Find companies:
PSAV
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

PSAV Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Similar to AAVC, but less personal work environment
Event Technology Specialist III (Former Employee), Half Moon Bay, CAJune 25, 2014
Pros: some enjoyable co-workers
Cons: bad management
I wasn't pleased working with this company. Every employee seemed to only be a number. They had a antiquated training program that took up time without having any real payoff, and they were required to be completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, everyday is different and exciting
Video Technician (Current Employee), Calgary, AB. BMO StampedeJune 19, 2014
Pros: different every day
Cons: pay could be better
Continuous opportunity to grow and learn in the industry, Great people to work with and everyday is exciting and different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start in the industry
Event Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 11, 2014
Pros: free meals usually, some training, connections to better contacts and companies
Cons: management!! all techs are disposable and some managers make sure you remember that.
If you don't have kids and you want to learn how the AV world works. Psav is basically AV 101. They don't pay well at all, and they expect a lot of time. However... thats the way the AV world works. The benefits are good, and the work environment is fun. Be warned, you can not support a family at their wages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced to get the show ready
Event Technology Specialist III (Current Employee), Lake Buena Vista, FLJune 6, 2014
Pros: some placews do feed you
Cons: the work can slow down in the summer months lack of hours
You follow a set of instruction on what needs to be set and what equipment will be used for the event.
You gather what is needed and you go to the ballroom or meeting space to set it up.
you are given the help that is needed to complete the job.
there are long days and in some events have to do some heavy lifting.
you do get to see some very unique – more... sets for the convention type shows or private events. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Director, Event Services (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 15, 2014
Great company to work for - day to day work is fun and fast paced. Always changing and keeping us on our toes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a lot of opportunities
Event Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Princeton, NJMay 9, 2014
this company provides excellent training and support staff to move up in a bunch of different ways
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun Workplace
A/V Technician (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJApril 29, 2014
Typical day at work was great. I would review the set sheets for the day and set rooms accordingly. Best part about of the job was meeting new clients and the challenges the presented when meeting different deadlines, and sets. I learned responsibility, flexibility, and excellent costumer service. Also learned a great variety of thing in the audio visual – more... and it department. My co-workers and management were excellent. Showed great motivation for the job and were very supportive to teach me new things when i entered. The hardest part of the job was handling long hours at times. Overall loved the job and very thankful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that is going through a lot of changes! Not Bad just major challenges.
Director, Event Technology V (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 24, 2014
Pros: great team! awesome property! great measured growth!
Cons: older technology, needed twice the staff for the size of the property, too much upper management, two mergers, over worked team members.
While I worked there, a week after I was hired, there was a merger with another company, when I resigned a year to the same month later the merger was in flux and I found out a month later they went through another merger. Also there were too many upper management roles and not enough focus on each individual properties team members and needed additional – more... staffing. My team members were amazingly good at their jobs. Each technician I was responsible for, I made sure to help them get where they wanted to be, including: transfers, promotions, wage increases, I took care of the team. I helped my assistant director get promoted to another location, and one of the technicians to get promoted to a lead rigging position, which more than doubled his salary. The challenges were tough but my team was strong, we all went through hard times being the largest property in the region. As a tier 5 property we not only had our property to look after, we looked after all the other properties. My team increased the customer survey scores from a low 53% when hired, to over 90% within 6 months. Attained customer service rankings of 100% for 4 months and averaged a 93.2% for the other 8 months. We also took a 1.2M property to a 1.5M dollar property in 6 month period, with revenues projected to 2M within 1.5 - 2 years forecasted. Based on KPI. The Area Manager, Regional VP and the HR Manager all supported my team and I well while there. I learned a lot about doing as much, with very stretched resources and very tired and overworked technicians, and making it the best out of a challenging situation with the great help of an awesome team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very professional atmosphere with good people to work with.
Audio Visual Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MAApril 3, 2014
Pros: always somewhere new
Cons: not getting enough hours
Early mornings are typical at PSAV. Sometimes its necessary to find the location in Boston where I'm most needed. I usually have a pre-conference meeting with the project manager and Client to see whats needed. I then see what we have in stock then tell the project manger what we will need to cross rent. On setup day i Usually will set most of the video – more... needs and collaborate with the in-house network representatives to tell them what the client needs and get routers and/or switches with any cabling needed. Once the rooms are set I operate to make sure things go well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total consumption of life ...& underpaid as can be. Shady.
Past Employee (Former Employee), PSAV SF Bay areaMarch 25, 2014
Pros: move up possiblilities (to use you even more), good/cool floor technicians
Cons: everything else.
This company will use you like a dirty rusted tool.

