Progressive

689 reviews

Progressive Employee Reviews

Found 671 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DIRECT SALES REPRESENTATIVE
Direct Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 10, 2012
What is a typical day in the life of a Sales Representative? Long sitting hours, wearing a headset and constantly answering incoming calls in a call center environment. Adaptability is key. State guidelines are changing on a daily basis and you are required to read and stay up to date with the latest developments for each of the states you are licensed in. The work is very repetitive. Your calls are being recorded and monitored by your manager, sales lead and quality department. At least once a week or more (whether you think you need it or not), you will be “coached” side by side, remotely or in a small meeting room. A couple of your calls will be randomly selected for review. You and your manager or coach will have the opportunity to listen to the call and look for areas of strength and opportunity, this process can be tedious.

My story? I had my share of enjoyable moments working at Progressive. From the moment I entered the building, I was greeted with a smile, completed my employment application and got three interviews and thereafter an offer letter. Because of waiting for the background check, credit, and hiring enough people to fill the class and all, it probably took a good month or two to actually start working. I was delighted with the whole experience (except the waiting part). The training for getting your insurance license and sales, I must say, it was unmatched! It was THE BEST training I had ever received in regards to employment. We even got fed every day during training, but I heard they don’t do that anymore. To date, they are the standard I measure every
  more... other company I’ve worked for since then.

The enchanting experience stayed with me for many years, I believed in the product and the company. I raved about them every chance I got. The company’s CEO at the time was all about keeping the employees happy and understood that happy people meant increased sales. It was true. The bonuses for selling were decent, even low sales performers made an extra few hundred dollars per paycheck! Top performers made an extra 13k or more a year. On a regular basis, they would have lots of cool perks for us: free movie tickets, steak, gift cards, luncheons, etc.; it help kept the morale up and it was a happy and fun time. But all that came to a halt, when there was a change in CEO and top management. The fun ended. Now only a handful of agents were able to get bonuses, but the bonus structure changed as well and the big top hitters were now only making a fraction of bonus. This was a very upsetting time for many. Many left the company shortly after. That was one of the first mistakes the company made. Then they decided to get everyone cross-trained, they cut lots of corners on that training, and sure enough that blew in their face. Sales dropped significantly and morale went down the drain as well.

It took a long time for the fuzzy feeling to end. What was the straw that broke the camel’s back? Well, let me just tell you that I saw some things that were against my principles and convictions. I was no longer proud to work for them.

The company has a number of call centers across the US from California to Florida. My sources tell me that the treatment of employees is very different from site to site with the east getting the worst reviews.

How about turnover? It is a well-known secret that the company culls employees when they’ve been there too long, particularly right before they have to pay you gain share (December). They usually clean house before Christmas. Don’t get me wrong, employment with them it’s pretty stable, but not forever. Always have a Plan B.

What I enjoyed most (besides assisting customers) were the many friends I made. It was hard to leave because of them. I like their system to request time off without the need to talk to your manager…especially being able to get an immediate response when you needed time off or had a last minute vacation. The health benefits were good, but pricey. They have an on-site cafeteria and fitness center.

Promotions are all about who you know, brown nosing and whose butt you’re willing to kiss. If you are single and hang at pubs with the managers after work, you’ll be considered a “team player” and probably have a higher chance of getting promoted.

If you are new to insurance or even if you are not, this is the company I would recommend you work first mostly for the training and the experience you will acquire. You will pick up good habits and your knowledge of insurance will be off the charts.

To sum things up, I have to say that for the most part, Progressive, it’s a decent place to work with decent pay. I’ve been out there and I have to tell you I’ve seen worse, of course, there’re exceptions and the experience can certainly vary from site to site. At the end of the day, if I had to do it all over again, with the good, the bad and the ugly, would I do it? Maybe.

