Find companies:
ProBuild
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

ProBuild Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck Driver / Delivery driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 11, 2013
Pros: pay, being unspervised
Cons: not working when it rained, being sent home early during rain, not getting hours during storms.
my typical day consisted of getting loaded in the morning with 1-6 stops unloading either by dumping 1 load or hand unloading at multiple stops then going back to the yard for more loads very fast paced. I didn't learn much here as far as my co-workers I didn't have much interactions with them we were way too busy to interact with each other we would – more... come in get our loads and leave. The hardest thing about the job were the returns I had to inspect for nails and damage, measure and load anywhere from 2 to 1000 pieces of material back onto the truck by hand which was labor intensive and time consuming. the most enjoyable part of the job was being unsupervised. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Corporate Treasurer/Office Manager (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 7, 2013
Cons: hostile work environment
Management and co-workers were difficult. No one worked as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
build commerical doors
Millwork assembler (Former Employee), Durham, NCAugust 3, 2013
Cons: short breaks
it was ok, long work hours and short breaks. there's no job
advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
position
Credit & Collections (Former Employee), Irving, TXJuly 29, 2013
I was hired for a position that I knew how to do and because one of the girls(that had been there longer wanted her old job back (the one I was hired for) she got it. I was then put in a position that I was not qualified to do and did not receive any training, but was expected to just learn it. This was a credit/collections position and you just don't – more... learn something like lien's over night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Senior Sales Support Specialist (Former Employee), Lakewood,NJJuly 27, 2013
Pros: good company, good salary, great coworkers
Cons: short staffed
My daily duties were to take orders from customers and salesman, distribute the paper throughout the warehouse, order material, and manage filing. I started out in the warehouse and worked up to being an inside salesman, I've learned how to operate in a warehouse and use multiple tools (forklift,pallet jack,cherry picker) I've also learned office and – more... computer skills and interacting with customers. I worked under some of the best managers who took my under their wings and taught me product knowledge and the importance of satisfying customers. The hardest part of my job was my multiple tasks, on top of my daily office duties I also had to operate the hardware room which is considered a warehouse job. Although it was a tough work environment my coworkers made being there enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Payroll (Former Employee), Denver CorpJuly 16, 2013
Cons: management
As long as the Payroll Department continues to allows desructive behavior from its upper management and it's longest surviving
Payroll Supervisor, the department will never be a pleasant place to work. The Payroll Director and her right hand Supervisor break every known work rule there is. It is disgusting that it is allowed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent but physically demanding workplace
Shipping Clerk (Current Employee), Morrow, GAJune 30, 2013
Pros: benefits are good
Cons: short breaks, extremely hot!!!
A typical day at ProBuild starts at 2:30 am until the job is complete. It is myself and one other employee that load three 24' box trucks, two pup trailers, and sometimes a 53' trailer. Management is good about working with for time off and listening if there is a problem. I enjoy working with all of my co-workers, we get along and work well together. – more... The hardest part of my job is loading the trucks!!! The material is extremely heavy and sometimes awkward depending on the size of the window or door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable job with fun coworkers
Janitor (Former Employee), Tolono, ILJune 5, 2013
Pros: very good experiance
Cons: short lunch
I had good hours that worked around my school and sports. I learned different types of lumber and how to safely operate a forklift. The management was very good and fair too the employees. My co-workers were very helpful in teaching me the different lumber and easiest and efficient way to get jobs done. The hardest part of the job would be going on – more... deliveries and unloading many heavy objects with no help. What I like most was the working environment. We had fun but we also stayed safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Pathetic, Demeaning Job Ever!
Yard Worker (Former Employee), Mason City, IAJune 3, 2013
Pros: your outside
Cons: way too many to fit in this box!!!
Well... I'm going to start out by saying I liked the guys I worked with in the yard. They were good guys of whom deserve better. The Management was pathetic. It was like giving a spoiled 10 year old the power to run a lumber yard. It's all about them (the inside sales people). If it does not directly benefit them then they just don't care. I found it – more... to be absolutely comical that they actually got commission with salary, which was way more than they deserved compared to the Yard Workers. They literally get paid twice as much as the Yard Guys and they do nothing except sit there, run the register, and get paid. It's like giving the cashier at a grocery store commission for ringing up your food! If you like being treated like a replaceable idiot who gets paid like a 14 year old grocery store bagger, then it might be the place for you. There's no respect for you, your well being, or your financial well being. No chance for advancement whatsoever, and extremely isolated work enviroment between inside and outside employees. The work put extreme ware and tear on the body, summers are stupid hot and winters are stupid cold and it dosn't matter how hot or cold or how much snow or how much rain, you go get it done. They have no problem sending you to Minnesota from Mason City during a blizzard when travel isn't advised. So you could potentially be risking your life to appease a two-faced salesman who could care less if you make it back or not. As long as they get that Comish! The Manager couldn't even run a lemonade stand let alone a lumber yard. All in all..... IT'S A JOKE OF A PLACE TO WORK FOR. There's soooooooooo much more but I've run out of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ProBuild is energtic and fast moving. Excellent culture
Assistant/General Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 26, 2013
ProBuild is a solid company that offers growth and opportunity for indviduals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid Even if No other Option
manager (Former Employee), southApril 12, 2013
Pros: decent salary, but benefits are getting worse each year, especially healthcare
Cons: to many to list
If you are an underacheiver and desire to work for a company that strives to achieve mediocrity, this is your company. Sr. Management is disconnected, middle management lacks competency, and the employees suffer. If you want a place to simply punch the clock and collect a check get in line becuase you will not feel appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic insanity. Avoid this employer at all costs!
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Denver MetroApril 4, 2013
Pros: hot lunches in the parking lot, more of a whim of management than any "scheduled event".
Cons: break times are closely monitored. you are expected to punch out, get lunch, eat, and relieve yourself all within the allotted 30 minute lunch period.
Typical day starts at 0600, and you work until the day is done. You have no idea how long that might be. You have no input as to what goes where or how long you'll be working. Typically, if every single item on your truck "can" be handled by one person, they only send one person - YOU. As soon as there is ONE item loaded that "may" require two sets – more... of hands, you get a helper. The people loading the trucks are loading at dock height, with the assistance of equipment - on the jobsites, it's YOU, down a ramp, with no help.
It's like the Family that owns it read a book on how to engage in "such and so" business, and then set out to acquire other companies that were engaged in "that" business. It doesn't matter if those other companies were doing something "right". If it disagreed with or conflicted with the preconceived notion of how "they" thought it should be done, you did it "their" way.
There was NO training offered to me in receiving, storing, break-down of packs, assembly of packs, product/code numbers, paperwork, etc.
Line employees are given no training on parts/profiles if that info isn't required for their job description. Employees are not given ANY computer training to double-check or verify information. I was told repeatedly that "Before anything goes on the truck, we call the customer two days prior to set the delivery day." I lost rack of the number of times I would call a customer to confirm delivery, only to be told, "This is the first I've heard of it..."

Management advanced through politics, marriage, and nepotism, NOT skill, knowledge, or ability.
Most of my co-workers were "English as a Second Language" types who "duck and cover". They put up with every illogical, irrational, and just plain stupid, work demand placed on them.
Hardest part of the job was never knowing from one day to the next, or even, one moment to the next, where you were going or what you were doing. Dispatcher DEMANDED strict observance of his load logs and scheduling. He was NEVER a driver. He was moved into that position from sales. I lost track of the number of days and stupid "double-back" trips because of the way he set up deliveries.

YES... it's important to take care of your customers; it's also important to take care of your employees.

After having worked over four years in the Door & Window industry, and having worked for ProBuild for just over ten months, I can honestly say, I would rather be unemployed and doing nothing than to be dealing with their nonsense. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving work environment
Warehouse Manager, Exterior Door Installer/Driver (Current Employee), Lakewood, COMarch 8, 2013
Pros: health benefits and retirement
Cons: management does not recognize good workers
A typical day at work is constant work flow, busy atmosphere with lots of pressure. I learned to be flexible and to be assertive. Management is difficult to deal with, they never give good feedback and ratings are always late or left completely out. My co-workers are hard-working and try very hard to meet the hectic schedules. The hardest part of the – more... job is keeping up with the workload when you are pulled in several directions at once; and putting up with management turning a deaf ear to any concerns. The most enjoyable part of the job is the co-workers. We all respect each other and try and work together and support each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and managers
Class A Driver (Former Employee), Morrow, GAMarch 7, 2013
Pros: good company to work for. great people and managers
Cons: economy effected industry
great place to work. Very good managers. only down fall was being laid off due the economy and home building industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work
Employed at ProBuild for now (Current Employee), West coastFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: paid vacation
Cons: place is a joke
I've been employed 14 years and have to say that's 14 years I will never get back. The first ten were good but when ProBuild took over it went to heck. Every thing is micro managed, and the management don't care about there employees its all about the bottom line, haven't had a raise in three years thought this year would be better was told for six – more... months that we had a great chance for a raise but when the time came it was NO. The bonus program has gone to extinct haven't seen one in years any and all insintives to work there are gone and were still expected to kill our selfs on a daily basis. I highly recommend not working for this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a secure job, not a career minded employer
loadbuilder/driver/yard worker (Current Employee), western u.s.February 1, 2013
Pros: decent hourly wages if you negotiate at initial hire, safety minded, bonuses at productive yards are good
Cons: no raises, medical is expensive to employee, management wants suggestions from employees but dont incorporate any ideas
I've been a loadbuilder/driver/yardworker for almost 7 years, 3 job titles at the same time, you'll review yearly with high marks for performance but wont advance, just asked to take on more responsibility, overall its not just Probuild, the lumber industry as a whole is a poor long term career choice in my opinion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Builder (Former Employee), Cortez, COJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: great people and wok environment
Cons: extremely heavy lifting
a typical day at work would would include building and preparing trusses for holmes to be shipped
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Building Supply Company
Administrative Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: hours
Cons: n/a
Extremely busy, multi-tasking, moved up in positions in my 10 years there, management was good. Co-workers were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy Job
Warehouse Manager/Sales (Former Employee), Modesto Ca.January 7, 2013
Pros: no weekends
Cons: healthcare and lots of overtime
Weekly schedule began every morning at 8:00AM with full day job duties for my employees. I maintained my Field Operations, Safety, Loss Prevention, Inventory Control and Customer Service. Management could have had more retail business experience.
Coming into the work place on a daily basis was very productive because I had a chance to work with some – more... very knowledgeable, fun, happy, and hardworking co-workers. I have to say the hardest part of my job was dealing with other stores where the staff was a lot different than our location. I enjoyed the employees always working together and their ability to give their ideas of how our store can be better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), South DakotaJanuary 3, 2013
Working for this company was challenging and enjoyable. Getting to work face to face with contractors and homeowners forces you to be versatile in all areas of sales.

About ProBuild

ProBuild Holdings is where the pros go for building supplies. The company is one of┬áthe nation's largest suppliers of building – Read more

ProBuild Photos