Find companies:
Progressive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
430 reviews

Progressive Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and very productive
Temporary Mail room Operator (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 22, 2014
I worked with mail machines sorted the mail and made sure it was done correctly. Some days I printed out 10,000 pieces of mail using the kern 2500 and 100,000 using the kern 3500. They would have a lot of events for their employees fun filled events it was never a dull moment in there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Supervisor
Supervisor (Former Employee), Mayfield Village, OHSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: high volume and fast pace, benefits are still competitive, financially sound company
Cons: lack of formal training for new supervisors, "sink or swim" mentality
• Take and resolve customer complaints, negotiate a resolution for combative customers during an escalated interaction
• 68.7% Conversion rate for new quote to sold policy
• Developed and implemented new customer service techniques and methods for improving efficiency and accuracy
• Conduct individual training for representatives in advanced service – more... skills to aid in resolving conflicts during escalated customer interactions
• Over 10 years of business writing experience
• Outstanding writing, editing and computer skills
• One of four individuals in the department selected for the social media team which represented the company via Twitter and Facebook by answering questions and resolving any customer complaints
• Planned, scheduled and facilitated meetings of the social media team to review the process and go over examples of interactions that had not met expectations of quality and experience
• Exceptional ability to break down difficult or complex topics in ways that enable non-industry people to easily understand and follow along
• Provide staff with verbal updates regarding any changes to the guidelines or state level changes that would impact the way that they were able to assist a customer. Then issued written summary of the changes for their reference
• Planned and facilitated regular meetings with other supervisors to go over the quality audit process that is used when reviewing a representative’s customer interactions. This was done to ensure that all audits and reviews were aligned and sending the same message to the reps
• Continually backed up the department when shorthanded by answering customer calls, processing changes and responding to customer emails that needed an immediate answer
• Provided technical assistance to the unit on an ongoing basis due to my superior understanding of the software and having the administrative access to make the adjustments needed to solve the problem that was being experienced
• Worked with each representative individually and provided guidance specific to their needs to help them keep their performance level high. During these sessions, I provided them encouragement that their contribution to the team is both recognized and appreciated
• Monitor representative interaction with customer to ensure that their technical accuracy that they were meeting the expectation of providing a positive customer experience
• Analyze monthly data for the Australian Property and Casualty division, showing productivity and amount of hours broken down by task. Produced reports using this information for senior management that provided details for both individual rep performance and the department as a whole
• Created and maintained spreadsheets, charts and presentations that senior management utilized to review the Australian team’s monthly performance – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you really get a chance to interact with people daily.
Home Health Nurse (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: working with others, good benefits, learning alot
Cons: stressful at times, dealing with different changes
A typical day at work was eventful because you never really knew what you were going to be doing. You spent alot of time in the house with the client tending to their health, cooking, cleaning, and keeping them company, although there were many times where you had to accompany the client somewhere outside of the house. The client might have a medical – more... appointment of some sort or a different type of an appointment.It might just be a day where you had to accompany the client to the store or to a friend or relative house. I've worked with clients in wheelchairs so you had to make sure you got them safely on and off public transportation and clients who were blind and you had to be their eyes and safely get them around outside. The job really helps you to deal well with pressure and think fast under duress and it teaches you to multi-task and improvise when needed. The hardest part of the job is just trying to get yourself and your client into a daily routine so things can run smoothly and you can get things done in a timely manner. You are basically managing someone's day to day affairs and helping them throughout their life's routine's which is hard to do when things in life are constantly changing and are usually unpredictable.The best part of the job is just taking pride in the fact that you are making a difference in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, excellent enviroment.
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Madison, OHSeptember 17, 2014
Wonderful place that treats their employees right,
Great balance of work & personal life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greay pay and benefits, will work you like a dog
Claims Branch Manager (Former Employee), Savannah, GASeptember 15, 2014
room for advancement, long hours in most states, micromanagement at it's finest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense job duties, great work enviroment
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Alexandria, MNSeptember 15, 2014
Direct management was great. The hardest part was dealing with corporate guidelines that did not allow for very much independent thinking and problem solving. However, being able to help people and complete investigations was very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable place to work
HHA home health aide (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 12, 2014
I really enjoyed helping people. It made me feel good to know that i was making someone else. the look on people face when i come in in the morning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mayfield Village, OHSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great coworkers.