Good luck!
  less
Pros
competitive pay, benefits, gainshare, paid time off
Cons
long hours sitting, sales quotas, small bonuses, promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes27No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Supervisor
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mayfield Village, OHSeptember 21, 2014
• Take and resolve customer complaints, negotiate a resolution for combative customers during an escalated interaction
• 68.7% Conversion rate for new quote to sold policy
• Developed and implemented new customer service techniques and methods for improving efficiency and accuracy
• Conduct individual training for representatives in advanced service skills to aid in resolving conflicts during escalated customer interactions
• Over 10 years of business writing experience
• Outstanding writing, editing and computer skills
• One of four individuals in the department selected for the social media team which represented the company via Twitter and Facebook by answering questions and resolving any customer complaints
• Planned, scheduled and facilitated meetings of the social media team to review the process and go over examples of interactions that had not met expectations of quality and experience
• Exceptional ability to break down difficult or complex topics in ways that enable non-industry people to easily understand and follow along
• Provide staff with verbal updates regarding any changes to the guidelines or state level changes that would impact the way that they were able to assist a customer. Then issued written summary of the changes for their reference
• Planned and facilitated regular meetings with other supervisors to go over the quality audit process that is used when reviewing a representative’s customer interactions. This was done to ensure that all audits and reviews were aligned and sending the same message to the reps
• Continually backed up the department when
  more... shorthanded by answering customer calls, processing changes and responding to customer emails that needed an immediate answer
• Provided technical assistance to the unit on an ongoing basis due to my superior understanding of the software and having the administrative access to make the adjustments needed to solve the problem that was being experienced
• Worked with each representative individually and provided guidance specific to their needs to help them keep their performance level high. During these sessions, I provided them encouragement that their contribution to the team is both recognized and appreciated
• Monitor representative interaction with customer to ensure that their technical accuracy that they were meeting the expectation of providing a positive customer experience
• Analyze monthly data for the Australian Property and Casualty division, showing productivity and amount of hours broken down by task. Produced reports using this information for senior management that provided details for both individual rep performance and the department as a whole
• Created and maintained spreadsheets, charts and presentations that senior management utilized to review the Australian team’s monthly performance
  less
Pros
high volume and fast pace, benefits are still competitive, financially sound company
Cons
lack of formal training for new supervisors, "sink or swim" mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes8No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I completely loved my co-workers. They are the reason I remained with the company for so long.
Intermediate Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Highland Heights, OHAugust 19, 2013
A productive employee is one that is healthy and happy. Typical day would consist of 50-60 incoming and outgoing calls per day. You would need to leave the office to go and complete scene investigations, meet people face to face to discuss or resolve injury, or total loss claims on their property. You would need to drive anywhere from 50-200 miles per day in a territory that expanded from Lorain County to Lake County. An automobile accident can be life altering. I enjoyed helping the people I served in resolving their claims amicably with little or no disruption to their lives.
I have mixed emotions about management. Some were very supportive but most where about their bottom line and how "they" were affected. If they didn't care for you, your job was very difficult. For example, I was cited by the city where I reside in regards to high grass and it is a criminal offense in which I had to attend court. When I called my higher up supervisor to inform him that I had to attend court on a specified date and I would be late into work. I was written up for a final written warning and was advised that I was in violation of company code because I did not reveal to them immediately that I had been accused of a criminal offense. The criminal offense was not work related, and had no affect on my job whatsoever.
The workload was quite unbearable. I was considered to be a higher level claims adjuster and would be assigned more intense claims that needed amore in-depth investigation. Injured persons were typical in these types of claims. The company policy was that we meet face to face with
  more... all injured persons within a 7 day time frame. My work day was from 9am-6p, Monday thru Friday. I received a claim on a Thursday and the injured person worked that day and preferred not to meet at her job but at her home the following day. She worked til 5pm and usually arrived home around 5:30pm. Now the company policy was also any claims assigned to you, you were required to address them within 1 business day. In order to arrive at my appointment in Parma, OH at 5:30pm on a winter day in rush hour traffic, I drove my own personal vehicle leaving my office, in Mayfield OH at 4:45pm. Knowing the appointment would take me beyond the end of my workday. Arriving at the clients home at 5:30pm and after discussing her situation and assisting her with the repairs to her vehicle I after concluding our meeting. I was updating my file under her claim into my laptop, and discovered that from the time I left the office I had been assigned 3 additional accident claims. My supervisor was well aware of my appointment, my schedule and that it was a Friday evening. I had other co-workers in the office that worked a schedule the same as mine and others who were scheduled to work until 7pm.  less
Pros
cafeteria onsite. onsite health clinics.
Cons
heavy workload and negative environment
Was this review helpful?Yes29No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Changes, Good Pay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Riverview, FLSeptember 13, 2015
When I started Progressive was a great place to work, but they incorporated a lot of changes over the last three years that changed the environment. Through these changes they lost countless tenured employees and embittered others. I tried to stay positive. Progressive was still a decent place to work at, just not "one of the best places to work" like it had been. That being said, I worked in the call center. When I first started there was a steady call volume, but not overwhelming. But that changed to an environment of back-to-back high stress calls. There is very little if any off-time from the phones. Pay is equal or greater to similar jobs in the area and there are many opportunity for advancement if you can perform well enough in your position. The problem is that the expectations are constantly being increased, which makes it difficult to meet your metrics. That and the fact that they continued to add on new metrics without removing any of the old ones. The number of things you were expected to do on a call that had nothing to do with assisting the customer was unbelievable. There were equal amounts of amazing managers and mediocre ones so the environment was also dependent on who you had for a manager. However, there were frequent management changes. In my three years at Progressive I had 6 different managers/teams. No joke. I will say camaraderie at Progressive is amazing. I always got along fantastically with my co-workers, but because teams changed so frequently it was difficult to develop lasting relationships. All in all, it probably doesn't seem so bad, because  more... it wasn't. It's just a shame that Progressive lost what made it a great place to work. Working there did give me a wealth of knowledge on insurance and helped me greatly further my customer service skills and that I appreciate. One great thing that Progressive has going for it is their focus on the customer. There was no call length expectation, because the most important thing for them was that you took care of the customer the right way the first time. There was a big emphasis on trying to understand your customer and communicate to them on that level. Kudos to Progressive on that. Another benefit was that our breaks weren't scheduled and we were allowed to take them whenever we wanted, which was an unspeakable perk. They also had a profit-sharing program that gave us a big bonus every year. Coincidentally paying out right before Christmas, which counteracted the fact that there was is no Christmas bonus/gift.  less
Pros
Good compensation, Control of your own breaks, flexible scheduling, on-site gym, on-site health care, profit sharing, opportunities for advancement, no uniforms/appearance guildeines, contests/perks
Cons
Meager healthcare benefits, unreasonable metrics, constant changes, inconsistent communication between some management
Was this review helpful?Yes27No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Savannah office claims
Claims Generalist (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAApril 28, 2012
What this company tells you regarding the claims department and how you are treated as a professional are night and day. This employer does not do right by their employees. It was a very harassing work environment. Hostile unless a favorite or was seen and not heard.