I worked for PSAV as a technician and moved up quickly to a higher position. Sometimes, I actually wonder if these art schools like Full Sail, Ex'pression, Pyramind, etc. are all owned by the PSAV company. It seems to be the only place to get hired after graduating from these schools; which is unfortunate – more... because I had a blast in college and paid about $100,000 to go to one of these. What a waste. But that's another story...

Anyways, back to PSAV...
You will work horrible up hours that "constantly" change from
day-to-day, and you'll get the next schedule from week-to-week, need I say more!? So, don't plan on ever having a life, family time, or friend visits again. You will never be able to
PLAN FOR ANYTHING, ever... while you're with this company!

Around the winter (down-time/months Dec & Jan) you will get very little hours because the hotels are so slow so you won't be able to pay your rent, buy presents, and/or eat.
Otherwise, when it's busy as can be (most all other months), you will be working your tail off working for (THE MAN) the snobby, high-maintenance clients that think and treat you like you're a
red headed step-child on the hotel floor.

You'll also be sent to many other hotels to work, if you're hotel is slow a couple days out of the week so that you're lost as can be while walking around that new hotel and learning your way around with a new crew, as if you are a blind man walking around trying to fit in with these guys. After, pray and hope that your paperwork of your hours worked there were sent correctly, given to your boss, and documented to your hotel computer because they have their heads up their you know what's, and don't have correct clock in/out capabilities between these hotels.

Did I mention that you have to wear a full suit to do this job?!
Yes, you will. You will be setting up lighting, full-sound systems, full video screen set-ups, taping down cables on your knees much during each day, climbing ladders, etc. Yes, ALL in a suit. Be ready to buy 'at least' a few suits and ALL of the MANY accessories (socks, ties, many long sleeve shirts, many short sleeve undershirts, nice shoes, etc) that come along with wearing a suit, to wear every day there, with your musty smelling, sweaty self. FYI: You'll never have time to get any of that stuff washed while working here, so you must buy multiples of everything!

I also noticed that myself and everyone there was very
MUCH UNDERPAID. PSAV technicians are working their tails off on the floor to get all of this gear set-up right and for big money! But, PSAV is paying peanuts for us to do this work. This company and hotel/s are making a huge amount of cash on this equipment that has been paid 1,000 times fold, back in 1990's ...and keeps on making huge money, and they charge extra high prices for this old beat-up gear to the client, plus >>> high labor, plus huge sales tax, plus plus, etc... so the client dislikes us from the get go when they arrive to do the event, and the event better go perfectly and seamlessly! The client paid SO much money to the company, so they expect the floor technicians to make EVERYTHING perfect or will ask for their money back (because they were charged so much) ...and then it's on you! No pressure.

The only good I have to say about working for PSAV is that there IS room to move up fast within (for the next PSAV lifer to be used to work harder and for less money). I will admit this though... I did work WITH (not for) some very cool guys (and by that, I mean the other hard working floor guys; as I was). We were only making PSAV corporate richer. Notice all of the young directors... that should tell you something. Poor guys.

If I've helped one person out by not applying and getting used by this company, I've done my job. Don't be a statistic. I have many good friends still working there now that aren't able to enjoy their lives because they are stuck there in the hotel, working every day of the week, working all day long, with much unpaid overtime every day there, and only making salary wages (not hourly). Many of these guys are alcoholics and have a hard time having time for a family and/or a girlfriend/boyfriend, and you wonder why?! Basically because they are working too many unpaid overtime hours. Not cool... and I have no idea how that's legal. But, they get away with it.