Cons: distance too far.
I enjoyed my time with Progressive but the distance traveled each day, to and from work, was too far. The position allowed me the chance to work with many different types of people. The company was very open and honest and willing to work around schedules as needed. The hardest part of the job was trying to memorize the constant changing of insurance – more... standards for every state. The most enjoyable part was being able to help many different customer needs everyday, this allowed me to connect with different types of people in different states, depending on their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Customer Service Insurance Underwriter (Former Employee), Riverview, FLSeptember 8, 2014
typical day at work was answering inquiries about auto insurance policies. Making payments, calling independent agents and providing them support on customer inquiries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment.
Claims Generalist (Former Employee), Decatur, GAAugust 31, 2014
It was enjoyable to go to work everyday. Employees were empowered to make business decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Claims Generalist- Eastern Virtual Unit (Current Employee), Mount Laurel, NJAugust 29, 2014
Pros: management is great, opportunities
Cons: claims handling can be very long hours especially in summers
Progressive has a ton of opportunities for advancement as well as a wonderful work environment. I love the people I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAAugust 29, 2014
Customer Service, answering calls, helping customers with insurance policies. Taking payments, adding/deleting vehicles answering all type of policy inqueries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversified
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 25, 2014
They try to take care of their employees but used to do it a lot better than they do now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive Pays very well and expects a lot. Iselin work location was very unpredictable and unorganized. Managment was not very supportive.
Administrative Support Supervisor (Former Employee), Iselin, NJAugust 18, 2014
Pros: benefits and compensation
Cons: unrealistic goals with regard to office procedures
Typical work day was very busy because of strict deadlines and office policies and procedures sometimes of unrealistic expectations.
Great company to work for if you are in the right office and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mayfield Village, OHAugust 18, 2014
Call taking.Prolonged sitting while answering calls in a large call center.Hardest part of the job is dealing with the monotony of the job. Most enjoyable part of the job is receiving calls from people all over the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there
Senior Claims Adjuster Intermediate (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 15, 2014
It is a busy place to work. It used to be a great place to work. It is no longer that way. There is not respect from management to the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry-level position, teaches about corporate-driven standards
Fire and Theft Claims Representative (Current Employee), Federal Way, WAAugust 10, 2014
The best part about working for Progressive is my colleagues. They typically have similar interests and have common personality traits. Days are spent mostly in a cubicle-type set up with a computer and phone. You are assigned claims throughout the day and depending on your tenure level, you are given instruction/direction on some of the more complex – more... coverage and/or liability scenarios. Progressive has a job objectives throughout handling of the claim that include timeliness of our initial contact with customers, positive customer experience and overall accuracy. My current position is within a virtual team, where team members and leadership are scattered in different states and all communication is done via email, webinars, phone conferences, etc. As a Progressive employee for seven years, I appreciate the autonomous aspect that the virtual team brings, as I am self-motivated and need very little direction to achieve positive outcomes for customers while exceeding corporate standards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Telecommunications Analyst (Former Employee), OhAugust 9, 2014
Great..................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
progressive in thinking
Contact Center Manager (Current Employee), Mayfield Village, OHAugust 9, 2014
eighty percent of the day is coaching employees on how to meet goals and objectives, using tools and reports to help motive and provide feedback, while creating a positive work environment.

Interview candidates for potential hiring along disciplinary action if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things are changing for the worse
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 7, 2014
Pros: cafeteria, gym, game rooms, and sleep rooms on site.
Cons: they are making a lot of changes at once and all they care about now is profit
I have worked at progressive for 3 years and at first I love it. They were flexible with schedules, the calls were not back to back every single day, the benefits were great and the metrics were reasonable. Now they keep adding new metrics every 6 months or so and they do not increase your pay. I'm sorry but to me more work=more pay is a very simple – more... concept. WE LITERALLY HAVE HUNDREDS of calls in cue everyday with only a few seconds in between because of acw and again no pay increase. Furthermore they have a holistic approach that is not consistent between supervisors. They do try to keep employees happy by giving us little incentives but they used to treat their employees better and care less about money. Now everything is all about money and less about employees and customers. Even really tenured people are tired of the stress we are being put through. Progressive should have been hiring more people awhile ago and they should have gave people better schedules coming in. Their forecasting is way off and is completely irresponsible. My love for progressive has quickly turned to regret, disappointment and hate. I'm going to leave very soon as I suspect many others will also. I'm a reasonable person but I am not a robot. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Progressive

What We’re About Progressive is a place where innovation and collaboration are a way of life. Each of our employees has – Read more