Find companies:
Priscilla McCall's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Priscilla McCall's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Professional, Educational Work Enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Salem, NCAugust 20, 2014
Pros: reasonable lunch breaks, manager is fair with scheduling
Cons: part-time employees are limited to 25 hours weekly, the compensation is started off a minimum wage and it takes a few years to get a raise.
My typical day would start off with counting the safe, count the contents of the register and making/taking deposits to the bank. Scan and file any paperwork. Greet customers as they would enter the store. and assist the customer with any questions or help educate them about products in the store. I've learned many interesting things along the way. – more... such as information about our products, opening and closing procedures and what type of responsibility a key holder takes on. I absolutely love the ladies I work with, the ladies work in a professional manner and are the most kind and friendliest individuals. I enjoy Working at Priscilla McCall's, I learn new things everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment for Disposable employees
Store Manager (Former Employee), WilmingtonMay 7, 2014
Pros: fun entertaining products and customers
Cons: no stability, advancement, no monetary gain....most everything
The corporate managers DO NOT respect or appreciate their part time employees WHAT SO EVER. ALL new hire employees start at minimum wage of $7.25/ hour regardless of location. I had employees of mine that had worked for me for 2+ years that I was not allowed to give a raise to. Whenever I tried, and gave my reasons of why said employees were deserving – more... of the whopping 25 cent raise they would CONSIDER giving the employees- supervisor would tell me that all the reasons I'm giving aren't saying why employees DESERVE a raise...that they're doing their "job". They offer no incentive for employees to stay. They never hire as Full time and now all part time employees are hired and will not exceed 25 hours a week.

As management, I had ZERO work/life balance. During Valentines season, I would be working 100 hour work weeks with no days off and no breaks. I was not allowed to hold a second job while employed as management and they don't give annual raises to managers either. My days would be spent from 8:30 am- 4:00 pm alone and with no other employee to work with and my day is spent deep cleaning the store repeatedly. I had a set schedule that I was only allowed to deviate from if I had a REASON to change it. The corporate supervisors require their store managers to review DVR footage for ANY time the manager is not in the store, so if the manager leaves at 5:00, they'll be watching from 5:00- closing the next day, so employees are always being reviewed and critiqued.
I was forced to work employees on days off that I had no problem giving them off for the simple fact that my boss did not want to accommodate that request off because she "would never let her other stores offer their staff that". Then after putting that employee on the schedule, being told to write them up if they don't arrive for a shift she already knew that employee refused to work.
Retail stores are FORBIDDEN from hiring men, you will notice ONLY women at EVERY SINGLE STORE LOCATION- and they get around this by employing men at the corporate office.

If you want any respect from an employer or stability in a company, this would NOT be a company to go for. I learned a lot about management while I was here, but was also forced into a lot of situations that I don't agree with and having to treat employees in a less than desirable way for the sake of working for a micro-managing supervisor that refuses to relinquish control to her managers. There are SO many problems with this company and how they run things I couldn't possibly list them all here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a Boring day
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Denton, TXJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, interesting work environment, interesting customers
Cons: little pay, stressful management and customers
What was probably my most interesting job, Priscilla McCall's helped me grow in my customer service and sales skills, as well as helping me learn to adapt to constant changing retail items and sales techniques, as well as learning how to deal with more difficult customers.
I greatly enjoyed working with my co-workers, all of whom were fun to work with – more... but exercised great professionalism and customer service, which is needed in a job that deal with very sensitive topics. I enjoyed being able to help customers in very personal matters as well as helping them to feel at ease with themselves, their preferences, and overall being in the store. The hardest part of the job was the short staff, as well as having to learn a great deal of information in a short amount of time.
Yes there were times we had to deal with not so friendly and sometimes downright intolerable customers, but overall my experience at Priscilla's was an enjoyable one. I even made a lifelong friend while working there! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customers can be fun to talk to.
Sale's Associate, Key-Holder (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJanuary 3, 2014
There is a lot of cleaning. There is a daily, weekly, and bi-weekly cleaning list and many of the tasks on the list get repeated. The opening shifts are boring and brutal because if you're the only one in the store you can't leave the front unattended, even if you are in dire need of a bathroom break. If they promote you to key-holder you just get more – more... responsibilities and to use your car to take deposits to the bank, but you get no extra pay or gas compensation for using your car. Also they don't offer direct deposit so you have to pick up your check, yourself each payday. Raises are few and far between if at all and don't even think about a promotion beyond key holder. I have only heard of one person getting a raise or promoted and that was the same one person who became a manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Working Environment
Sales Associate/ Key Holder (Current Employee), Durham, NCDecember 7, 2013
Pros: fun environment
Cons: no set break time.
Alot of time is spent maintaining the cleanliness of the store and educating customers about various products throughout the store while promoting sales. As a keyholder I am required to perform a shift change and closing and/ or opening, completing paperwork, and scanning the paperwork in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy store with horrible management
Store Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville NCSeptember 5, 2013
This company does not care about you as a employee. All they see is dollar signs. Much needed repairs but not willing to spend a dime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Love my customers and employees.
Retail Sales Associate / Key Holder (Current Employee), Hickory, NCAugust 7, 2013
Pros: discount, employees and customer, learning about the products
Cons: supervisor making me feel unwanted or not appreciated
It's a great place to work. I learned how to deal with angry customers and also learned how to help the customers need.My co workers are very helpful, and they are there if I need anything. The most enjoyable part of my day is when I get a customer that comes in and has no idea what they are looking for, and I get to help them and also explain each – more... product to get them to understand what they need or looking for. The hardest part is when a customer leaves with out anything. Also when my supervisor comes in and makes me feel like I am walking on egg-shells. Makes me feel unwanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Key Holder (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 17, 2013
I leaned many different things, met a lot of good people. Hardest part was mopping. Most enjoyable, everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCOctober 23, 2012
Pros: great team work
Cons: really no cons
this is a nice place to work if you would balance in your life. the family atmosphere is most definitely there, and the management of the company is in very good hands
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Experience
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCMarch 28, 2012
The store alone was fun to work and the employee's and the manager was amazing but the Supervisor is a very unfriendly and unfair Supervisor...She made it known that she had favorites. She always insults you and never apologizes for it.