Diversity to this company unfortunately is as shallow and one dimensional as difference in skin pigmentation but not your creativity or as an individual.

What they tell you upon hire is not at all what the work environment is like. The leaders and staff changes so rapidly it is impossible to maintain any cohesion or respect toward what you were told upon hire.

They want to hire youngsters now straight out of college that will take the abuse. No self respecting educated mature adult will.

We were just trying to earn a living for our families and enjoy the environment for which we spent about 60 hours a week but that was clearly not the plan of managment. The other employees tell you daily that the turnover is astounding in Savannah yet when brought to attention those "whistleblowers" are quickly finding themselves written up daily. Again, keep your ideas to yourself and only "yes" men allowed. Only way to be promoted is to be a yes man or a part of the clique.

You will know the term retaliation well if you utilize your intelligence or reach out for assistance to stop the turnover rate from increasing.

If you want a career, job security and a harassment free work environment DO NOT take a job in the Savannah office. It won't last long. You will be back at the job search very soon. If you have a family please
  more... be careful before you accept a position there. No one will help you after you ask for help either. They will just find a way to get rid of you.

Take a job in another department and maybe you will find you will treated with respect and enjoy what the company has to offer. None of us had that opportunity. Most of us are back to the old drawing board after giving up other jobs for that one. Put your family first and be sure before you take a job in that office you have a large savings and alternative health benefits for your family because statistics show there you will not last long unless you are a favorite. Those are very few and far between

