Find companies:
Progressive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
460 reviews

Progressive Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lures you with perks
Customer Service Associate (CSA) (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHNovember 19, 2014
Pros: benefits (vision, dental, medical); on-site restaurants, gyms and healthcare facilities.
Cons: stressful; top down management approach
At the call centers you work long days with irregular hours. In exchange for that schedule you receive an excellent benefits package and additional perks like onsite restaurants, gyms, healthcare facilities, art/culture events, etc. It's as if they never want you to leave. The call centers are often improperly staffed leading to either excessively long – more... lulls or extremely high call volume. Room for advancement is plentiful because the company is so large however it might take 3-5 years minimum for someone to move out of the call center. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stagnant environment
Sales (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: doctor/cafeteria on site
Handled inbound calls from around the US to help customers with their insurance needs. Worked in a cubicle all day with very little interaction from others. Good company and good benefits, but not for someone who enjoys working face to face with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet educative
QA Engineer (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHNovember 18, 2014
You need to work in insurance domain to become a good tester and Progressive jut teaches you that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Business Analyst / Consultant (Former Employee), Commercial Vehicle Division Highland Heights OhioNovember 14, 2014
Pros: great hardworking and freindly people.
Diverse and plenty of opportunities once you get in the door. Management was great in my department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place
Claims Admin Support (Current Employee), RiverviewNovember 11, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: ins meh
Highly recommend. It's great place to work for. I plan on retiring here!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for new college graduates entering the workforce
Senior Claims Representative (Former Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 10, 2014
Pros: great people!
Cons: volume picks up quickly.
I loved my time at Progressive. I loved the fast-paced energy while working at Progressive. Everyone I worked with at Progressive was great! The only negative was working with body shops in obtaining agreed prices for repairs. To be fair, body shops will always want more money, insurance companies will always want to pay less. if you can negotiate, – more... then you will enjoy your time! New college graduates will do well at Progressive as college new gradate usually want to "stamp" their name on their job and prove they are valuable by working hard. Do your time at Progressive as they have the best training available, then move on to other insurance companies for more money! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Processor II, Commercial Auto (Former Employee), Wickliffe, OHNovember 4, 2014
Pros: casual attire
I loved my time with Progressive. It offered a safe and comfortable work environment, terrific benefits package and great opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to gain entry level claims experience.
Senior Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Orange County, IrvineNovember 4, 2014
Pros: co-workers and working schedule
Cons: compensation and lack of training
Progressive has developed a great team atmosphere, and everyone is willing to help each other. The working schedule is also very flexible. However, Progressive lacks the training and development programs for higher positions. There are very few opportunities for growth. Management personnel are constantly changing, and human resource fails to inform – more... the regular employees. Progressive was once known to be innovative in the insurance industry, but over the past 5 years Progressive is just following the leaders such as GEICO and State Farm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sitting in front of a computer...all day long.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mayfield Village, OHNovember 3, 2014
Pros: friendly, laid back atmosphere
Cons: long hours with little physical movement.
90% of the job requires you to be available to answer calls regarding personal auto insuranc epolicies from the policy holder. In order to advance in the company, you must excel at this position. If there are other positions of interest, I suggest you apply for those departments first. Otherwise, you'll have to endure long hours sitting in front of – more... a computer monitor, answering customer complaints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company I've ever worked for!
Central Loss Support Representative (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 2, 2014
The ethics and knowledge that each employee has in this company is infectious!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair pay and great culture
SALES/SERVICE COACH (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CoNovember 1, 2014
Progressive is a great company, overall, with a very forward-thinking culture. There are great people who are fun, customer-focused, and genuinely caring. I was lucky enough to work daily with new phone reps for both sales and service, under a manager who was dedicated to continued excellence; which was apparent in the representatives in our department. – more... My co-workers and I complimented each other's strengths and helped to improve on each of our weaknesses. The most difficult part of training and managing in a call center environment is the employee motivation due to the innate monotony of the job tasks. However, this leads to the most enjoyable part of the job, which is looking for ways to motivate and challenge oneself and the employees! Progressive taught me great ways to do this while maintaining professionalism and customer focus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 31, 2014
Pros: create cafateria, breaks when you needed them
Excellent company to work for. Worked with me when I had medical issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for
Trainer/Auditor (Current Employee), Mayfield Hts, OHOctober 30, 2014
I have rated this company already as I worked here for 25 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive Rocked
Data Entry (Former Employee), Albany, NYOctober 30, 2014
Cant say enough about this company. Loved my schedule, my management staff, and co workers were the beat.
Was able to do my work as I chose and was always rewarded for hard work .
I just loved my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 24, 2014
A typical day at work would be answering phone calls from customers and helping them in any way you can with whatever it is they need.

I learned what it takes to provide good customer service.

I had a new supervisor, so there is improvement needed in many areas since that individual was still learning.

I loved my co-workers.

Hardest part of my job – more... was when customers would "shoot the messenger" when all you are trying to do is help to the best of your abilities.

Most enjoyable part is when a customer is thankful for your help and they let you know. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed company, stressful calls
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee), Riverview, FLOctober 23, 2014
Pros: longer lunches, nice break rooms, elevators
Cons: stressful calls and no time between calls to vent
First off, they do not drug test ever. This made no difference to me, but I know a lot of people can't find a decent paying job that doesn't do this. Don't show up messed up though, that'll be the last time you do. You get 10min after clocking in to prep yourself for the day, then you get a 45min lunch and two 15min breaks. You also get bathroom time – more... and other such things, but they watch those and encourage you to take care of that on breaks. Management was really nice actually. My boss was super friendly and we would laugh and tell stories. You don't get much time to talk with co-workers and your supervisors though. 90% of your time is on phones. You do get to decide when your breaks and lunches are though. Hardest part for me was the escalated calls. Not many people call their insurance company happy. The most enjoyable was how they knew you were stressed and would do their best to make it a good environment for you. The pay was nice too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great Company
Senior Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Riverview, FLOctober 21, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: pay isn't that great.
Many Opportunities within the organization.

Management is great.

Job Security is sold.

Work/Life Balance is great with the exception to scheduling. Schedule there is horrible in terms to requesting time off and changing schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive work place.
Claims Representative Senior (Former Employee), Mayfield, OHOctober 19, 2014
A supportive work environment, that trains you well and fosters its employee's skill set.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you can get on board.
Claims Loss Reporting Rep (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 15, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling, good benefits, competitive entry-level pay, excellent training
Cons: very repetitive, general lack of communication from upper-management
Progressive has a lot of things going for it, and really is one of the better places I have worked. They have a lot of flexibility with scheduling that will almost mystify you if you have worked at a very strict business in the past. The work itself can be quite repetitive and at times very stressful considering the content of the discussions you are – more... having with people. Despite that, I felt like I had enough tools and training to keep people relatively happy with what I was doing for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great call center atmosphere
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Tamarac, FLOctober 15, 2014
Coached / Supervised a team of reps to exceed their metrics.

1 2 3 4 5

About Progressive

What We’re About Progressive is a place where innovation and collaboration are a way of life. Each of our employees has – Read more