST A POUND WAS CLEARED OF SLEEP APENA....YOU STOLE $2000 of my money and added stress to my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing scenery Good team sprit and helping personel
Lease Operator, Refrigerated Careers (Former Employee), Springfield, MODecember 18, 2013
Pros: lots of miles
Cons: out to long
As Trucking companies go this is one for the best to work for both as a team or solo driver the lease option and division is awesome. Caring freight and drive managers help keep the wheels turning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I LOVED THAT OUTFIT
Flatbed Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MONovember 19, 2013
Pros: they awarded gifs quartely, etc, etc..
THESE PEOPLE HAD THEIR OUTFIT WELL-ORGANIZED.ANYTIME I NEEDED SOMETHING,THEY WERE THERE FOR ME.THEY GAVE ME LOVELY MILES,AND A PERSON COULD NOT ASK FOR MORE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
made good money.
Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MONovember 16, 2013
Pros: good facilities
Cons: no benefits
lease purchase was good drove 48 states and made decent money.just before my lease was honored they didnot give much loads and i went broke i was forced to quit and lost my money they held till the lease was suppot be honored but in these business they are no guarantees.but i did my best to fullfield the lease.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sub-Average Company.
Otr driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MOOctober 22, 2013
Pros: nonr
Cons: everything
Prime inc. Is a joke. There training program is very disorganized and the instructors and trainers only care about money. The company itself only cares about money and will take it from you anyway they can. There medical department is bad, they will make you take a sleep study and will make you pay for a cpap machine that costs 2000 dollars. They say – more... they pay you 600 a week but after all the taxes and deductions you would be lucky if you take home 350. I am glad I left. The trainers only need 6 months of experience. How can someone with only 6 months of experience train someone else, its just a setup for failure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
CDL A Driver | Over the road (Former Employee), MOOctober 9, 2013
If I could give it no stars I would.
Management/dispatchers are bad.
Work is as ridiculous as the pay.
Trainers have no business being trainers.
Don't waste you time (or money) here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job let down
Truck Driver (Former Employee), MOSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: poor fleet managers
Fun and enjoying job. Just upset that I went thru psd course and 15900 miles out of 30000 miles and never received a no call back after asking to take a week off. And in that week my trainer quit. I called three weeks before I started looking for another job. My fleet manager I feel let me down! Gave up a eight and ahalft ceerer to start this job what – more... a let down – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day would be long distances driving for 10 hrs a day.
Driver (Current Employee), Pittston, PAJuly 9, 2013
A typical day would be long distances driving for 10 hrs a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they could careless about the drivers
otr driver (Former Employee), MOMay 20, 2013
Cons: everything!
Horrible company. Only came to prime to get my CDL. Once you're year is up, FIND A NEW COMPANY!

Hometime is rare...sure you get a day for each week out, up to 4 days. But you don't make enough money to take the time. Or when you do they'll try to force dispatch you in the middle of home time!

Was flat out told by dispatch, "the load is priority #1, – more... I could careless if you get the miles for a load." Great company? Hardly. People who praise this company are blind.

Bad equipment. There "new" trucks always breaking down. Had my truck in the shop for days to a week over 7 times...in a 9 month period. No layover pay on weekends, and if you're close to home they won't let you go home for nothing. I had recommended this company at first to some buddies, now I'm stuck apologizing for that mistake. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productie and love traveling
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Springfield, MOMay 14, 2013
Pros: traveling
Cons: not enough pay
love OTR driving and bosses are very nice people and dispatcher is great and co-workers are good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experience
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MOMay 14, 2013
Pros: great bosses
Cons: not enough money
Productive and loved the OTR driving, and good bosses, and co-workers good to work with and helpful and made a good team.

1 2 3

About Prime Inc.

Check out these Prime numbers -- more than 3,850 tractors and more than 7,000 trailers. Specialized carrier New Prime (which does – Read more