Prince Telecom Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for Prince Telecom
Technician installer (Current Employee) –  Marmora, NJJuly 8, 2016
Is just a nightmare to work in a company that neglect, treat, put down employees with really good potential and knowledge about networking and troubleshooting. i could say this kind of job is for high school drop out or people that dont have any other thing to do. you cant grow in this company, or be better working only 40 hours a week. they always require more than 50 hours and dont care about your other priorities. they are just worried about make money with employees and put them down, that way employees are going to be stuck in the same position and doing the same job next 20 years. benefits are really bad, and vacation are paid with the minimum wadge instead of calculate your monthly wadge. management is not good at all and supervisors are really rusty.
Pros
none
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun and challenging
Telcom Technician (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 3, 2016
Prince Telecom is a cable contractor serving Comcast and several other cable providers.

The work is technical, physical and fast paced. Techs work directly with our customer's subscribers and this offers a unique challenge. It requires many skill sets. You have to be good with a customer and you have to be good with electronics. You also have to be a safe effective driver.
Pros
Fun job. Many challenges. Never bored here.
Cons
Not much job security. Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Technician (Former Employee) –  KennewickMarch 2, 2016
You spend all your time here! No family time at all.. be prepared to live at the job! Money is good but everthing after that is horrible. U basically live on the job. Not to mention u get paid per job and if it falls threw 2 hours into it no money for you... waste of time and waste of money because u pay for ur own gas and they "reimburse" u but u spend about 100 a week and receive bout 40 back. Horrible place
Pros
money
Cons
everything from management to ur life is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't wast your TIME !
technician (Former Employee) –  New MexicoJanuary 4, 2016
Company does 2 Drug screens, one before hire and the other after hire , supposedly for your badge.(Doesn't make sense). Company trucks are NOT taken care of, and they all have a sensitive, Drive Cam that will get you a write up and or FIRED. -- PLAN ON PAYING FOR FOR YOUR GAS !

Your start time is 6:30 a.m. and don't leave the office until after 7:30-8 p.m. and NOT PAID, Because it's ALL PEACE Work and Paid Only when you do installs, and they only PAY $1.75 in GAS REIMBURSEMENTS for Driving Company Truck and Route !

If anybody comes from Out of Town? Guaranteed a Write up or someone gets fired ! Plus if you work out of town BYE BYE for 3 Long month's away from home ! (Mandatory everyone will take a turn) Prepare to be Micro Managed.

Training is set up to Fail, (Don't have much of a training program. Just hope your not trained by a new tech that's learning himself.

They will pay the cell phone bill, for the phone they loan you ! Meanwhile your going broke, with the favoritism on Routing ! They say they don't but your checks say other wise.
Pros
Cell Phone they loan to you is Paid -
Cons
I'd LOOK for something else before working here !
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor jobs are for single men
Prince telecom Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  Yakima, WADecember 9, 2015
Long hours but good money if you hustle. You'll never have a clear time off in this line of work. Don't even think about making plans after work.
Pros
benefits, company vehicle, company phone.
Cons
long hours, inconsistent schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team members, and fast paced work style
Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Gilroy, CAOctober 14, 2015
The work days are about the same thing day in and day out. You show up to work early and go home late. busy through the day. The best part about the job is the colleagues that i get to work with every day and the in field supervisors that we get to know and work with, i
Pros
The experiences
Cons
Not much life out side of work due to the working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dissapointing
Broadband Technician (Former Employee) –  Boone, NCSeptember 13, 2015
No management , very low wages. One of the worst companies I've worked for in the 25 years I've been doing Cable Television. Gas purchase exceeds what you are reimbursed...Management has no clue what is going on with anything
Pros
Company truck and tools provided
Cons
Out of pocket gas expence, no management, long hours for low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cable Installations
Professional Installation Specialist (Former Employee) –  WashingtonJuly 31, 2014
Its going into peoples houses. Don't be shy. Some days were longer, some where shorter. Also, don't be afraid of heights, or crawlspaces.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Single Income, Poor Choice for a Family Income
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  AuburnApril 26, 2014
Typical day included going in at 6:30 AM to basically sit around and wait for routes to show up between 7-730 am.(Since you're paid Piece work you're essentially losing money here since you aren't installing) After checking out equipment and getting out of the warehouse, a typical day is pretty decent, but there are days where you could wait 2+ hours for a job waiting for a customer to get home and they never do, so it cancels and you get paid NOTHING other than a measly $1.75 in gas. Expect long hours most days. my average day ran from 10-16 hours depending on workload. As a single guy the income isn't bad, but if you are a family trying live on it as a single income, GOOD LUCK. Since I started and left, there have been FOUR cuts in our contract with the cable provider we work for.I went from making roughly 16-20/hr(After a month or two of getting my rhythm for the work) when I started there, down to roughly 11-13/hr by the time I left. Soon enough I'm sure people will be making the same wage as a fry cook with 10 times the hours. Expect Mandatory 6 day work weeks with some mandatory 7 day weeks as well. If you get sick, good luck actually getting them to be reasonable, they will threaten with write-ups if you don't come in. Oh one last thing, some customers are absolutely great and will give you respect for being a service person. Then there are those customer who just treat you like dirt and will blame YOU(the tech) for the cable company's problems and errors and billing and basically take it all out on you making you wonder why you bother to help people.

TL:DR
Personally
  more... the people I worked with was great and so where most of the managers that I worked under (There's always going to be people you don't get along with), put the pay just wasn't enough to justify the work we did anymore.  less
Pros
company truck, cell phone, benefits
Cons
pay for your own gas, long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always evolving and changing
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Union, NJJanuary 4, 2014
Fast passed, day to day there were always changes that you need to adapted to. This kept you on your toes but could also be frustrating.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
1.9
Compensation/Benefits
1.9
Job Security/Advancement
1.8
Management
2.0
Culture
2.3

Prince Telecom Inc Reviews by Location