Take care my friends... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro managed company with a total corporate mindset
National Operations Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 20, 2014
My old company was "merged" with PSAV. Many of my coworkers had the good sense to leave for other employment within the first few months. I decided to stick it out and see how things would go. It was a very bad plan. The local branch is run by a DICtator who surrounds himself with friends who have been let go from other companies. This makes for a management – more... team of fools and morons who spend the majority of thier time micro managing the staff or just palling around with each other. It truelly doesn't take long in any sort of a technical conversation with one of them to realize that they didn't get to thier position with knowledge or hard work. I would say that the hardest part of the job was watching the basic day to day incompitance and overall lack of care for performance. I suppose it can only be expected when you pay as poorly as they do and offer such misserable benifits. Thank god they had to continue paying me my previous wage. Unfortunatly we were all placed on thier insurance program. I warn you to stay away from this company and hope that this is not the new standard for the audio visual industry. I will say that the only thing good about this company is the National division. It is a challenge to join this team but only because it takes a true profesional with knowledge and skills in our industry to join. If you are looking for an easy, underpaid gig with bad benifits go down to your local PSAV branch and grab an ap. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're nobody
AV Tech (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch in most hotels.
Cons: not a livable paycheck. working most weekends
In the summer every second of your life is theirs. In the winter your paychecks will be about $300 short of your rent.

The management does not care about you as an employee or a human being. Support services (IT, HR) are slow and resentful about supporting you.

Sales and operations managers get rich, rich, rich off your sweat and you don't get a dime – more... of those commissions no matter how much you kiss the client's rear end.

If you're right out of college, it's better than being unemployed but go into it knowing it's a temporary gig and don't stop looking for a real job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think of a change in career
ets (Former Employee), London UKOctober 23, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no structure to hours too long hours and no overtime
after working for psav in london i actually had to change career, i had lost all passion for my job, the hours were terrible, pay was terrible management was terrible. their claim to using high end equipment is a massive lie, its all shoddy and ready to fail and the mark up they put on equipment is a joke. from experience the technical aspect required – more... a monkey could do the job and rigging in a full blown suit is not good on your wage packet if you have to buy new suits every other week.

STAY WELL AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Asst Director of Event Technology (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 17, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Must be able to multi task and have extreme attention to detail and be flexible to a changing environment. Must love people and enjoy helping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with new technology
Event Technology Specialist II (Current Employee), Norcross GASeptember 29, 2013
Making sure that optimum customer service is achieved
working with new technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creating Lighting Enhancements for Special Events
Event Sales Coordination (Former Employee), Anahiem, CASeptember 2, 2013
Pros: creating new excitement for events
Executed lighting and staging aspects for multiple events for social. corporate and large conventions. Maintained complete follow through of each event from conception to final product with post event correspondence with client for future events. Working closely with catering and sales departments of the hotel to successfully execute event to clients – more... expectations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun People & Hard Workers
Exhibits Services Coordinator/Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Coppell, TXAugust 19, 2013
Pros: audio visual company!
I loved working for PSAV! Nothing bad to review at all!
Unfortunately, my time was cut short due to the 2008 economy. Great group of folks!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point
Audio Supervisor/Trainer (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 12, 2013
PSAV is a well organized company. It is a great way to start a career in audiovisual. The culture is getting better as the years go by. The recent merger with Swank Audiovisuals has proven to be good for both companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Assistant Director (Current Employee), DFWAugust 8, 2013
This was a great company at one time. Then it has become all about money and not about the employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace and Modern Technology
Freelance Technician (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 29, 2013
Pros: always wonderful food throughout the resorts."free"
Cons: health care and not always the first on call - "freelancer"
Working for PSAV is one of the most exciting and technical companies that I have ever worked for. From beginning to end, as soon as you walk into your office, you receive a lay out on how particular rooms are going to be set and orchastrated into becoming this master piece. Its really just all an envision that the customer comes to our company and has, – more... and then its on our behalf that we maintain and uphold that - come to life atmosphere, for where the client and their groups have a exciting and memorable time. Theres so much that you as well learn on a day to day bases , that your always inclining your brain to go further. – less

About PSAV

This company puts a little show biz into business. Audio Visual Services Group,┬ádoing business as PSAV Presentation Services (PSAV), – Read more