Find companies:
PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Current Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDDecember 6, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you can impact the lives of children by making leaning fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changes are in progress for the better.
Police Investigator/Counselor (Current Employee), Prince George's County MarylandDecember 3, 2014
Pros: immediate supervisor
Cons: salaries and advancement opportunites
The entire system is going through a transitional period. My day is dictated by the immediate needs of my department. My immediate Supervisor and Director are extremely knowledgeable and supportive. My co-workers are professional and we work well as a team.The hardest part of my job is getting to work; the traffic is horrible just about every day. I – more... enjoy working with the youth and assisting them in being successful in their endeavors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Workplace
Guidance Secretary II (Current Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDDecember 1, 2014
I enjoy working in education. A typical day is busy with day to day operations of office.The most enjoyable part of my day is helping students make decisions about their life beyond high school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Oxon Hill, MDNovember 17, 2014
Pros: great staff
Everyone treated me with respect, and as if I was one of the regular school teachers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Advance
Itinerant Special Education Assistant (Current Employee), Frederick Douglass SHSSeptember 30, 2014
PGCPS is a great place to advance, some jobs don't pay much, but once you get in the county it's easy to move around. The more education and certifications you have the more money they will pay you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Tasks
Commercial Vehicle Operator (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MarylandSeptember 25, 2014
P. G. County Public Schools is a job that is an enjoyable job that the children make you enjoy the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with Awesome People!!
Dedicated Aide (Current Employee), Landover, MDSeptember 7, 2014
Productive and fun place to work with Awesome People!!
I enjoy working and assisting the children that I come in contact with daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience
Contractor, Support (Current Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: advancement
Prince George's County Public Schools is a great place to gain experience. They also provide great work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an OK job until we went to Oracle database system
Oracle Developer (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDAugust 17, 2014
Pros: fairly regular work hours, good benefits, extra holidays
Cons: some people not working well as team, bad unions
Oracle is a database system that is not well-suited for a public educational setting. Everything had to be customized to such an extent that the continuous upgrades to the system (quarterly when I was involved) were much too complicated and often became quite unmanageable. I often felt like what we were doing was pounding a square peg into a round hole – more... and most of the time making even the slightest change to the system would set the whole system out of whack and cause major disruptions in service to customers. I worked largely with Benefits and this was not a user-friendly Oracle package at all - at least not for the needs of our school system. Very often a lot of extra time had to be taken to fix problems in the system that were caused weeks, months or years prior; some due to human error but many because of the inflexibility of the Oracle database itself. I think our previous COBOL-based home-grown system, in spite of the manual work involved, was more suited to the needs of our school system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support Personnel
Specialist (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDAugust 11, 2014
Very busy days and lots of interaction with customers internal and external. There are opportunities to learn from all of the many experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Kindergarten Teacher (Current Employee), MarylandAugust 10, 2014
• Participated in faculty meetings, as well as parent teacher conferences, SIT and IEP meetings
• Developed and implemented creative daily and unit lesson plans for a predominately ESOL classroom
• Conducted whole group, as well as small group, activities in math, reading and writing
• Created behavior management systems that informed parents of child’s – more... progress
• Administered tests and evaluations to monitor growth – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going Through a Re-Org HR, MD
HR Assistant (Current Employee), PG, MDJune 16, 2014
Going Through a Re-Org
Busy
Walk ins
Phone calls
Nice Co-Workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A public education is important
Classroom Teacher Panorama Elementary School (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDJune 9, 2014
Pros: free lunch, free parking, paid holidays, professional staff
Cons: lunch duty
I enjoy education and thus, the opportunity to educate students in any capacity. The county provided a multitude of academic materials that supported my classroom goals, classroom management and meeting educational objectives.

The schools' principal was supportive and patient with not just staff but parents and all levels of educators.

Teaching is – more... the most rewarding experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Interim Director of Transportation (Acting) (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDMay 20, 2014
Pros: benefit packages
Cons: political
Oversaw a staff of 2,000 members. This department was in the top 10 of school bus fleets in the nation under my directorship. We provided efficient trasportation to students, which aided in their educational and instructional development. This was one of the most memorable and self fulfilling positions in my work career. It help the development of the – more... children of our future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Enjoy Working in Education
Ninth Grade Academy Coordinator/US History Teacher (Current Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDMay 20, 2014
Pros: relationships with students and community involvement
Cons: policy and procedure
Working with Prince George's County Schools has been satisfying mainly because of my love for the profession. I have played dual roles in each school where I have worked both as a teacher in the classroom and as a team leader of teachers. My typical day at work is usually non-stop. From the time I walk in the doors, I am moving and shaking. Most days – more... I arrive early to prepare for programs I've organized that week and stay late grading papers and writing lesson plans.
While I truly enjoy the middle school child, I am able to branch out in the high school environment because of the many extracurricular activities that take place.

The easiest part of my job is being in the classroom with my students and the hardest part of my job is the inconsistencies across the county in terms of implementing policy and procedures.

While the county is innovative, it usually does not keep a program for more than 2-3 years to collect efficient data for analysis of its effectiveness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding School System considering size and scop of geographic area.
Art Teacher (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDMay 7, 2014
Pros: good people, good staff support, good students overall.
Cons: salaries could be better. security could be a little tighter.
Prince George's County Schools is a remarkable school system considering the size and scope of the geographic area it covers. The educational program is superior to many smaller, equal, and larger school systems where I have taught in over thirty years of teaching. Excellent staff development support and overall structure. I would recommend this school – more... system to anyone living and working in the Prince George's County area. I miss working there - Overall good students and parent support. Of course, there are problems like in any school system, but this school system rides the tide and continues to impress me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good professional experience
Elementary School Teacher, Grades 1st and 3rd (Former Employee), Clinton, MDApril 28, 2014
The school was full of great students and a hands on staff. A very positive environment for teaching and learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent for persons with no dependents
Custodian Supervisor (Current Employee), Bladensburg MDApril 28, 2014
Pros: benefit plan
Cons: union doesn't stand in unity with workers
A typical day at work as a custodian with PGCPS is generally repetitive. The staff depending on where you are located can be truly unappreciative. Some co-workers are really about doing the job but often the supervisors have bad peolpe skills and do not wish to work but instead just give orders. This is the type of job that works better if everyone – more... does their part. If you come in contact with good superiors then i would advise you to stay there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confused of all the high ratings.
Elementary classroom teacher (Current Employee), Central Prince George CountyApril 23, 2014
Pros: ?
Cons: no support. teachers do not stay.
I am very confused of all the high ratings and great compliments this district received. As I am reading through them, I keep on asking myself if we are talking about the same district.
I am a first year teacher at PG County that transferred from another state. With all the new changes this district is going through it has caused a lot of confusion – more... and a high amount of work for teachers causing us to feel like we are back in college plus having a full time job. Coming from another state, it's very difficult for me not to compare and I look forward to moving to another district. There is no support from administration, even though they had told me in my interview that I would have a mentor. Very low staff with large classroom sizes. They put all the special needs students in my class with hardly any Special Ed help (I see the Spec. Ed. teacher every other day and they pull out the students for 30minutes a day). If you want to work in an environment where you are on your own with no support, this is the district for you. However, I recommend you to look elsewhere. If you still don't believe me listen to this: HALF OF THE TEACHERS AT MY SCHOOL ARE LEAVING OR TRANSFERRING. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company, great flexible work schedule
Home and Hospital Teacher (HHT) (Current Employee), Oxon HillApril 18, 2014
Again, excellent company to work for. Independent work schedule, wonderful parents and students.

1 2 3 4