If you can be a phone call center rep, learn a new job that is very detailed while receiving a very high work load and put up with constant write ups and harassment this may work for you. You must be willing to compromise your self esteem and drink the koolaid as they say. If you are looking for a great work environment and a long career you should most likely keep looking or avoid that office or department. The history speaks volumes.
  less
Pros
401k day one 100% vested
Cons
everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, crazy schedule, thrown out to the wolves
inside sales representative (Former Employee) –  riverview floridaApril 9, 2015
At first they really make you feel welcome. You go through tons of training. For incompetent people this training is good. For the competent ones you are beaten to death (metaphorically speaking with too much training) the harder you work and the better you do they pile on more and more work. The other employees that are just there for a check get away with everything. They know exactly how to work the system. Your calls are constantly monitored, your computer activity is constantly monitored. The overal ethics of the company is horrible. They want you to constantly answer phones. There is no challenge to the job. You are only allowed 5 occurrences in a 12 month period. Meaning if it was not previously scheduled time off (which is almost impossible to get) and you are more than 7 minutes late or you have to call out you only get 5 times to do so and then you are put on a written warning. At any given time there are about 300+ calls waiting to be answered and as soon as you hang up from a call you immediately get the next. If you work a 10 hour shift you get 1.5 hours worth of breaks for that entire shift which is your food, bathroom and any other time you may need/want. That may seem like a lot but considering the position it is nothing. At the interview they make it seem like a great place to work b/c they will mention the gym and the cafeteria but what they dont tell you is the cafeteria is only open 5 hours a day monday to friday only and they close at 2pm usually you can never go to the cafeteria due to the shift they give you. The gym is great but again you only get  more... 1.5 hours of breaks almost impossible to go when you are at work unless you do not eat And who wants to go to work to workout on your days off you say you will but then you are so burnt out the last place you want to be is there. You will never get the schedule you want. There doctors office is always a waiting list. You have to make an appointment just like a normal doctors office and wait to be called with times and schedule. You then have to go when you are off or during that break time. The management is always on the 8 to 5 schedule with weekend off so while your busting your butt they are having a good ole time. When they are there they never help or if they do they are so clueless as to what you do they do not know how to help. The will push all the good workers out and they keep all the people that are cheating their company. Not only am I no longer an employee there I am also no longer going to be a customer. I saw too much and advise you to take you business and youe employment elsewhere. This is not the chocolate covered candy they make themselves seem.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes34No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly Horrible Place to Work
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  New YorkMay 7, 2012
I was a non-exempt employee of Progressive in their HC office, meaning I was paid by the hour. After several years of loyal service to this company my employment was terminated. Although I had never had a bad review or been written up for anything, the last year I worked there I received two bad reviews and two write ups. I must say that these bad reviews were very suprising considering the performance of others in the office, who by the way received good reviews as well as pay raises for a much poorer performance than I was providing.

For sometime this company has been downsizing the number of hourly clerical people and at the same time increasing the number of salary and managment positions.

A typical day of work was knowing that you had at least 14 hours of work that must be completed in 8 hours since no overtime was ever approved. In addition to this, special projects were randomly thrown in to be completed by the people who already were carrying the highest work load. If you were a long time employee they set you up to fail so that they would break no laws when they terminated you.

Management used to be very competent. It was never an easy place to work but always used to be fair about how people were judged for their job performance. In the last 4 or 5 years this work practice was abandoned and people who were unqualified were promoted to management positions. None of the recently promoted managers knew anything about the jobs the people that reported to them did on a daily basis. None of these managers was even capable of doing the job if they had to.

I used to love
  more... to go to work. I truly loved my job. My fellow workers in the office were great people to work with. I learned that loyalty and pride in a job well done meant nothing to this company. The last 4 to 5 years were chaotic. Multiple people quit and several good people were either demoted or fired out right while people who did a sloppy job, or just really didn't care at all, were kept and rewarded.

The hardest part of my job was realizing that no matter how hard I worked or what I was able to accomplish on any given day didn't matter and was deemed not good enough. Anyone who spoke out about the obvious mismanagement or new job requirements that made no sense was targeted for dismissal.

Avoid this company at all cost! It isn't worth the pay to work here because the stress and job duties are unmanageable for anyone!
  less
Pros
having health insurance, money were the only pros.
Cons
too many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes49No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Claim Adjuster Trainee aka "Claim File Owner" (Former Employee) –  Charleston, West VirginiaMay 10, 2013
A typical day is very busy to an extent that it might be very overwhelming for most. The training is mostly online and is very rushed, with no room to make mistakes or even ask questions. This is because you have to have all of the computer based training completed before going off to training for 2 weeks. If you do not have your claim adjuster license well while your training for the job itself your manager at least the one in WV made new hires study for the claim adjuster license at the same time, which adds pressure. The training is set up that if you fail certain aspects of the training then you are pretty much done, meaning no job. This is for the position of "Claims Adjuster Trainee" the true title of the job is "Claims File Owner". Which means you will not work in the field for maybe over a year or more, but you will be told all you have to do is 6 months in the office as a File Owner and then you will have the opportunity to go in the field. This is not true. Also the workload is not equal to the pay. My first few weeks there I noticed one of the other newer employees just coming back from sick leave and was overwhelmed with their workload and asked the manager for help and the manager stated the employee just needed to do the work that was assigned. I was a little shocked that the manager kept assigning work to this employee even though he was off sick. Not to mention did not give him or get him help to catch up. The manager kept the pressure up on him. Something I have noticed is how often the posting for this job is on here in WV. I know they are growing some but  more... I know other people that took the job and did not stay for the same reasons. If you take this job be prepared to be on the phone all the time, not only trying to complete your calls but you will be answering other reps. claim calls too, sad thing is they even have a receptionist. The people I met that were my co-workers were awesome. One manager at this location was very nice but the other, the one you will work for the most is unhelpful and in my opinion does not know how to manage employees. I enjoy a good challenge like most but if you are looking to be in the field like a true field claim adjuster good luck because you are a secretary/office clerk to start with....with no potential to be in the field in sight.  less
Pros
co-workers
Cons
very stressful and workload to pay is not worth it. poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes51No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be warned
SR. CLAIMS ADJUSTER (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 23, 2013
The pay is good, benefits great...not to many places make you fully vested in your 401k from day one. However, when I started I was told several things about scheduling/pay. I was told that we are entitled to a raise at the beginning of the year and that we would be able to bid on a new schedule within a couple of months. The manager who interviewed me said I was coming in at a great time because they were going to be hiring 50+ employees after me and I would be high on the seniority list. their seniority was based on time in the position not the company. He told me this because I would be higher up on the seniority list and I should get a better schedule than I was assigned when I was hired. 6 months came and went and finally the bid came out. I did not get my schedule I requested, only to find out that they changed the bid policy without informing the employees...my guess is that they did not want to explain themselves. Then the beginning of the year came and in my eval they advised me that i was not eligible for a raise since I had not been there long enough. Then a month later I found a posting for the position I had at a higher rate of pay. when I brought this to my supervisors attention he said he would get back to me. Three more times I asked about that and I never got an answer. I worked there a year, I out lasted more than 50% of the 18 people that were hired with me. You are replaceable there and they let you know that on a daily basis...once a year they throw a party and say thank you. thats the only time you will ever hear a thank you. If you want to be worked to  more... the max, have a crummy schedule, be told what you want to hear then never have follow through then this is the job for you. I left without another job lined up because I couldn't handle it anymore. I had my last job for 6 years I don't just quit.  less
Pros
fully vested in 401k, profit sharing
Cons
heavy work load, unrealistic goals, split days off, bad hours
Was this review helpful?Yes43No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, terrible, terrible
Inbound Sales (Former Employee) –  Austin,TXJanuary 7, 2014
I am not sure if Progressive is the issue, the management is the issue or if it is just this location. I had been at this job for a year before they fired me. The said it was performance issues. I was using too much auth misc. The let me go with no final warning or anything. Mind you, The whole year I was there I was receiving gift cards and rewards for my work. As soon as they did some rearranging in my department, I got a new manager and things went south ever since! I was the only ethnic person on the team, I was the youngest and I was the one with the least tenure. I guess he didn't like that. I NEVER got any customer complaints, write-ups NOTHING. But the manager let me go off of lies. We met once a week to review my performance. Each week he told me I was improving, then he ups and fires me. Then tries to deny me unemployment! How can he sleep at night!? I am not a bitter person at all. I own up to my mistakes. But i really did not do anything wrong to lose my job!

Pros - the co-workers are awesome and helpful, long lunch breaks where you can break up that 1hr 30 mins up, the cafeteria was convenient.

Cons-Very stressful, people know nothing about insurance and blame you for their driving record, they compare your company with competitors, some agents don't tell the customer the correct info and they end up being irate with you. They are extremely driven on numbers. If you don't meet your quota be ready to search for another job! There is constant change within policies and procedures. No training. The new program they just rolled out allows the mangers to only focus
  more... on what you didn't do in your calls. They Never say what you did good. Like I said maybe it was just my manager.

Why do you think progressive is ALWAYS hiring? something to think about.
  less
Pros
1 hour 30 min lunch break, casual attire, co-workers
Cons
management, customers, no job security, high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes48No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive extremely fun inovation, diverse place to work for!
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJanuary 19, 2013
A typical work day would include answer inbound customer calls, taking payments, reviewing billing, answering billing questions, vehicle insurace questions, adding and deleting vehicles, adjusting coverages on vehicles, creating follow up on policy's, following up on those policys the next day.

I have learned alot about diversity and inclusion, not all customers are the same even though we are all different and come from different backgrounds, ethnicities, and countries by allowing myself to know we all have differences it allows me to interact with each customer individually and not set an expectation that every call will be the same. By changing the way I view each customer I have learned over the past year how to become more personable and interact with each customer as their own person not just another call.

I would have to say my co-workers are some of the best people I have worked with we all get along extermely well and are always willing to help one another.

As far as the hardest aspect of my job I would say nothing is easy there will always be trials in anything you do I love what I do and understand that nothing in life is easy, you just have to figure out what works best in every situation regardless if it is easy or hard.

The most enjoyable part of my job is making customers happy, being able to talk to people I do not know is fun you get to interact with people, learn about different cultures and experiences. With each customer experience if I can do everything possible to make that experience for the customer better I feel it not only satisfy's my need to make
  more... people happy but also shows the customer that the company is one worth staying with.  less
Pros
great benefits, employee loyalty, flexable lunch/break times.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of perks and a lot of work
Claims Contact Representative (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 12, 2014
At Progressive I was part of an inbound call taking team called "Blended Glass". I was scheduled to take accident claim calls and glass claim calls.

When taking accident claims I gathered all pertinent information regarding an accident from insured parties, claimant parties, family members, attorneys, police officers, medical personnel, and many others. I used the information to set up claims and scheduled follow up phone calls from claims adjusters.

When taking glass claims I gathered all pertinent information regarding vehicle glass damage from insured parties, claimants, glass repair specialists, and a few other parties. I used the information to set up and adjust claims, schedule repairs, approve payments, deny claims and send correspondence.

I learned a lot of useful information about car insurance. I also learned how to use the advanced phone system that is in place in most call centers.

I've made lasting friendships with a few of my coworkers. I can say with confidence that most of the people hired by Progressive are intelligent, friendly, hard working people.

The hardest part of the job was how busy it often was. Because I had two different jobs I was required to switch between the two as needed. For example, if I was scheduled to take glass claims and the accident claims department became busy I was required to switch to the accident claim queue in order to lessen the workload on their end.

