Find companies:
PSA Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
64 reviews

PSA Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor Job Security
LPN (Current Employee), office location CaryFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: no pros not such things
Cons: no appriciation
Staffing coordinator is very unprofessional towards new Employees
Job security is poor, not enough work for new Employees .

vany – May 11, 2013

just a thought, it is getting very annoying when people can't spell

Sueing – June 16, 2013

The schedulers run the show. No work for new recruits, only for favorites. They hire and fire without notice

– June 30, 2013

Management in office unprofessional and out of touch. Several former employees treated poorly and passed over for work hours while management's favorites were given more than full time hours regularly. Many excellent nurses came and left due to poor management and their attitudes!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a long term job
LPN (Current Employee), Ft MyersJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: wonderful patients
Cons: unprofessional scheduler
While you will fall in love with the patients, the scheduler for this office is very unprofessional and hard to work with and has a bad attitude. She is also VERY unorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PSA is a great place to work
RN (Current Employee), Sparta, NJJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: employee friendly
The office staff is always helpful and willing to answer questions. They go way above to assist the patients, families and field workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a long-term job
LPN (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PADecember 26, 2012
Pros: flexibility with schedule
Cons: schedulers, orientation, communication
First job out of school. Took a long time to place me with cases which is not helpful if you need to work ASAP. Appear to be very secretive with available hours and new cases. Have actually talked to several nurses that said they found out about new cases by their website faster than when they tried physically talking to the office. You don't get straight – more... answers with scheduling questions. Pay is decent, but can't make a living off of the hours they give you. It is feast or famine. Not very sensitive to helping when cases become difficult or wanting to switch cases because it's not the right fit. Would rather you just "deal with it" which I feel is dangerous to employee and client. Definitely leaving. Have a habit of calling last minute with questions which literally leaves you with 15 minutes to return their call before the office closes. Has happened to me almost weekly, but when you talk to other nurses, they apparently knew the information hours before hand and just waited till last minute to call you. Very unhappy with company. Their orientation is a joke. You don't realize how bad it is till you go to another company that has a quality orientation. Possibly 2-3 hours max and then you are out there. Feedback from managers about notes, techniques, progress is vague even when asking for extra guidance to be better at job. – less

Sueing – June 16, 2013

True also in Brockton, MA. Recruiters were professional with tests and orientation,but once you become an employee the schedulers are in charge no nursing supervisors. The schedulers ask about your skills, but you NEVER get any work if you are new or not their favorites. All cases nearby are filled with their favorites. They fight between themselves to OWN patients. When one scheduler assigns you to a patient, another cancels you and you don't even find out until you arrive at the patient's home and you don't even get paid for their mistakes

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PSA Homecare ( Tampa)
LPN (Current Employee), Tampa, FlDecember 25, 2012
Pros: stability job even / pleasant office staff when they call not a lot of cases
Cons: pays medicaid salary low end
Not a big salary hourly but definetely a nice job. one patient at a time and you are mostly sitting with the patient so no complaints there. The office stafff have been very professional and pleasant with staff. Even if the families complain they won't get nasty or take sides because they know some of them are'nt right. They will just find another case – more... for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional office
Lpn (Former Employee), Sparta njDecember 17, 2012
Pros: children
Cons: everything else
The nurses and most family are wonderful , the staff in the office are unprofessional and rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
LPN (Former Employee), Reading, PADecember 10, 2012
atttended peds. homes and take care of patients
followed care plans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with but alas no paid holidays
RN (Current Employee), Brockton, MaDecember 2, 2012
Pros: compassionate staff
Cons: no sick days, no paid holidays (even one a year would be thoughtful)
I have worked for ten years with this company. I feel the staff are mostly excellent professionals and I have made many friends with them. The hardest part of this job is the chronic nature of the clients and that home care is not like hospital patients most of which have a discharge date. The nice thing is having one patient at a time to help. The – more... pay is average......no paid holidays-and very con no paid sick days.....at least one would be good. – less

