Protection One Security Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Door-to-Door Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, COJune 5, 2017
Knocked on doors from 11am-9pm Monday through Saturday. Management was very shady in the promises they made and never kept. Great overall experience, but not great overall company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work enviorment and fun to be part of a team
National Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAMay 29, 2017
I really loved the years I spent at P1 and the knowledge I received in training, certifications, etc. This job was the best since I have been out of the military. I would work there in a heart beat if they would let me in a National Account role.
Pros
Good pay and fun company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at time was not a growing company
Dispatcher/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV 89118May 26, 2016
at the time I worked there it was not a growing company. there was no move up possibilities. very limited in area. not advanced enough in field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
services residential and commercial customers
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Edison, NJFebruary 10, 2016
services residential and commercial customers. work hard until job is complete or issue is found. Communicate this info to customer and back to management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it was talked up to be.
ADVANCED RESIDENTIAL MARKETING (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJuly 8, 2015
This was my third summer working for a door to door security company. Protection one talked a lot about being better than other companies but failed to show with time that it was true. The leadership is sub par and at times very unprofessional. The training materials were of no help and the product is more expensive than any other security company.
Pros
Commission based
Cons
Leadership, Product, Price
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't recommend
Commercial Technician (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 30, 2015
Good techs but bad management, they will throw you under the bus in a heart beat. There is no constancy with jobs they send you on and your parts are always wrong and you never have everything you need to finish a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only a Short Time There
Senior Commercial Security Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 20, 2015
Working for P1 under the old management and before it's makeover, I have amny friends still there who are very happy they have stuck it out to work for a more visionary company. Although they started as a home alarm company, they haven't quite figured out how to get past that small-margin mentality.
Pros
New Management
Cons
Still a "small business and home alarm" mentality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIgh Paced call volume
Alarm Monitor/ Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Cypress, CAOctober 8, 2014
A typical day at work consists of a high volume of various calls ranging from alarm activity, alarm malfunctions, and alarm inquires. The company overall is a good company ran by its employees. I think it takes a certain kind of person to work in this type of industry. The employees are fun to work with and makes the work environment a little less stressful.
Pros
good benefits and vacation time
Cons
poor manegment and alot of favortisim
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Lead Technician (Current Employee) –  Saint George, UTSeptember 19, 2014
loved working there treated you well. just moving didnt make sense in ym life at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading commercial security systems provider.
Commercial Security Consultant (Former Employee) –  Marin County, CAAugust 24, 2014
My branch was a leading provider with a management team committed to ensuring the sales teams personal successes by providing opportunities with clients.
Pros
Perks, referrals, great installation team.
Cons
Strict enforcement of sales goals and quotas'.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big changes can happen to great companies
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  KSJuly 1, 2014
Our corporate management made a conscious decision to completely change P1's sales and service focus in 2014.

The name P1 used to mean quality, care, and outstanding service / product. In an effort to look lean for prospective buyers, a new sales program with quality control and service issues was launched - all in the name of profit.

It is an unfortunate situation.
Pros
Branch Management is outstanding and hardworking. Branch team is a class act.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job.
Monitoring Representative (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 16, 2014
I enjoyed knowing my job, exactly what I needed to do on a daily basis such as being there on time, duties, and self presentation.
Management fails on equality and love to have their favorites.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
protection one just wasnt the right fit
Residential Re-Connect Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 2, 2014
they were about quantity not quality. the focus was on obtaining more accounts and not keeping the customer satisfied. poor customer retention and customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and very productive
Administration / Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKDecember 16, 2013
Loved working one on one with customers and business. The people were great and I enjoyed my stay with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very self motivated and goal oriented
Advertising Director - Sales (Former Employee) –  Orem, UTSeptember 11, 2013
We meet as team every day for a meeting to go over numbers and predict goals for the day.

We map out area and drive area. We then get dropped and knock are area.

We are taking orders for future installments.

We are providing a peace of mind for costumers family's.
Pros
pays well
Cons
weather is not all ways promising
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed atmosphere
Representative (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 30, 2013
management knew everyone's name and offered an open-door policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Salinas, CAApril 23, 2013
great people friendly co workers long hrs. good management my first job learned great thing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place great enviornment and people where nice
Receptionist Bulk Mailings (Former Employee) –  Sunland, CAOctober 9, 2012
fun filled environment at the time i was with them
handled bulk mail for a bit then they switched me to call center and
soon after that location closed.....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 19, 2012
good job experiance
Good place to start working while your in college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
monitoring center
Monitoring Agent (Former Employee) –  Longwood, FLJuly 16, 2012
worked in small team to dispatch alarms - residential and commercial alarms.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Protection One Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.2

Protection One Security Reviews by Location