Find companies:
Progressive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
470 reviews

Progressive Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive is an employee-focused company
Instructional Designer (Former Employee), Mayfield Heights, OHDecember 15, 2014
The environment at Progressive is interesting and fun. There is a large on-site gym, dry cleaners, etc. Gainsharing is generous. A ton of modern artwork (though much of it ugly/unappealing) in every building
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Casualty Claims Manager (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LADecember 14, 2014
Progressive is a great company to work for with plenty of opportunity for growth and development. The training is the best in the business in that it is ongoing/continuous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Customer Service Sales Associate (Current Employee), Riverview, FLDecember 9, 2014
Nice location and offices pay is not what it should be for all the work you do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company to work for, great training but limited opportunity to move into management
Estimator / Service Center (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 4, 2014
Pros: simple, easy work, socialize with customers and co-workers
Cons: monotonous and redundant work, no mental challenge
Job work/life balance depends on your organizational skills because this is an issue with a great majority of the staff. Most associates feel over worked, under payed and under valued. I give it solid marks because as an estimator there is no pressure, just meeting with customer's to tend to their claims needs. I don't have claims lingering for days – more... or the same person calling six times per day which makes what I do a lot less stressful than the file owners. Everything else is about average w/ Progressive. What a majority of the associates will do is get the training and would go to a competitor who pays more with less claims and stress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting workplace
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Mayfield Hts, OHDecember 3, 2014
The training at Progressive was very intense due to the quantity of information required to do the job. The environment was college like in a sense and it allowed for more freedom than the average job where taking breaks are concerned. I learned a lot about being a productive customer service representative and about how to deal with different personality – more... types. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
consistent customer and employee support.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CODecember 2, 2014
A large and highly visible company, Progressive offers a wide variety of positions and is always reinventing ways to serve its customers and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive places to work with emphasis on work/home life balance
CSR (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CO and Austin, TXDecember 2, 2014
Pros: game rooms, managers going the extra mile
Cons: back to back phone calls
While I Progressive, I took back to back phone calls assisting customers with every day insurance needs. I learned how to effectively use my time to accomplish the most. And I loved how flexible the schedule was.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work and caring management
Claims Representative / Adjuster (Former Employee), Macon, GANovember 22, 2014
You will be very busy but at least you are treated like a human being unlike by companies that use green reptiles in commercials.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Just Not for Me
Claims Contact Representative (Former Employee), Mayfield Village, OHNovember 20, 2014
There are many positive qualities about this company and for many people they find a life long career at Progressive. This wasn't the case for me because I was working overnight in the call center while attempting to attend school full time.
I found it difficult to balance the two and therefore chose to resign in favor of finishing school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
casual atmosphere
Analyst, Subrogation (Current Employee), Mayfield Heights, OHNovember 20, 2014
a lot of talk about life work balance, not a lot of action. management style varies widely. casual culture and attire. very results driven
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lures you with perks
Customer Service Associate (CSA) (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHNovember 19, 2014
Pros: benefits (vision, dental, medical); on-site restaurants, gyms and healthcare facilities.
Cons: stressful; top down management approach
At the call centers you work long days with irregular hours. In exchange for that schedule you receive an excellent benefits package and additional perks like onsite restaurants, gyms, healthcare facilities, art/culture events, etc. It's as if they never want you to leave. The call centers are often improperly staffed leading to either excessively long – more... lulls or extremely high call volume. Room for advancement is plentiful because the company is so large however it might take 3-5 years minimum for someone to move out of the call center. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stagnant environment
Sales (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: doctor/cafeteria on site
Handled inbound calls from around the US to help customers with their insurance needs. Worked in a cubicle all day with very little interaction from others. Good company and good benefits, but not for someone who enjoys working face to face with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet educative
QA Engineer (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHNovember 18, 2014
You need to work in insurance domain to become a good tester and Progressive jut teaches you that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Business Analyst / Consultant (Former Employee), Commercial Vehicle Division Highland Heights OhioNovember 14, 2014
Pros: great hardworking and freindly people.
Diverse and plenty of opportunities once you get in the door. Management was great in my department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place
Claims Admin Support (Current Employee), RiverviewNovember 11, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: ins meh
Highly recommend. It's great place to work for. I plan on retiring here!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for new college graduates entering the workforce
Senior Claims Representative (Former Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 10, 2014
Pros: great people!
Cons: volume picks up quickly.
I loved my time at Progressive. I loved the fast-paced energy while working at Progressive. Everyone I worked with at Progressive was great! The only negative was working with body shops in obtaining agreed prices for repairs. To be fair, body shops will always want more money, insurance companies will always want to pay less. if you can negotiate, – more... then you will enjoy your time! New college graduates will do well at Progressive as college new gradate usually want to "stamp" their name on their job and prove they are valuable by working hard. Do your time at Progressive as they have the best training available, then move on to other insurance companies for more money! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Processor II, Commercial Auto (Former Employee), Wickliffe, OHNovember 4, 2014
Pros: casual attire
I loved my time with Progressive. It offered a safe and comfortable work environment, terrific benefits package and great opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to gain entry level claims experience.
Senior Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Orange County, IrvineNovember 4, 2014
Pros: co-workers and working schedule
Cons: compensation and lack of training
Progressive has developed a great team atmosphere, and everyone is willing to help each other. The working schedule is also very flexible. However, Progressive lacks the training and development programs for higher positions. There are very few opportunities for growth. Management personnel are constantly changing, and human resource fails to inform – more... the regular employees. Progressive was once known to be innovative in the insurance industry, but over the past 5 years Progressive is just following the leaders such as GEICO and State Farm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sitting in front of a computer...all day long.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mayfield Village, OHNovember 3, 2014
Pros: friendly, laid back atmosphere
Cons: long hours with little physical movement.
90% of the job requires you to be available to answer calls regarding personal auto insuranc epolicies from the policy holder. In order to advance in the company, you must excel at this position. If there are other positions of interest, I suggest you apply for those departments first. Otherwise, you'll have to endure long hours sitting in front of – more... a computer monitor, answering customer complaints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company I've ever worked for!
Central Loss Support Representative (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 2, 2014
The ethics and knowledge that each employee has in this company is infectious!

1 2 3 4 5

About Progressive

What We’re About Progressive is a place where innovation and collaboration are a way of life. Each of our employees has – Read more