Find companies:
Providence Alaska Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Providence Alaska Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the mental problem solving dilemmas
Supervisor General Radiology (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: time was used as i saw best.
Cons: ineffective department director
I spent half of my ten hour shift in an office dealing payroll, hiring and firing, equipment evaluation and team direction. The remainder of my day was spent producing radiographs for the Radiologist for the sake of Hospital and emergency room patients. The toughest part of the job was working with the bickering of talented Radiographers. Which was – more... also the best part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff. Poor Management. Not a data driven organization.
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKAugust 6, 2014
PAMC Care mgmt is working hard to catch up to 21st century health care delivery. Mgmt is not equipped to handle staffing or development issues. Consulting group was brought in to re-work dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PAMC Review
Physical Therapist (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKJuly 28, 2014
Pros: excellent management+ patient care approach
Cons: clout from long term co-workers
1. Gathered patient tx data from schedule/system. Coordinated pt POC with care team. Provided pt care.
2. Excellent management- constructive feedback, always open to new ideas, prompt response to situations, listened to staff concern.
3.getting up early in the AM
4. Patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
RN Resource Pool Traveler (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJuly 5, 2014
Pros: good equipment, teamwork on some units
Cons: breaks, too political and gossippy
There is nothing more that i want to share about this facility. I worked there as a traveler.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful wor environment
Patient Access - Admitting Representative (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKJune 5, 2014
Pros: good people
I really enjoy the Spiritual Aspect I see and hear daily at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple opportunities, encouraged education
RN (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: regular hours, benefits
RN duties. Worked in many departments. Hospital was willing to work with needs. Worked well with employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teamwork
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKDecember 6, 2013
Era Aviation has a great team and staff. They work well together to provide excellent customer service. The product that they have is one that is a must in the aviation feild.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was excellent
Hospital Billing Supervisor (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKNovember 11, 2013
Pros: excellent people
Cons: laid-off
I loved working here because of the people I worked with on a daily basis. I would probably still there if it wasn't for big business consolidating departments and laying off my entire department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest Hospital in the State of Alaska
Adult Critical Care RN (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKOctober 31, 2013
Catholic hospital, that has outstanding values and missions. I work in an Adult Critical Care unit where pts come from multiple pathophysiological backgrounds. Caring for many patients from many cultural backgrounds has given me a broad perspective of how to care for pts with the utmost respect and dignity and pt equality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical
Licensed Practical Nurse, Mother/Baby Unit (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKAugust 8, 2013
Pros: great insurance
Cons: new personnel will start out on night shift
advancement available, easy to transfer up within facility, flexible scheduling, great insurance, people tend to stay at this job until they retire, co-workers very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
CBX Telecommunications Operator and Dispatcher (Former Employee), Anchorage, AkMay 28, 2013
Pros: education and training
Cons: leaving the company after 4 years.
Worked various shifts daily. Tended to customers needs, answered multi-line phones, data entry, emergency response, lifeguard and training in many emergency fields.

I learned what it takes to remain calm in a emergency situation and multi-task.

Management was great, always kept you up to date on training and education.

The hardest part was leaving – more... the job after 4 years due to military.

Most enjoyable part was working with a great team of co-workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging responsibilities in an insurance billing environment
Documents Specialist (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKMay 8, 2013
Pros: compensation package, flexible work hours
Cons: department consolidation/position eliminated
I reviewed the claims system every day for medical record requests. I then sorted through the patients medical record at Providence and sent out to the insurance company requesting the information. I also checked paid claims for possible underpayments. The hardest part of the job was calling the insurance companies to ask for collections of underpayments. – more... I enjoyed the flextime the company offered and having a private office. My position was eliminated due to Providence relocating their billers to Oregon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic place to work, with career advancement oppurtunities
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKMarch 12, 2013
Pros: great supervisor, loved pretty much every aspect of the job
Cons: occasionally violent alcohol or drug withdrawing patients
I honestly loved my job and was sad to go. I worked 12 hour shifts in a rapid paced hospital, the largest in Alaska.
Co-workers were great
The hardest part of the job is dealing with death-natural but sad non-the-less.
The best part of the job is helping care for patients, seeing them become well or providing comfort in terms of palliative care.
I loved – more... that my job was so varied and every day was different-I worked for the Resource Team which floated to different departments throughout the hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the type of job that no two days are the same.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKNovember 27, 2012
Pros: a regular scheduled day shift.
Cons: none noted.
I had good co-workers. Some good training was provided to keep us current. Most of the days were productive along with providing outstanding customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Orthopedic Care Technician Orthopedics (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKOctober 11, 2012
Lots of opportunity to learn new skills, Good staff patient ratio.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful environment to be in
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKAugust 10, 2012
Pros: everything
I enjoyed working at Providence and everyone there was compassionate towards each other