TaylorF – December 17, 2012

Do they train for PCAs/HHAs?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very organized
LVN Field Nurse (Current Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 15, 2012
The company is gong through some changes in staffing, there are a lot of new people working in the office. So that makes for a lot of confusion, and miscommunication. Scheduling is not very efficient either, not able to match up the patients need with nursing availability. Finding full time work is very hard with them right now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional place to work
LPN (Current Employee), Harrisburg, paNovember 9, 2012
Pros: making own schedule
Cons: everything else
I am a current employee. I have had may issues with this company. Lately inconsistencies in scheduling. Office personal are rude. Clinical supervisors and scheduler are unprofessional. Schedulers tell families why you no longer want to be their nurse. Clinical supervisors also tell families what was said between nurses and clinical supervisors about – more... cases. Unprofessional. Pick up extra shifts and they still expect the nurse to work 7 days a week. Safety not a concern for nurses. Areas on where cases are unsafe.benefits are horrible. Benefits don't pay for anything. Waiting for something better to come along. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an excellent opportunity to gain experience in management, Pediatrics and nurse education.
Clinical Care Manager (Former Employee), Savannah, GAOctober 6, 2012
There was never a typical day at PSA due to the nature of the job. I was responsible for the children, the nurses, the families, the paper work and working shifts when field nurses were unavailable. My co-workers, my manager in particular, were very supportive of me and my orientation to this new field. The most challenging part of the job was finding – more... the time to do all task given.The most enjoyable part of the job was educating the staff and connecting the children to community resources to make their life better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 24, 2012
No more review for this company. Depending on the mood of the day. Can be friendly can be unfriendly. Like to talk when they want to talk but if you talk when they are busy, watch out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMAZING Company!
RN (Current Employee), New EnglandAugust 7, 2012
Pros: training, great families, amazing management
Cons: pay is lower than hospitals, but schedules are more flexible
If you understand the company before you come to work here, and you have the right expectations, then this is going to be a great experience for you!!
Yes, they don't pay like hospitals but you work one-on-one with a patient and you get to set your own hours. The flexibility is worth the difference.
The scheduling is flexible- you get to submit what – more... you want to work a few weeks in advance. But once that month gets finalized, it's just like any other job. You can't just not show up and skip shifts and expect to be treated like their best employee.
I've seen a few great, hardworking field nurses get promoted to office positions. If you do your job, you're reliable and you're professional, then you definitely have job security and the chance to move up.
They made sure I trained in the office and had an orientation in the home before I started working the case by myself. They also gave me extra training every year. I love working for PSA!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't treat their feild staff well!
LPN (Current Employee), Williamsville, NYJuly 11, 2012
Cons: pay rate, vacation time, benefits, staffing
I have worked for PSA for almost 5 years now. The feild staff gets no benefits or perks. Office staff get all the vacation and perks. There are very few job openings with some sort of benefits included. I have only stayed with the company because I care about the family I work for. Their are very few good nurses working for this company due to the lack – more... of pay, benefits and appreciation. If the family I work for switches companies I would go in a heart beat!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN in pediatric private duty
RN (Current Employee), South Barrington, ILJune 18, 2012
Pros: autonomy
Cons: between cases
I saw pediatric patients who have trachs, g buttons, j tube, tube feedings, nebulizer treatments, suctioning needs, trach changes, pulse oximetry, high humidity trach collars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for PSA in The Houston Texas or The Woodlands Texas
LVN (Former Employee), Houston Texas and The Woodlands TexasMay 30, 2012
Pros: children and family
Cons: top management and case workers
The management at both of these offices are just Horrible. I refuse to work for PSA anymore and make them money. Nurses, always remember....NO NURSE = NO MONEY for these big corporate giants! If you are not in the home, they can not bill for hours!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team of nurses,job security was low
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), South Barrington, ILMay 21, 2012
Pros: flexable hours
Cons: not enought work avalible
I have learned much about dealing with families of special needs children. The hardest part of my job was leaving a case. I had daily satisfaction by taking care of wonderful children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job at PSA Healthcare
Pediatric Private Duty LPN (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 14, 2012
Pros: made my own schedule, good rate of pay
Cons: healthcare, nightshift
A typical day consisted of arriving at a child's home and performing a head to toe assessment upon arrival. I cared for the child throughout the night. Most were monitored with AB monitors, pulse ox equipment, and my personal assessments. I also provided their personal and individual healthcare. I learned that it is a lot of work and caring to tend – more... to children with disabilities. The management was a good team located in Pittsburgh, so I did not have much communication with them on a daily basis. I also had the experience of meeting some really great nurses that I respected. The hardest part of this job was also working the nightshift and also being in someone else's home environment for 10 hour shifts. The most enjoyable part of the job was the clients and their individual personalities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE COMPANY TO WORK FOR!
Nurse (Former Employee), New EnglandMay 11, 2012
Pros: the children are amazing
Cons: everything else!
Where do I even begin? Lets begin with only men are allowed constant OT! Even when there are plenty of hours to be worked, they would rather leave the family with no nurse then pay a little more for coverage. They are rude in every way possible. They will only be nice to you to get you to work hours that arent your normal scheduled time. When you have – more... complaints about a case, they DO NOT do anything about it. The nurses are on their own 100%, no support system at all. The pay is below other companies. Yes, you will love your job for the first 3-6 months, but it is all down hill after that. They will pull you off of a case with 0 warning and cut your full time status to 5 hours a week and expect you can afford to drive half way accross the state to fill in on another case. Im sorry, fuel isnt cheap and 5 hours will not fuel my vehicle and pay the bills. the health insurance is a joke. you pay a ton of money to be left with thousands of dollars in bills. it pays the co-pay and your stuck with the balance. no paid sick time, no vacation time. keep looking because if you do get hired, youll be looking again in a a few months! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Certified Nurses Aide (Current Employee), Elkins Park, PAApril 20, 2012
I love working for PSA. I haven't seen a agency ran like them in none of my years of working. I definitly give PSA two thumbs up. EXCELLENT people to work for.