Protective Life Insurance Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
processed and paid life claims
Senior Life Analyst (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, TNJuly 27, 2017
researched, reviewed and processed life claims for acquired life insurance companies and Protective insurance policyholders. Great challenge with various laws and tax codes as each state has different requirements for payment of life claims. Monthly reports and financial statements prepared for board meetings as home office
Pros
daily challenge of meeting goals and timely payments of claims
Cons
work load was sometimes stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not really a fun place too work ..my bills got paid
Application Specialist (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILJuly 4, 2017
The position was very fulfilling ,the training could've been more detail ,my manger didnt have any knowledge about the job no help there. Not a bad place to work more detail training is needed .ASAP
Pros
Okay paid ..not a bad place to work
Cons
Management always looking for drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fulling work from day to day
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYApril 19, 2017
People were the most difficult aspect of the job. The work was fulfilling and I learned a lot. Most enjoyable part was the work life balance allowed. Management was terrible
Pros
Work from home
Cons
terrible internal management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protective Life Insurance, Co.
Customer Service Representative Tier 3 (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILApril 5, 2017
Heavy inbound phone usage and customer service correspondence via email to discuss life insurance policies with inquiring policy holders. My position was from 7:30am - 4 pm
Pros
Work hours and Benifits
Cons
Short breaks, must adhere to set schedule of clocking in/out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful workplace
Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALFebruary 9, 2017
Stressful workplace with no regard for family life. This company is only concerned with bottom line profits. Limited advancement opportunities with weak pay increases.
Overloaded job duties and must work from home even when office is officially closed for inclement weather.
Pros
Nice facility
Cons
6 day work week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People oriented, friendly
Medical Review Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 12, 2017
Enjoyable place to work. Everyone interested in helping one another, family oriented. Understanding and ready to work with issues that came up in employees personal lives as well.
Pros
team building
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very good work place
Sr. Front End UI Developer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 14, 2016
Wonderful woking environment with very supportive co-workers. I got great opportunity to learn and explore new things which I haven't worked before. Got recognition and appreciation for my contribution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Customer Assistant I (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 6, 2016
Protective is a great company to work for. There is a lot of room for advancement. The company is very family oriented and takes really good care of the employees!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with lots of advancement possibilities!
Licensing Analyst (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 18, 2016
I love the fact that I love coming to work. We have a want to attitude throughout the company. You see smiles & hear laughter as you pass through the different offices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protective Life is a family-like company focused on growth
Accounting and Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 14, 2016
As a part of the rotational program I gained exposure to different teams and leaders. This allowed me to learned how to effectively function in different teams and taught me a plethora of skills that can be used throughout my career.
Protective Life is a family-oriented company with a strong work-life balance that focused on creating the best, happiest and healthiest employees.
Pros
gym and work with shower
Cons
incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Billing Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 17, 2016
Great place to work. Management was wonderful to work with and co workers knew the meaning of team work. Well organized group, and worksite community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
SQL/SSIS/SSRS Developer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 11, 2016
It was great experience working with the company .There is a Good scope of learning new things and the staff here were
Interactive. I had a good Work life balance
Pros
Free lunches, Interactive atmosphere
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 25, 2016
Protective is a great place to work for people who work hard. They are very willing to promote from within if you are willing to achieve your very best with specific deliverables. The overall culture is conservative however, they have a great work/life balance. Compensation could be better however it comes with time if your performance is worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Senior Portfolio Analyst (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALFebruary 23, 2016
I've worked at Protective for about four years and couldn't say enough wonderful things. The Mortgage Department is wonderful from top to bottom. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Protective to anyone searching for a position in Birmingham, AL.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vilonia ARJanuary 20, 2016
I learned what life insurance is and all of the steps and procedures in completing each policy and all of the areas that each policy much go through in order to be approved and inforced. I also learned how to be an administrative assistant, by which I mean handling scheduling and arranging meetings and seminars and making sure that my boss had all of the paperwork and insurance information that he needed so that each meeting went as he intended.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Family Friendly Work Environment
case management (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 16, 2015
A tight-knit group of people that worked hard and supported each other thru steady as well as trying times. Management was very approachable and fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment
Senior Sql BI Developer (Former Employee) –  BirminghamSeptember 9, 2015
I have learned new thirty party tools to monitor sql, ssis , ssrs and ssas jobs by using Control M and BIxPress tools.

And also i used precise tool to fine tune the sql queries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, stable employment.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 13, 2015
Company culture and environment is great. Managers work with you and want you to succeed. If you don't like sitting in a cubicle, this is not for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR department is terrible
Term Life Insurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 22, 2015
Protective has poor management and there is no opportunity for advancement. Also the pay is really low for the workload that is given.
Pros
Saturday and Sunday off.
Cons
HR and management needs a shakeup.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance and Compensation/Benefits
Representative I (Former Employee) –  Calabasas, CAMay 12, 2015
A good environment to work with.

All types of car insurance policy.

Have a great Manager. Pleasant to work with and treats everyone with respect.

Everyone gets along.

Big accounts to reconcile.

Most of the work were enjoyable.
Pros
Free lunches most of the time.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Protective Life Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

86%
15 ratings
Add your rating

Protective Life Insurance Reviews by Location