The most enjoyable part of the job was, to be honest, the fact that I got to sit down. This was my first job during which I did not have to stand all day.
Pros
cafeteria, gym, health center, yearly celebration, competitive pay, great 401k matching
Cons
heavy workload, often rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have no outside life and no ambition to advance your career.
CLAIMS GENERALIST ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  IllinoisFebruary 6, 2014
Progressive used to be a fun place to work. However, in recent years, the culture has completely shifted and not at the benefit of the employees. It's a high stress job and the company used to try to alleviate that by creating a fun work environment. That is no longer. A typical day is having to come in early and stay late just to try to stay afloat of all of the work since they run the business perpetually understaffed. There is not much room for advancement as they almost always just shift managers around rather than promoting. The staff is micromanaged. If any managers decide they don't like you, they will make it their mission to dig through everything you do until they find something they can use to put you on "performance management" and eventually fire you. It does not matter how many times work environment surveys are filled out by employees saying they have too much work or no work/life balance; the response is always, "Well, that's the job. Like it or leave." The managers in the midwest are unsupportive and manage their employees through fear. There is no positive feedback for doing a good job, just constantly being told what you're doing wrong. In our office, the term "public shaming" was termed because the team leaders would announce what you're doing poorly in the middle of the office, even go so far to discuss what your yearly review says in front of others. The only silver lining to working at this company is 1) decent benefits and 2) great co-workers.
Pros
great employees, decent benefits
Cons
no managerial support, poor work/life balance, favoritism, unrealistic workload
Was this review helpful?Yes39No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your research before working for this company
Customer Representative (Former Employee) –  Mayfield Village, OHOctober 2, 2012
Extremely frustrating working environment; top-heavy with managers who do nothing but stand around and gossip about others, while you are locked into a headset for at least eight hours. If you work a later shift, all the additional perks (cafeteria, snack shop) are closed up tight. We were told we had to pay for and join the coffee club in order to even drink coffee... Other than vending machines, you need to either bring your lunch or go out. For what little they pay and the demands they put on you, it is nothing but a call center sweatshop. It is basically a popularity contest to be able to advance. And when they have their ongoing stupid team activities going on (which you can only attend during your breaks or lunch hours), the managers make the employees (that earn the least) contribute their monies to have the event (food, etc.) Have to deal with angry customers and fix other employees mistakes and then don't get any credit for anything. They tell you after a year you can easily apply for other positions in the company, but from talking to others, that is apparently not the case (and you need to get your manager's approval first). I assume from my experience the people that have been there a long time and are loving that type of environment just don't know any better. One of the training instructors even told us there is always an ambulance in close vicinity at any of the campuses, because they are always taking someone out ~ and it is true...enuf said???
Pros
absolutely nothing
Cons
top heavy (inexperienced) management - clicks on all levels; subpar training
Was this review helpful?Yes19No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not terrible, but....
Sales and Service Senior Rep (Current Employee) –  OhioMarch 2, 2013
They've done away with some things that made them stand out from most companies in order to hang onto that almighty dollar. They've downgraded their health benefits to bare minimum, took away shift differential, even re-configured their infamous gainshare payout to make sure employees aren't getting nearly as much as they used to - then blow a bunch of smoke telling us "We understand! Thank you for all you do!". It's almost like they're mocking us.

Also, their "incentive" programs are a bit of a joke. They use contests and drawings, which mean you can be working much harder than anyone on your team, but someone else's name can be drawn and they'll win whatever the prize is - and this is what they use in lieu of commission for sales, which doesn't really make us want to work any harder or help each other. It makes you not want to even bother with it.

Really, it was just the usual corporate greed you'll get from any company taking advantage of the bad economy. To be fair, though, they still have the artwork put into place by the former CEO (who really made the company shine in his day), and they have Starbucks, Subway, gym, ect. And we still get gainshare, just not nearly as much. Overall, it's not BAD, there are worse places, but your best bet is to stay there long enough for it to look good on your resume, then go back to school while doing so to enable you to grow a career for yourself once you're ready to leave.
Pros
artwork everywhere, facilities, resume builder
Cons
reduced benefits, workload vs. pay, poor scheduling flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes12No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The higher ups in control of your state can make a world of difference
Claim Generalist (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GAApril 14, 2015
Working for Progressive, like any job, has it ups and downs. There are days when 5'o clock roles around and the thought of leaving is nothing but a wish upon a star. There are other times when you are bored out of your mind because you are done with your work before 2. Which type of experience you have can depend largely on a few things; the kind of person in charge of your state, the weather, the number of employees for that state and what state you work in.

I live in what is considered a high volume state. Due to an unprecedented amount of turn over and little hiring in said state the volume has increased exponentially. This has led to a work day that mimics more of the latter I described earlier. This hardest part of my job is the volume. My job in its basic element is similar to juggling. Some days you may juggle 3 balls. Some days you may juggle 12.

The days that you are only juggling 3-7 balls are the best. Progressive is very lax. If you have down time you can browse the net on most sites. You are able to take time off with barely a days notice (at least at my office). You have many options to insure yourself. Life, health, dental, etc. are one of many options. Progressive also helps with things such as adoption and daycare.

Progressive can be a tough company to work for at times, but overall it is a great company for anyone to make a career at.
Pros
Decent benefits and great overall work culture.
Cons
Strong potential for high volume. Can be overwhelming for some.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Diverse, workplace with workout facility, artwork and open door policy
Senior Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mayfield Village, OHJuly 10, 2013
Typical day at work begins with a good morning to all my fellow co-worker's within my work area. Review of company news, what's new, changing or what to expect changing within state guidelines or different organizations at Progressive.

