Provident Bank Employee Reviews

Found 77 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily
Client Service Associate II (Former Employee) –  Pomona, NYOctober 2, 2014
very flexible work schedule. not much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the company
Specialist II (Former Employee) –  MarylandSeptember 30, 2014
Enjoyed going to work with great people.
Everyone treated you great
The hardest part was when we were sold
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy going workplace
Sales associate / bank teller (Former Employee) –  Airmont NYAugust 23, 2014
my most favorite job by far, I absolutely love the profession. a typical day at work would be a coworker running to the deli for everyone's orders, then coming back having a meeting before we open up. giving each other high fives and encouragement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Steady
Supervisor/Teller (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 13, 2014
Very busy and fast paced environment. Love my work enjoy working in Finance and banking. Co- workers were cool
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work vibe
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, NJJuly 31, 2014
I enjoyed working with my co-workers and lovely and sweet guest never had an issue.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Commercial Teller (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJuly 16, 2014
My branch was a busy one, but kept me busy and my day went by quick.
I was on the business window. I just took care of business customers. I helped them with cash, check, coins, orders.
I also took in their daily transactions.
Pros
when it was a busy day the manager brought us lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going place
Telephone Agent (Current Employee) –  Iselin, NJJuly 16, 2014
Enjoy being able to assisting customers. Management is very good. They are always willing to listen to change and ideals
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Benefit
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAMay 15, 2014
Working hard and helping customer.
Learn how to be better in what you do.
Going out and find potential business
Great co workers
Working 3 different jobs at the same time
liking my customer
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, NJMay 13, 2014
Fun workplace and i learned a lot about banking. Great management and workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very smart and conservative from a business standpoint
Relationship Banker (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDMarch 2, 2014
EVERYTHING was great, until Provident Bank was taken over by M & T. Very soon after that, MANY old Provident employees began to disappear faster and faster (by choice, suggestion, and/or force). It quickly became clear that M & T's true interest in Provident Bank was market share and accounts. The upside of initially keeping all the branch employees turned out to be collateral damage. The Gallup score of the bank quickly dropped and dropped in almost every category bank-wide, especially the old Provident branches. Also, many tenured M & T employees decided to move on and/or retire. I have personally spoken to many tenured M & T employees who were no longer happy with the company after the merger, due to the culture change. I have also visited several branches where you could literally feel the tension in the air. Many customers (as I was told by them personally) could feel the tension as well upon entry.The most enjoyable part of the job is the job itself. Helping clients meet and/or exceed their financial goals every day the best way possible is inspiring. A typical day is either slow and stressful or busy and stressful. Management was arrogant and unfair, but so was the culture. For the most part, co-workers were pretty good. I didn't have many issues with them at all. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the tenured clients of the tenured employees after they left the company.
Pros
company stability, financial savvy, longevity
Cons
from a human resources standpoint, they leave a lot to be desired; we are viewed as numbers, not people; poor morale, corporate culture arrogant, very stingy with raises and promotions (even with exceptional performance)
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teller
Client Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Stony Point, NYJanuary 2, 2014
Nice culture, caring people, execute financial transactions and provide superior customer srvice
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive Mortgage Company ver professional environment
Loan Closer/ Document Specialist/Loan Shipper (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CADecember 10, 2013
I loved to work for this company. They treated everyone equal and with respect. I've learned several programs and investor guidelines. A typical day of work consist of drawing docs and closing loans. the hardest part of my job will probably be get underwriters to sign off conditions when they were not at work. The most enjoyable part of my job will be the great atmosphere very fun place to work for.
Pros
bonusus and end of month lunches
Cons
health care and benefits and aflac
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great bank to work for.
Senior E-Banking CSR (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 8, 2013
I answered phones, and emails. Processed online banking applications. I assisted other departments with questions about the online banking service. I generated passwords for the online service. I offered other bank services to customers
Pros
great hours, great supervisor, great location
Cons
the bank was sold in 2009.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WISH THEY NEVER CLOSED
Head Teller (Former Employee) –  BALTIMORENovember 14, 2013
GREAT BANK, VERY PERSONAL AND FRIENDLY. WISH IT WAS STILL THERE
Pros
everything
Cons
they closed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family values
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 6, 2013
Customer driven company that kept our branch busy on daily basis.
Pros
overtime always available
Cons
pay rate increase stagnant.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Woodlawn, MDNovember 6, 2013
Duties included assisting customers with concerns and issues they are having with their accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Teller (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 15, 2013
Productive Workplace in the financial sector. Now Merged with M&T Bank
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a company that will offer a good opportunity of advancement and a pleasant atmosphere
Benefits Administrator (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAOctober 15, 2013
Provident was a good place to work for, and specially many good people working thee, which
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
answer calls
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, NJOctober 12, 2013
Assist customer with all bank related questions, including retirement options.
Pros
hours
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place, loyal company and bosses who are willing to teach so that you may advance
Teller Supervisor II- Ridgedale Branch (Current Employee) –  Morristown, NJOctober 8, 2013
My job is very customer oriented as well as training my tellers daily. Consistently helping customers with their daily banking, solving any problems and helping to make sure their needs are met or exceeded. Managing the teller line and branch can be time consuming but very rewarding everyday. Scheduling and pacing is key. My line consistently makes me proud with their achievements. The hardest part of the job is always feeling that not enough was done. That things were not good enough and could be better. Which in turn makes me strive for more, better or faster.
Pros
hour lunches, healthcare package and pto days
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 78 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture