Provident Bank Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sur
Sales Associate II (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 31, 2018
I honestly can't remember much about this job. It was located in the grocery store, which required us to meet sales goals by promoting products to shoppers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thumbs up
Interim Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Oxon Hill, MDJanuary 29, 2018
Provident Bank was a wonderful company to work for as well. There was ample opportunity to grow within the company because there were two divisions within which we could move freely to gain more experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Commercial Loan Administrator II (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VAJanuary 25, 2018
Provident Bank was a great place to work. great relationship with management. Lost a great manager to cancer which changed to work place to mourning for a long period of time.
Pros
great management
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company No Longer Exist
Employee (Former Employee) –  MarylandJanuary 24, 2018
This was a great company to work for. The staff and management were good friendly people. The company merged with M&T Bank. Would love to work for another company that was as friendly as this.
Pros
People and management
Cons
Merged with M&T Bank
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
Mortgage Processor II (Former Employee) –  West Chester, OHJanuary 22, 2018
Setup vendors and contractors. utilized lexus nexes as a tool to research these companies. ran fraud checks. then submitted finding for approval.
I learned a lot
Good Management very helpful
Mutual work environment and respectful
In the beginning it is always the hardest
Worked independently with in a team.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
II really do not have any cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but not great.
Banking Center Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edison, NJJanuary 18, 2018
I have always loved working for Provident Bank, but recently I feel over work and under paid. There is lots of lack of communication and I know I have a lot to offer.
Pros
paid time off
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Teller (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD 21208January 18, 2018
work less then 8 hours a week. long day on Friday had to work weekends the first of the month was busy good location close to home!! pay was ok. loved getting off at 3 daily!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Branch Atmosphere
Market Manager, VP (Former Employee) –  Easton, PAJanuary 16, 2018
Provident was a nice place to work, I was able to develop a team that supported that banks culture and goals. I felt there was a lack of communication from main headquarters to the branches in Pennsylvania. There was also a lack of attention from PA and NJ laws. Headquartered in NJ they sent out legal documents that were based in NJ and not in PA to our PA clients.
Pros
Regional Manager
Cons
Communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's what you make of it
BANK TELLER SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJanuary 9, 2018
Low salary, with an obsessive amount of work. No promotions were given. Pay raises were every year but less than $0.40. I did above and beyond and no recognition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
Sales Associate Teller (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDJanuary 8, 2018
Working at the bank I learned how to manage various accounts.
Helping various customers deposit and withdraw money.
Open new accounts on a daily basis.
Showed customers which account would best suit their needs.
Cons
This bank closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization
AVP, Assistant Bank Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 7, 2018
Provident Bank was an excellent employer to grow with and expand my career. I feel if the merger would not have taken place between Provident and National City, all of the employees would still be there today.
Pros
Great organization
Cons
Only one location in Greater Cleveland
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice working inviorment
Mortgage Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 6, 2017
A good place to work. Everyone is very nice. Limited products with a very conservative and long process. A lot of time spent keeping the clients informed through the long mortgage process.
Pros
Good Reputation
Cons
Slow back office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Bank Associate (Current Employee) –  Dunellen, NJNovember 1, 2017
Good environment to work. The only limitation is that the bank exists only in two states and customers need banks with a more national or international presence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced competitive working culture.
Vice President, Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJOctober 4, 2017
Great learning ground with clear career path. Fast paced competitive working culture. Generous and supportive management. Met some wonderful people who became personal friends.
Pros
Clear career path.
Cons
Unending work day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teller (Former Employee) –  Suffern, NYOctober 3, 2017
I loved working for provident bank. Everyone was just really nice. The branch manager was great. I miss working for the company after they have close down.
Pros
Busy
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with good values
Sr. Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CASeptember 28, 2017
Provident is a great company to work for, with generally a good culture. It is unfortunate that some of their managers are unwilling to motivate their supervisors, but rather belittle them and make them feel like one can't do any good.
Pros
Good working environment and facilities, average pay.
Cons
Cut throat managers (some, not all)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Iselin, NJSeptember 14, 2017
indeed is forcing me to write a review that I really do not want to write. A day at Provident is ok, I have learned to stay focus on the task at hand,
Pros
They are really into creating a great atmosphere for there employees
Cons
Department needs to quite down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Corporate Compliance Intern (Former Employee) –  Iselin, NJSeptember 11, 2017
A typical day at the provident bank was a very fun and productive working environment with coworkers who were always willing to help when needed. Management is very fair and friendly, and they do their best to get the best out of you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Bank Associate II (Current Employee) –  Bloomfield, NJAugust 30, 2017
Provident Bank is an excellent bank to work for. They care for personal growth within the company and provide coaching for employees to do better. The work environment is fast paced and knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Provident Bank
Banking Center Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Morristown, NJAugust 27, 2017
I worked as an assistant branch manager and was given a lot of responsibility. I'm proud to say that I met or exceeded the call of duty. My previous mangers can easily respond that question.

I learned and served as a coach for all new employees.
Pros
They care about your personal life and are responsive to the employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Provident Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 139 reviews
554
437
335
29
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture