Find companies:
ProStep Rehabilitation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

ProStep Rehabilitation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Soul Is Not For Sale
Travel Therapist (Former Employee), Gaylord MIDecember 8, 2013
Cons: protect your family/friends...protect your license
Umpteen years as a contractor and/or a traveler. I've seen the good, the bad, and the ugly in a variety of clinical settings. Had the 'interesting" baptism into the inner circle of hell of this company, when in my first few weeks of a travel assignment, the regional director had a clinical meeting where she stated....and I quote..."If things don't change' – more... I don't care, I'll fire you" <generalized to the entire rehab staff>. Yeah. The beatings will continue until morale improves type of mentality. This facility in Northern MI was fined half a Million dollars by the state of MI (early 2013) for failure to provide a safe environment. It's fact. You may verify. Shame on them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Corporate Recruiter (Current Employee), Multi siteAugust 20, 2013
Great company. I was the number one recruiter for two years. My loss of job was due to low censes and my number of open position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a family feel.
COTA (Current Employee), Edmonds, WAMay 27, 2013
Pros: free homemade soup at lunch and special events.
Cons: healthcare benefits / medical
I work with the best OTRs past and present. Our FRC really cares about us as part of her rehab family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Staff Occupational Therapist (Former Employee), MinnesotaApril 4, 2013
The company was average to work for. I didn't recieve a raise even though my performance and productivity were above average. Typical day was providing OT to geriatric and psychiatric patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be fun as a travel assignment
Retired Therapist (Former Employee), MidwestFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: free lunch, friendly staff, generous pto, good benefits
Cons: no raises, no holiday pay, management varies
Some of these facilities are a disaster, a few are worthy of 5 stars. I work at several of these facilities and at the time, all of them were struggling with staffing issues. Many buildings have a higher than average turn-over rate for therapists and management. Occasionally you may encounter documentation out of compliance due to staffing needs that – more... aren't met. Excellent documentation skills and solid clinical reasoning skills are a must if you encounter management with values that don't match your own. Also, mentorship will only be available if you work with a team of more than 6 therapists. Some of the buildings are asthetically pleasing. Your opinion of the facility is largely going to depend on the facility rehab coordinator. If their values match your own, then you will likely love working for the company. Not all SNFs are created equal. Your hours will be flexible, but most buildings require weekends. They do provide knowledge of use of modalities, which is nice. The continuing education options are mediochre. Tech-savvy skills will help therapists joining the team make the adjustment to completing daily documention. Productivity standards are attainable, but facilities don't have the recources to let all therapists attain productivity due to shortage of computers which is required for evaluations and progress notes. The company uses handheld documentation on an iPod for daily notes. It is very difficult for seasoned therapists to get the hang of using the device and malfunctions lead to great frustration. Often times, there will be a shortage of handhealds as well due to malfunctions and dead batteries. There was one facility that was very well run with a top notch rehab coordinator and she greatly contributed to the development of her team of therapists. This is the one you will love working for. Although it is a rare find, the company does have some high quality facilities. Don't get stuck at one of the duds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
PTA (Current Employee), Sequim, WAJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: free soup and sandwiches for lunch
Cons: dealing c difficult family members c unrealistic expectations of pts.
. . Rehab manager very good;people oriented; Good teamwork b etween rehab staff. 8hr work day/flexible within reason. potential to learn new languages and new cultures; After lunch'trying to motivate patients; When the day is complete and I feel that I've truly helped someone get better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was very employee and patient orientated. Great compensation and benefits. It also offered assistance with CEUs.
PTA/Facility Rehab Coordinator (Former Employee), Cheboygan, MIJanuary 23, 2013
As a rehab coordinator, my typical day was doing the schedule, attending meetings and discussing d/c plans with family and other employees. As a Physical Therapist Assistant, my day was working with the PT on helping patients with their rehab goals. The hardest part of my job was juggling between being the rehab coordinator and a PTA. I had to quickly – more... learn good time management skills. The best part of my job as a PTA was seeing the progress with the patients. I loved working with the OT's, ST's and the nursing staff, I learned different techniques to help with the patients recovery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
respectful environment
Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIDecember 30, 2012
Pros: i love working with patients
Cons: long commute to work daily
i worked for prostep rehab as a certified occupational therapy assistant where i worked closely with the rehab team ( physical and speech therapy) to improve res overall independence and quality of life through skilled services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your due diligence--and don't believe they'll actually approve the benefits they promise you
therapist (Former Employee), PortlandDecember 13, 2012
Pros: i liked my co-workers, and we bonded well over our mutual frustration.
Cons: poor rehab candidates, bad management, focus on billing not pt care
In my area, ProStep is not highly considered by the discharge planners at the hospital. Many "rehab" patients tended to have tremendously challenging diagnoses, co-morbidities, and socioeconomic attributes--the worst was their lackluster interest to participate in therapy. There was a lack of equipment and space. Somehow, the maintenance person seemed – more... to have more clout than the therapists (significant arguing with therapy about installing transfer poles-- thought they'd mar the floor or ceiling). NAC's unaware of precautions and failed to follow them. Pt's discharged without being monitored so thousands of dollars worth of therapy equipment waltzed out the door (w/c, reachers, cushions, walkers). Maybe that's why we never had money for equipment. Loved my co-workers--but there was no sense of being appreciated for staying late to get overloaded schedule completed. Only focus was the weekly memos I'd get about my lousy productivity (hard to bill for time spent arguing with pts who don't want to be seen by therapy). Glad to be gone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Physical Therapist (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: acess to equipment, program development, compassion
Cons: salary is not the highest, but its competitive/reasonable
I have worked for this company in a couple different locations for them. I found consistency between sites and the therapists passionate about what they do. I started as a new grad fresh out of school and they helped me develop into the skilled therapist that I am today. I was lured away by another company with the promise of big money. What I discovered – more... is money is not everything and I’m going back to ProStep next week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my team
Occupational Therapist (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WISeptember 21, 2012
Pros: leadership
Cons: salary could have been a little higher
I left my position due to my husband's transfer to another state. I hated to leave. There was camaraderie amongst the rehab department and our DON was supportive. We had visible management, but they let me do what I do best – treat patients. I’ve had a difficult time finding another company that offers the same positive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A refreshing focus on patient care - not just productivity
Prefer not to say (Current Employee), WisconsinSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: a true transitional care inpatient rehab center - not long term care
Having spent the better part of my career (20+) years with contract rehab firms, I can tell you things are different here. ProStep is NOT a contract firm - they only provide services to their parent company's (Extendicare) facilities. An in-house therapy department for outpatient clinics, ALFs & subacute centers. There is no chance of a lost contract – more... and therefore the staff/my peers have been here for a long time. It’s not uncommon to see therapists that have been here 5, 10, 15+ years. That leads to more highly evolved rehab programming and better communication with nursing and administration. They have realistic expectations with productivity and give me the tools and CEUs I need to succeed. I have the freedom to try new things and mentor others. – less

About ProStep Rehabilitation

ProStep Rehab offers comprehensive rehabilitative services including physical, occupational and speech therapy services in a variety – Read more