I've learned to be patient and how to deal with diverse personalities on a daily basis. No one day is the same my job is always changing and that I must always change with my job.

Management is open to employee ideas and suggestions, which can and have led to changes enterprise wide. The open door policy allows employees to speak with and converse with other Leadership besides our direct manager or supervisor.

Co-workers are of all ages and cultural backgrounds with the same goal in mind, keep our Customers need before our own and strive to learn as much as you can in your current position to become ready for the next one.

The Harderst part of my job, is not being able to satisfy every customer.

The most enjoyable part about my job is knowing my skills and expertise is appreciated from customers.
Conducting peer to peer coaching allows me to bring about change in new and tenured employees, making a difference in their career development while also improving my own.
Pros
flexible schedule, diverse work population, company summer events, winter events, ice cream socials, pigouts
Cons
not many opportunities for upward mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work and enhance interpersonal skills
Insurance Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Urbandale, IAFebruary 10, 2013
A typical day for me is to leave from my residence at about 7:00 a.m. to travel to my first inspection. I usually travel about 45 minutes to 1 hour from my house to my first inspection. I am responsible for territory east to south-east of Des Moines, however, I travel wherever I am needed. I have worked for Progressive for over 12 years, and I have been a dedicated employee, serving several positions to include Managed Repair Representative, Injury Specialist, and Team Leader. I was just recognized for my rating of "Excellent" in customer service, and I feel my rapport with our customers is one of my most important assets. I have learned that respect and courtesy are paramount in customer relations. I get along well with my fellow employees and I have made many good friends within the company. The hardest part of the job can be driving in treacherous conditions. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping people through a difficult ordeal, and leaving them with a high satisfaction from the experience. Having been in management myself, I know how challenging it can be to balance the needs of the company against the wants and personalities of the employees. I have learned, again, that respect in dealing with people, along with getting a "buy in" on the goals of the company are key in producing positive results.
Pros
working with people i like
Cons
treacherous road conditions during inclement weather
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start out and grow into a professional
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMay 11, 2013
My day starts off logging into my computer and phone and is consistent phone calls, emails, snail mail and instant messages throughout the day solving customer issues and investigating claims.
I talk to so many people throughout the day from customers, body shops, rental car vendors, police, witnesses, business owners, etc. Some people are angry at me, some are not. They are frustrated and do not know what the next step is; which is where I come in to explain the process and follow up accordingly.
I have learned to treat others the way I would want to be treated if I were in their position and also to be very calm and collected while I speak with people. Kill them with Kindness!
The management varies from understanding how to best allow you to grow to those would want to mold you into what they want you to be like. I have had a mixed bag of management, but I have learned how to take away something useful from almost every one.
The coworkers also vary. Typically, people are looking out for themselves, but every once in a while, you will run into someone who is genuinely wanting to help you out. The work is mostly independent but sometimes working as a team.
This job is not for someone who cannot multi-task!
The paycheck is more than acceptable most times and they will reward you for hard work.
Pros
salary
Cons
most feedback is subjective - one manager may like the way you do something, whereas another may dislike it
Was this review helpful?Yes35No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation and a fun, positive environment
Customer Service Consultant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 27, 2015
Starting out at this company, I immediately noticed the positive atmosphere. People were smiling and welcoming. Training was a blast and the people on my team were just phenomenal. Once you actually start taking phones, things change. There are many monthly and weekly metrics you must make on top of taking 70-120 calls a day. Most of these calls were dealing with company or other service consultant's mistakes. The call volume is always back to back no matter what day it is, and if you do have a slow day, they send all of the early shifts home so the call volume goes right back up. Most of your phone calls are very irate customers and rate increases. The company is more worried about selling their products rather than providing excellent customer service. Selling products to irate customers proved to be a very difficult and high stress level task. This job is not for everyone. Most people quit within 6 months, and most of those people either walked out, or just never came back. There was some sort of systems issue almost every single day which made it very difficult to do your job. If you like a call center atmosphere, and high call volume, I would definitely consider this company.
Pros
Gym, cafeteria, compensation and benefits, rewards and recognition
Cons
VERY high call volume, high stress level, system issues, outdated software, low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 689 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture