Providence Alaska Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and great team
Clinical Informatics Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKDecember 3, 2015
Very fun and fast paced job. Plenty of room for advancement and lots of knowledge to obtain. Recommend to anyone looking to work the floor at a hospital.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging responsibilities in an insurance billing environment
Documents Specialist (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMay 8, 2013
I reviewed the claims system every day for medical record requests. I then sorted through the patients medical record at Providence and sent out to the insurance company requesting the information. I also checked paid claims for possible underpayments. The hardest part of the job was calling the insurance companies to ask for collections of underpayments. I enjoyed the flextime the company offered and having a private office. My position was eliminated due to Providence relocating their billers to Oregon.
Pros
Compensation package, flexible work hours
Cons
Department consolidation/position eliminated
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
CBX Telecommunications Operator and Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AkMay 28, 2013
Worked various shifts daily. Tended to customers needs, answered multi-line phones, data entry, emergency response, lifeguard and training in many emergency fields.

I learned what it takes to remain calm in a emergency situation and multi-task.

Management was great, always kept you up to date on training and education.

The hardest part was leaving the job after 4 years due to military.

Most enjoyable part was working with a great team of co-workers
Pros
Education and training
Cons
Leaving the company after 4 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PAMC Review
Physical Therapist (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJuly 28, 2014
1. Gathered patient tx data from schedule/system. Coordinated pt POC with care team. Provided pt care.
2. Excellent management- constructive feedback, always open to new ideas, prompt response to situations, listened to staff concern.
3.getting up early in the AM
4. Patients
Pros
Excellent management+ patient care approach
Cons
clout from long term co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical
Licensed Practical Nurse, Mother/Baby Unit (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 8, 2013
advancement available, easy to transfer up within facility, flexible scheduling, great insurance, people tend to stay at this job until they retire, co-workers very helpful
Pros
great insurance
Cons
new personnel will start out on night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic place to work, with career advancement oppurtunities
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMarch 12, 2013
I honestly loved my job and was sad to go. I worked 12 hour shifts in a rapid paced hospital, the largest in Alaska.
Co-workers were great
The hardest part of the job is dealing with death-natural but sad non-the-less.
The best part of the job is helping care for patients, seeing them become well or providing comfort in terms of palliative care.
I loved that my job was so varied and every day was different-I worked for the Resource Team which floated to different departments throughout the hospital.
Pros
great supervisor, loved pretty much every aspect of the job
Cons
occasionally violent alcohol or drug withdrawing patients
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
MHS -Mental Health Specialist (Current Employee) –  3760 Piper StOctober 17, 2014
Great place to work, good work culture. It is a good place to learn the basic job requirements and beyond.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple opportunities, encouraged education
RN (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJanuary 28, 2014
RN duties. Worked in many departments. Hospital was willing to work with needs. Worked well with employees.
Pros
Regular hours, benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the mental problem solving dilemmas
Supervisor General Radiology (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKSeptember 16, 2014
I spent half of my ten hour shift in an office dealing payroll, hiring and firing, equipment evaluation and team direction. The remainder of my day was spent producing radiographs for the Radiologist for the sake of Hospital and emergency room patients. The toughest part of the job was working with the bickering of talented Radiographers. Which was also the best part.
Pros
Time was used as I saw best.
Cons
ineffective Department Director
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest Hospital in the State of Alaska
Adult Critical Care RN (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKOctober 31, 2013
Catholic hospital, that has outstanding values and missions. I work in an Adult Critical Care unit where pts come from multiple pathophysiological backgrounds. Caring for many patients from many cultural backgrounds has given me a broad perspective of how to care for pts with the utmost respect and dignity and pt equality.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great if you like alaska
Dietary Services Technician (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKFebruary 2, 2015
350 bed hospital very fast paced. co workers are great but the weather is a drag -25 below zero gets old fast. health insurance was really great. One of the largest hospitals in Anchorage. And had a neonatal unit that was one of the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff. Poor Management. Not a data driven organization.
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 6, 2014
PAMC Care mgmt is working hard to catch up to 21st century health care delivery. Mgmt is not equipped to handle staffing or development issues. Consulting group was brought in to re-work dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the type of job that no two days are the same.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKNovember 27, 2012
I had good co-workers. Some good training was provided to keep us current. Most of the days were productive along with providing outstanding customer service.
Pros
a regular scheduled day shift.
Cons
none noted.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was excellent
Hospital Billing Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKNovember 11, 2013
I loved working here because of the people I worked with on a daily basis. I would probably still there if it wasn't for big business consolidating departments and laying off my entire department.
Pros
excellent people
Cons
laid-off
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teamwork
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKDecember 6, 2013
Era Aviation has a great team and staff. They work well together to provide excellent customer service. The product that they have is one that is a must in the aviation feild.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
RN Resource Pool Traveler (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJuly 5, 2014
There is nothing more that i want to share about this facility. I worked there as a traveler.
Pros
good equipment, teamwork on some units
Cons
breaks, too political and gossippy
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful environment to be in
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 10, 2012
I enjoyed working at Providence and everyone there was compassionate towards each other
Pros
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Orthopedic Care Technician Orthopedics (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKOctober 11, 2012
Lots of opportunity to learn new skills, Good staff patient ratio.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful wor environment
Patient Access - Admitting Representative (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJune 5, 2014
I really enjoy the Spiritual Aspect I see and hear daily at work.
Pros
good people
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Providence Alaska Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Providence Alaska Medical Center Reviews by Location