Public Health Institute Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits/Poor Management
Manager (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 30, 2017
They need to enhance their management skills. The hours are long, quite a bit of stress, work long hours, always looking for funding. The culture is not healthy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, very productive
Application Programmer II (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 21, 2017
Very productive work under the guidance of very knowledgeable manager. Learned a lot and was able to contribute a lot. Had a chance to solve difficult programming problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
META Oakland Co-Facilitator / Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 9, 2017
working at PHI has been a wonderful experience. Great support from the team, HR and even the CEO who met with all of the new employees during orientation
Pros
Health care is great
Cons
depends on department
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I choose not to review this agency
Database Administrator I (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 31, 2017
I worked with this agency for some time. While there were a few rewarding experiences, the overall feeling about the company is negative in my case. I choose not to do a detailed review.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non- productive at all having no benefts from it
Dentist (Current Employee) –  cairoApril 9, 2017
I didn't get any experience from my work ,,only routine to fulfill papers not a real service for my patients .. hope one day I can practice real dentistry to make patient feel free from pain
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good non-profit, good benefits
Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 10, 2017
Very good place to work. Competitive salary, good benefits, supportive environment. Overall, great place to work. The only down side is since grant based employment not as stable as for profit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, friendly environment, fast pace
Receptionist (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJanuary 25, 2017
Loved this job and all its duties. The management was amazing. The environment was clean and well kept. Fast paced. Easy learning, calling and answering phone, scheduling appointments.
Pros
Formaly dressing, pay, hours
Cons
Part time position, no benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment to Work In
not posted (Current Employee) –  Monrovia, CAJanuary 23, 2017
The employees are all really nice, the benefits and pay are good. The company really cares about your work/life balance. (at least here in Monrovia)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CADecember 14, 2016
Co-workers tend to play games to make other co-workers look bad to senior staff, not very clear with daily instructions and tend to change protocol on how things are done weekly.
Pros
Good benifits
Cons
Bad Moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Administrative Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJuly 7, 2016
Very productive place to work with great employee activities. Non for Profit entity. All of the programs under them all our great contributers for their purpose
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Research Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 18, 2016
The room for advancement within the company is great, you are treated with respect, the management is wonderful, always willing to help you in any way, I enjoyed working here very much and would definitely recommend this organiztion
Pros
People
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phi
Jr. Systems Administrator/IT Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Monrovia, CAApril 2, 2016
PHI benefits are one of the top in the nation. PTO is a combination of sick days, vacation time, etc. PTO is accrued at a generous pace. Medical, Dental, and Vision are covered by the company. In addition, 403(b) which is their 401(k) is amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dedicated, caring to well being of employees
ACCOUNTING ASSISTANT II (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 22, 2016
A typical day at wok would be saying Hi's and Hello's to everybody. I learned different softwares like Lawson, Peoplesoft, and Concur. My co-workers are the nices people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive leadership and excellent benefits
Program Administrator (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 20, 2015
PHI is very supportive of its employees, provides good compensation and excellent benefits, and has a diverse and dedicated staff. There are many opportunities to engage in a variety of public health programs both within California and internationally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with management support
Marketing Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Sacramento CAJune 29, 2015
Co-workers support, addressing customer needs, learning from others, making management aware of issues and knowing that job security is limited!
Pros
Staffs motivation to customer service
Cons
Job Sec
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural blend of individuals
Admin Support/Reception (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 5, 2015
Contract position ends in 2016.
Supportive and caring environment, staff.
Excellent benefits.
Wonderful group of culturally diverse colleagues.
Very long, 11 hour days away from home.
Not completely satisfied with hours of job.
Pros
great benefits and people
Cons
contract position; hours of job cannot be adjusted
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work for
Bilingual Call Center Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CADecember 31, 2014
Co-workers are excellent
Managers are wonderful
was sitting 8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great job where I was able to utilize my computer skills
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 28, 2014
A typical day would be me sitting in my cubical to process check requests, travel arrangements, expense reimbursements, purchase orders and then maintain analytically and statistical spreadsheets for budgets and partners as well as for promotional items. I also processed payroll for up to 200 employees. I enjoyed my co-workers as a great team and enjoyed that my job promoted personal health and company growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and mission
Senior Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 21, 2014
Lead many different departments, so my time was focused on keeping them all moving and taking obstacles out of their way.

I lead Grants & Contracts, Operations, Development, and co lead accounting.

The team supported 120 different project centers at PHI.

I was responsible to assure all reporting and spending was in compliance with all 200 plus funders.
Pros
Staff, mission, project teams
Cons
communication with management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with the best work/life balance
Marketing Manager III (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 9, 2014
PHI is a great place to work. They are a very well managed company that values its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Public Health Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 24 reviews
510
49
33
22
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Public Health Institute Reviews by Location