Find companies:
Progressive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
606 reviews

Progressive Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent, flexibility, great benefits, challenging
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Hagerstown, MDJuly 1, 2015
Pros: Benefits, flexibility, achieving and exceeding goals
a typical day included, interviewing all parties, answering queue calls, accident investigation, liability decision, estimating damages, issuing settlement checks. I learned how to become good at multi-tasking. – more... Management was available if you needed help. Co-workers was the best thing! The hardest part was managing workload, the most enjoyable was the flexibility, achieving goals and helping customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start after graduation
Claims (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 1, 2015
Great place to gain work experience and potentially start a career. Very stable job but can be time consuming and difficult for those who are not efficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my tenure at Progressive
CLAIM SPECIALIST / LITIGATION ADJUSTER (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 30, 2015
Pros: Good working environment, excellent benefits and opportunities
Cons: Disagreed with the encouragement of interoffice personal relationships.
A very good company to work for at the time. I enjoyed the position and the people I worked with and interacted with both within my department and the whole branch office. Had a good rapport with plaintiff and defense attorneys.

I thoroughly enjoyed negotiations and mediations/arbitrations. I loved my involvement with the litigation process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, fairly compensated
Managed Repair Representative (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJune 30, 2015
Pros: Freedom to manage your workload
Cons: Upward mobility
Progressive is a good place to work but it is easy to get stuck in a role and can be difficult to get promoted. You usually do not feel micromanaged and as long as you get your work done, they treat you fairly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claims Review
Loss Assignor/Dispatcher (Current Employee), Mayfield Hts, OHJune 30, 2015
Pros: Flexible working arrangements
Cons: salary
Fast paced enviroment love working with customers- great co-workers- compensation is less than qualifications for positions throughout the company. Need to be more competitive,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Claims Specialist (Current Employee), Albany, NYJune 28, 2015
Lacks work/life balance. Stale Management. Favortism exists.
Hours are somewhat flexible and good benefits are offered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management Team
Claims Generalist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 27, 2015
Pros: Management
Cons: work load
I really enjoyed working with my team and management. The training was outstanding and they foster an environment of success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 26, 2015
this job is a good way to get out in the world to meet new people lean new things hands on work your mind must be on point the days are long its just a lot and hard work but great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SOLID COMPANY. BUT THATS IT.
Medical Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Plymouth Meeting, PAJune 23, 2015
Pros: Decent pay
Cons: Poor management style
Overall this is a good place to work. However this review is specific to the medical claims department in PA. They say they care about you , but they are just pretending. Its about growing the company – more... while overloading you with work to keep cost down in hiring more people to balance the work load. Ive witnessed management treating older people with blatant disrespect. Its evident that this office has preferences.
Im just here because I need a job. But no longer would I recommend this company to any of my friends/family. At least not the PA medical office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to start a career path
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mentor, OHJune 23, 2015
Progressive provided the building blocks for career growth. Easy training development, great customer service skills base. Communication is key at this location, as well as you make your path by learning as much as possible.Management needs to stop favoring individuals. Get additional time off the phones for your sanity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun place to work
Central Claims Rep Senior (Former Employee), FloridaJune 23, 2015
Pros: Sushi Tuesday and Healthcare on site
Cons: none
* always engaged with the customer
* always empowered to assist customers
* hardest part of job is advising customer of no coverage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced envirment that was constantly changing.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJune 22, 2015
Pros: Being able to trully help someone with there insurance needs.
Cons: Not being able to help someone in tough situtaion.
My typical work day consisted of answering inbound calls to assist customers with there policies. Which consisted of making changes to coverage's educating customers so they had a clear understanding of – more... what there policy covered. My job required me to navigate multiple screens as sometime I may have been required to research a customers question. Working for this company showed me how to empathize with the customer to help resolve there problem while being there advocate. Progressive gave me the confidence I needed to be able to work minimal management. I enjoyed working for this company for the last six years I have met some incredible people. I have learned to value diversity and what others can bring to the table. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but growth is limited as leadership transitions
IT Business Analyst - IT Continuous Improvements (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHJune 20, 2015
Overall progresive is a solid company to work for, with flexibility and a laid back environment. Growth however is limited as there are few lead level opportunities due to a mature workforce so when those openings do occur competition is fierce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure company with excellent benefits
Comparison Rating Analyst (Current Employee), Mayfield Village OhJune 19, 2015
Progressive is a fantastic company for recent college graduates to get into corporate America and understand how a large corporation operates. expect to switch roles every two years or so. Any longer and others will pass you by.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Business/Systems Analyst II (Former Employee), Mayfield Village, OHJune 18, 2015
Employee friendly, great benefits and work perks. Wide ranging opportunities. Training programs for job advancement was a plus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Customer Service (Current Employee), RanchoJune 18, 2015
Great Job and Great benefits. Everyone here is very friendly and helpful. The bonus at the end of the year is great. Management is helpful and understanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Senior Claims Representative (Former Employee), Riverview, FLJune 10, 2015
Pros: lifework balance, great co workers, bonus
Cons: none
-great place to work, life-work balance,great coworkers
-very little micromanagement
-heavy workload
-fast paced environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee), Mayfield Village, OHJune 9, 2015
I originally started my employment with progressive as a customer service representative. About 18 months into my employment the company offered me the option to obtain my property and casualty insurance – more... license in order to start also selling auto and personal lines insurance products. I took them up on their offer and was soon on the top sellers list almost weekly. I then was later offered the option to work from home, which I also took them up on. My manager and co-workers were great. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I was able to talk to people from all over the US. The only reason I am no longer employed with Progressive is with my relocation, I am to far away from a call center to keep my work from home position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are good, used to be a fun place to work, too much change at one time
Medical Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Maitland, FLJune 6, 2015
Pros: work life balance
Cons: moutains of work with no advancement opportunity, supervisors have favorits and they are the ones that are promoted
Used to an enjoyable place to work until management was overhauled. Mountains of work and expectations, reduced focus on employees. We used to feel appreciated now we all just feel like modern day slaves. – more... Used to have a good training program but now the new people are just thrown to the wolves. We are expected to train them and try to complete our work. Co workers are great but the hardest part is you can never do 16 hours of work in an 8 hour day. Supervisors are not consistent. Some count occurrences, some make you use vacation time when not needed. No one is on the same page anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
CSR (Former Employee), Riverview, FLJune 2, 2015
A typical day at work was fast paced and fun. I learned a lot, for example, AAFES taught me great customer service skills along with many other qualities. Management was always well accessible and open – more... to helping you grow in your career. My coworkers were very loyal and great to be around. The hardest part of the job was leaving it. The most enjoyable part of the job was serving our men and woman in uniform along with their loved ones. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Progressive

What We’re About Progressive is a place where innovation and collaboration are a way of life. Each of our employees has – Read more

Progressive Salaries

Claims Adjuster
$42,904 per year
Call Center Representative
$15.27 per hour
Customer Service Representative
$15.78 per hour
Call Center Manager
$15.25 per hour
Customer Service Representative
$31,795 per year