Princess Cruises Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and well managed
commis (Current Employee) –  victoriaNovember 19, 2017
Working with Princess Cruises was an unforgetable experience. Well organized and easy to work with different people with different cultures. I was mesmerized with all the destinations and ports which was like an adventure for me. I would like to rejoin the ship life but i jot a job in Mauritius as cook in police training school. But i did noot forgot when i first came at Victoria Canada. This is why i want to have a secure job and if possible to immigrates in Canada.
Pros
free meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa dinamica e agradavel de trabalhar
Relacoes Publicas e contabilidade (Former Employee) –  Los AngelesNovember 18, 2017
Empresa que da formacao e oportunidade de progressao na carreira.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly skilled position
Vocalist Supervisor/Instructor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 18, 2017
Mu job at Princess was extremely complexed and required many specific skills. The compensation did not reflect the skills and time necessary for this position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always continue learning
Direct Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CANovember 6, 2017
Princess is extremely diverse and you can be in almost any profession and find a place in the company that is relevant to one's expertise. However, vetting management and finding those who are good at developing and nurturing a team to be the best they can is difficult. I was unfortunately working under people who either didn't know the job well enough to be a mentor or someone so worried about appearances, she's stab anyone in the back to look good, including the people who worked under her. Upper management turns a blind eye to the bad behavior and poor team building skills, including cultivating relationships in other departments. The undue stress cause by egomaniacal decisions and constant changes in previous decisions make it almost unbearable to work here.
Pros
benefits
Cons
some management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with lot of cultures
Sous chef (Former Employee) –  anywhereNovember 5, 2017
Company growing so value for people is getting less.job satisfaction I's not there.other company people are given value not for old stffs.salary is given more for new hires
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chef cook
Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 1, 2017
Me gusta trabajar todos respeto personas siempre ayudo mi compañero trabajando me gusta cosinero comida rico pagar bien yo siempre respeto mi patrón gracias
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience varies greatly by department
Manager (Current Employee) –  Santa ClaritaOctober 31, 2017
good company but experiences vary depending on department. Often feels like many different companies. Business casual attire but work life balance can be difficult if you are supporting a ship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
Stateroom Steward (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAOctober 30, 2017
Princess Cruises is one of the most admired in the cruise industry. The ships are designed for luxury and comfort. Working with Princess is both fun and exciting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job- seasonal
GUEST SERVICE HOST (Former Employee) –  AlaskaOctober 30, 2017
I have been working for Princess 3 years seasonally and I have coworkers that has been there longer. The work ethic and environment is great to work in. Able to grow, great benefits. Raises every year. Free cruise after your 2nd season.
Pros
Cruise benefits
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management aboard ship is poor. Pay is non competitive with other cruise lines.
Marine Engineer (Former Employee) –  Worldwide.October 25, 2017
A day of work will normally include only operational checks. Maintenance is at a minimum on basic machinery.

Managing officers are promoted more on who they are friends with rather than who is best fitted for the job. Most are unable to manage a team effectively, mostly screaming and threats.

Overtime is expected and senior ranks disregard Work/Rest regulations.

Hardest part of the job is the people and being unable to work fully on machinery you are trained to work on.

The most enjoyable part is the people outwith the techincal department and the places you visit.
Pros
Travel.
Cons
Long hours, poor management, poor job satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelente ambiente de trabajo
Cocinero A (Former Employee) –  alaska estados unidos de norte americaOctober 22, 2017
excelente ambiente de trabajo , una labor de mucho amor al arte! ya que suele ser un trabajo muy pesado física y mentalmente ! pero aun asi ha sido una de la mejores experiencias de mi vida !
Pros
seguro medico y vivienda a bordo!
Cons
poca agua potable .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa Consistente
Supervisor de Recepção (Former Employee) –  USAOctober 19, 2017
É uma empresa com uma enorme consistência e muito bem estruturada.
Contacto constante com diferentes culturas e por isso uma enorme atenção na forma como nos expressamos.
Os dias de trabalho trazem quase a diario novas aprendizagens...
Além de um bom desempenho na nossa profissão também existem regras básicas de segurança que nos tornam responsavéis pela segurança dos nossos passageiros.
Posso mesmo dizer que uma parte de mim lamenta ter deixado para trás a vida no mar no entanto ter a companhia diária do meu filho supera tudo!
Pros
Oferta de Excursões para empregados
Cons
Muito tempo longe de casa
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place , great salary , Most of the top managers don't care.
Waiter - Fine Dining (Former Employee) –  Matanuska-Susitna Borough, AKOctober 18, 2017
One of the best-rewarding places you can work as a server. You get free cruises and cheap accomodation , with a great work-place and lots of opportunities to travel. The managers didn't think of us as people , probably the worst management I've ever seen.
Pros
Free Cruise after 2nd year
Cons
Management is the worst.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy Positiva
Purser - Front Desk Customer Services Agent (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 17, 2017
Recomendada para todo el mundo que disfrute con el turismo / viaje
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced call center
Direct Reservations Agent (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 12, 2017
Don't know if my review matters since it's been 10 years since I've worked there. Low wages and high insurance premiums. The people that I worked were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non stop of work.
Commis 3 (Former Employee) –  san pedro los angeles usaOctober 7, 2017
first timer.very hard labor.low salary.but good experience in kitchen.
i meet a lot of people.travel around the globe.no sleep sometimes.buts its fun.
Pros
free luches
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employed as dancer.
Entertainer, travel consultant and dance teacher (Former Employee) –  All over the worldOctober 1, 2017
Employed as a dancer, I also worked for the future cruise sales, selling passengers their next vacation.
We had excellent privileges on board and I thoroughly enjoyed every part of the jobs I did.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente di lavoro improntato sulla precisione, tempi e orari di lavoro.
MECCANICO (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CASeptember 30, 2017
Le giornate di lavoro erano improntate al controllo e alla manutenzione di motori vari, e parti meccaniche in movimento. In questo tipo di lavoro ho dovuto imparare a gestirmi, essendo questo un lavoro molto dispendioso di energie, anche perchè c'era un tempo prestabilito per la riparazione di un qualsiasi gruppo meccanico.
C'era una ottima gestione delle varie figure, altamente qualificate, addette al controllo dei vari settori della nave. La parte più difficile del mio lavoro è stata quella di trascorrere la maggior parte del tempo sulla nave, soprattutto in lunghi tratti, dove al termine del lavoro guardando dal vetro della mia cabina, non vedere terre emerse.
Mentre la parte più piacevole è stata quella di conoscere e trascorrere del tempo con nuove persone di etnia diversa dalla mia, chiacchierando e scherzando nei momenti di pausa della giornata.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente empresa, grande experiência internacional
(Accommodation Clerk) Auxiliar Administrativo (Former Employee) –  Santa Clarita - CalifórniaSeptember 25, 2017
Trabalhei na Princess Cruises como auxiliar de escritório. Trabalhei no departamento de housekeeping. Cuidando de toda a parte administrativa e burocrática do setor. Desempenhei um bom papel, adorei a experiência, porém a distância da família me ver procurar outras oportunidades.
Pros
Alimentação, moradia e tratamento aos funcionários.
Cons
Distância e tempo embarcado.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Reservations Sales (Former Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CASeptember 21, 2017
Princess Cruises was much fun to work at. The low pay and lack of benefits was the only thing that made this a job and not a career. Exceptional place to work with friendly people.
Pros
great place
Cons
Low pay no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Princess Cruises. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 448 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1